We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Clubhouse Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Nice Hotel, nice town, good breakfast, but there was an issue with the room. We were traveling with a group and the rest of the group had very good rooms, but ours was much smaller. When we asked about it, the manager said, that was the way it fell out. Since we had all paid the same price I thought it only fair that we get some sort of a refund. The manager disagreed. He did not even offer any compensation of any kind. Bummer

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (346)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 346 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

Have stayed a couple of times ,just overnight for a wee break and have had excellent rooms,boutique hotel type,large spacious and very clean, breakfast was very filling and meals at bar excellent value. Just had a wee prob with brekkie being served about 2 hrs late due to chef sleeping in after celebrating New Year a bit tooo much, then were dumped in bar which hadn't been cleaned from night before and overbearing waiter trying to please due to lateness. Saying that, overall very good

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My wife and i stayed for one night recently.
Nice hotel, quiet area, great lighting and decor, pleasant staff.
On the down side my wife and I both had sirloin steak for dinner, mine was very tough and my wife's steak was slightly better, when I told the waiter he offered us complementary drinks.
On departure I noticed they charged me for an uneatable steak and that the drinks were to make up for this. I don't think this is acceptable. Very disappointed.

Room Tip: Quiet location, 20 min walk from town centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 797Alan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed one night. Bed was comfortable and the place was clean and obviously newly renovated in a very modern style.
The restaurant was closed and we had to eat in the bar which we shared with about ten incredibly noisy drunk men.
The food was lovely but incredibly overpriced.
Not a bad stay just not good value.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pelli11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Second stay here. The proprietors and staff could not be more accommodating, including permitting a late check out. Special thanks to Fraser and Sammi. Food is quite tasty (especially for Scotland), and the location perfect for visiting both local golf clubs and the town of Nairn. Wifi works well except for Room 6, which management says they will correct prior to my next visit

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lawrence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

On first appearance the hotel is very attractive but one soon realises that it's all style and no substance in terms of quality and service.
During our stay which we will curtail the much advertised Orchid Restaurant was not open for dinner. This a decision of the management. This left the bar as the only eating venue. The quality of the food served largely indifferent, only the prices were high.
The hotel management also encourages public use of the bar facilities and late night drinking. The problem then is that as the bar is below some of the bedrooms it's impossible to have a restful sleep. We experienced noise nuisance as late as 2 30 am.
We had one day without hot water during our stay and the advertised wifi connection is not reliable.
Best advise to fellow travellers is to stay somewhere else

Room Tip: Pick a room in a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Galtres1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Top Class - Not sure how long the refurbished hotel as been in service but with a bit of maturity this place could become worthy of all 5 Trip-advisor points. The rooms are clean, modern and comfortable. I stayed in one of the rooms to the rear of the property with a motel type door opening out into the car park/garden. Only small compliant is that the wifi is next to useless. The food was quite simply amazing and would definitely catch the attention of "masterchef" judges. Pleasing to look at and even better to taste! The cost is quite reasonable too! The "buts" - the meal service needs refining and or more staff. I saw it particularly busy one night and cringed when 2 drinking customers were politely moved on to make room for those eating. And a few people left when they couldn't get a table in the bar for 40 mins! Meanwhile the tables in the adjacent restaurant room remained largely empty. They need to take and manage meal bookings instead of the current free for all. Oh and please buy a new blender for the bar it's far too noisy when they are mixing cocktails. But I would highly encourage anyone to make a visit to eat and or stay here - it's fab!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kgdd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete R, General Manager at The Clubhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Clubhouse and I thank you for taking the time to write a very constructive and helpful review. Your comments are very much appreciated and I will look at the areas that you remarked on for improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
0.1 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#2 of 9 in Nairn
938 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Braeval Hotel
Braeval Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
434 reviews
2.8 mi away
Boath House
Boath House
#7 of 9 in Nairn
337 reviews
11.5 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clubhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clubhouse Hotel

Address: 45 Seabank Road, Nairn IV12 4EY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Price Range: $87 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Clubhouse Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clubhouse Nairn is a newly refurbished Boutique Hotel catering to golfers, tourists and business people. Located in the west end of Nairn and only a 7 iron from the Nairn Golf club and another 30 links courses within an hours drive from the hotel. We offer an excellent bar and dining experience prepared by our highly skilled team of Chefs along with a variety of Cocktails and Wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Clubhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claymore Hotel Nairn
The Clubhouse Hotel Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing