We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Father and Son Road trip”
Review of Sunny Brae Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunny Brae Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
scottish borders
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Father and Son Road trip”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Telephoned to check last minute availability, very helpful and accommodated our party of 4 men, fathers and sons on motorbikes!, we were given a warm welcome even though we had arrived quite late in the day. Really disappointed we didnt get chance to have dinner, the menu looked great, maybe next time!
Had a brilliant nights sleep in extremely comfy beds, and fab breakfast to set us on our journey.
Thank you
Richard, David, Jack and Porky from Troon and the Scottish Borders

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    13
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
31
84
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Linlithgow, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Had a delightful stay here recently which was all too brief.

As many have commented before the warmth of welcome is exceptional and the hotel is superbly appointed for the price.

Breakfast is also a delight with high quality ingredients and cooking. I loved the Smoked Haddock and Poached Egg. Perfectly cooked and large!

We were very fortunate that the weather also allowed us to sit out in the well maintained garden.

Simply a gem!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John2France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This small hotel, overlooking the beach in Nairn is superb! From the minute we arrived we received a warm and friendly welcome. Our room was fantastic - wonderful view, spotlessly clean, roomy and with all the amenities you would expect. The food was perfect and nothing was too much trouble for Ian and John - the two family members who made our stay so great.

Room Tip: The master sea view rooms are worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186338Lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Warmly greeted by hotel staff who helped us carry heavy luggage to our room. Room spacious, beds comfortable and bathroom spotlessly clean. Great view over the bay. Breakfast was top quality. Huge choice of cooked options and great selection of fresh and dried fruits/nuts/seeds and cereals. Extra delicious croissants with an impressive selection of jams. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Nairn.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fairynuff64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had a lovely family evening meal at the Sunny Brae Hotel. The food was high quality and the service outstanding - efficient, friendly and unobtrosive.

Unassuming on the outside, the restauarnt is a lovely high standard inside.

A real find, thank you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2013

we have a local BB and sent two of our guests, they could not talk highly enough of the service,ambience,and standard of food, first class and i heard them telling other guests at breakfast how good "sunny brae" was,it is always a relief knowing that when you recommend a eating place, that it lives up to expectations, with sunny brae,this is never a concern, a big thanks from our guests and from us, will definately use again for future guests.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craig f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2013

My wife and I spent 4 nights at this very well located hotel. The service was personal and very attentive. Our room was like every other part of this hotel extremely clean and quiet (even when the dining room was busy) . We had dinner on all 4 evenings. The menus changed every day. Dishes were prepared with excellent local products. Special mention for the scottish cheeses. Our host served us some very fine whiskies and learned us how to drink them the local way. It was our first visit to Scotland and our stay at this family run hotel was definitely the highlight of our trip.

Room Tip: A room with a seaview will be your best pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hendrik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairn hotels
0.5 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
860 reviews
0.4 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
315 reviews
0.6 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
328 reviews
0.1 mi away
Braeval Hotel
Braeval Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
397 reviews
2.4 mi away
Boath House
Boath House
#6 of 9 in Nairn
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Brae Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Brae Hotel

Property: Sunny Brae Hotel
Address: Marine Road, Nairn IV12 4EA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
#1 Family Hotel in Nairn
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunny Brae Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunny Brae Hotel is a small family run hotel with beautiful views over the Moray Firth. The restaurant offers delightful modern European style food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Sunny Brae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sunny Brae
Sunny Brae Hotel Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing