We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chis/Dave”
Review of Sunny Brae

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunny Brae
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed two nights in September. Excellent hotel. Staff very pleasant and friendly. Bedroom very clean and comfortable. We had dinner on both evenings, food and service excellent. Very good breakfast choice,lovely strawberries and raspberries. All together a lovely stay and would hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmi, Reception at Sunny Brae, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Sunny Brae.

The berries we get from a local farm and they are fantastic. We are already looking forward to next year's crop.

We would love to have you as our guests at Sunny Brae again if you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 161 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

Two of us stayed here for 2 nights the first weekend of September. We were welcomed by John and shown to our twin room on the ground floor overlooking the sea. The room was cosy and comfortable with large fluffy towels and bathrobes.

We had opted to eat in the hotel restaurant on both nights and were not disappointed. The food was excellent and a good range of wine was on offer, some very reasonably priced.

The owners are to be congratulated. We will recommend this hotel to friends and hope to return.

Room Tip: Worth paying a little extra for the sea view rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil_A55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmi, Reception at Sunny Brae, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Sunny Brae.

We look forward to welcoming you again if you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is a family owned and run hotel and we were greeted by the owners son on arrival. He was so welcoming and friendly, enquired what our plans were and gave us various recommendations.
Stayed for 2 nights. A rather late booking so were limited to room choice. We had a room facing the back so no sea view. However, if you want a nice view you would just take your self down to the lovely lounge!
The room was comfortable and spotlessly clean. Bedding was of a good standard and the bed comfortable.
This place has a great atmosphere with guests made to feel so welcome that it is easy to relax. So much so that the guests sit and chat to each other as they chill out. You don't see that in every hotel!
Breakfast was also excellent with the usual buffet for all your starters - included superb fresh local fruit such as raspberries, strawberries and blueberries!
Various cooked options to follow are available and are cooked to order.
100% recommend if in the Nairn area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmi, Reception at Sunny Brae, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Apologies for the late reply. Thank you very much for your great review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Sunny Brae. We hope to welcome you back at some point in the future. P.S. There are still some strawberries and blackberries from Hardmuir Farm on the breakfast buffet and they are delicious.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Four of us came here for anniversary dinner and it was excellent from the time we were greeted at the door to the time we left. We had a drink before our meal in the conservatory overlooking the Moray Firth whilst we chose from an excellent menu. Our meal was delicious especially the venison - c ooked to perfection. There was a good selection of wines and we had some very pleasant port with our cheese. We ended the evening back in the conservatry for coffee. We tried to go back a fortnight later but unfortunately it was fully booked. We shall try again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FeeNairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmi, Reception at Sunny Brae, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Apologies for the late reply. Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a great review about the restaurant. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your anniversary dinner. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were late in arriving, and only had a one night stay - John was so welcoming when we arrived, and the room just perfect - clean, beautifully accessorised and a decent sized bed.
Breakfast was delicious, in the bright dining room - disappointed we stayed for only one night.
We know where to stay next time in Nairn.

Room Tip: Room 8 had bespoke handpainted furniure - beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thepo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmi, Reception at Sunny Brae, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Apologies for the late reply. Thank you very much for the lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Sunny Brae and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Sunny Brae hotel has a wonderful view overlooking the beach with off-road parking and is a convenient base for both walks and exploring the local area. The rooms are best described as cosy, are well appointed and spotlessly clean.

However, the food and especially the wine list are top class. The service (nearly all family members) is faultless and I simply cannot recommend hotel highly enough.

I could carry on about their cocktails, selection of whisky and brandies...........but won't spoil the surprise if you're lucky enough to get a room as they rarely have vacancies you can have that experience to look forward to.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank radw51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

My daughter and I stayed two days in August 2013. Our room was beautiful and comfortable. They provde an excellent laundry service for reasonable cost. The meals, breakfast and dinner, were wonderful and varied to suit differing tastes. You can walk across the street and down tothebeach,
the harbor and see dolphins. Ian and John were very helpful with information and questions.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraS9152013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairn hotels
0.3 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
384 reviews
0.4 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
925 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Braeval Hotel
Braeval Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
432 reviews
2.5 mi away
Boath House
Boath House
#6 of 9 in Nairn
337 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Brae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Brae

Address: Marine Road, Nairn IV12 4EA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
#1 Family Hotel in Nairn
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nairn
Price Range: $118 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunny Brae 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunny Brae is a family run bed and breakfast. We have eight bedrooms and are centrally located with wonderful views of the Moray Firth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunny Brae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sunny Brae
Sunny Brae Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing