We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Clubhouse Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Really nice”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Decor was great - groovy and funky :). Room was nice and spacious. Large TV was on a swivel arm so was easily visible around the room. Bed was comfortable. Food was nice, and creatively served (fish and chips on a slate - I love that sort of thing, shows an eye for presentation). Staff were pleasant and helpful. Wi-fi was steady and fast - so important these days. 10 minute walk into the centre of Nairn. Needed a couple of bulbs replacing and when I mentioned it they got straight to it (couldn't actually fix them as they needed to order parts, but no hassle). Safe in the wardrobe is a little fiddly as there is a setting behind the door. I shut it to see how it worked and it locked! My fault for not reading the instructions, but most are set from the outside these days. I liked the fact that they had a proper key for the room, which you opened and locked the door with. Big fob to stop you taking the key away by accident, but not lumpy enough to stop you taking it out with you. Very happy with my stay and next time I have business in the area I will endeavour to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    71
    25
    12
    14
See reviews for
55
162
6
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

The Clubhouse is somewhere we go regularly but decided to leave a review this time as we had such an amazing meal, it would be rude not to share! Much to my delight the menu had been changed and i found myself swithering over my dishes of choice. In the end going with the wood pigeon starter and pork wellington for main. The food was FABULOUS! portion sizes were perfect and the flavours great! Staff were on the ball and very attentive. Thumbs up all round!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SidneyJ983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Very bright and clean hotel, with large rooms. The staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome. The food was lovely and the Cocktails highly recommended...Would definitely stay here again :-)...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eilidh Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Had a 3 night stay at this lovely hotel. Nothing to much trouble for the friendly staff. Large comfortable room and bathroom. Hotel throughout is spotless, could eat of the floors! Breakfast each morning was fresh, non greasey and very moreish. Had evening meal in bar, not a large menu but could not fault what was chosen by husband and myself. Also great cocktail menu of which I tried a few! Would recommend to family and friends. Thank you to all staff, will hurry back for another weekend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AberdeenshireGilly65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle of Lochalsh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed for one night and were very disappointed when we checked in to be told that our room was located outside. The door opened directly into the room, so all the heat rushed out as we tried to negotiate into the room with our large bags. Laminate flooring very cold on feet and I was glad I had slippers to put on. Double room very small and not much room to move around our bedroom at home is bigger. I had to turn up the radiator in the room and also fully turned on the radiator in the shower room. On the plus side, the bed was really comfortable and the quality of the bed linen was excellent. Also had a massive flat screen TV. This hotel is family run and on entry into the bar area was greeted by the owner who inquired if everything was okay. We ate in the bar as there was a function on in the conservatory. The food was excellent, we shared a liver pate and I had scallops as a main, my partner had a steak which was excellent quality and well cooked. The breakfast was excellent quality and good choice unfortunately we asked for poached eggs but only got one each. Maybe lost in translation. Service a little bit slow from waitress. This is the first time we have stayed in a boutique hotel and felt it was just a bit too plastic but was spotlessly clean. Staff friendly and helpful. Would stay again but would want to stay inside the hotel.

Room Tip: Establish whether the room is inside our outside the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelagh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
409 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We had a two-night stay here recently and we were more than happy with everything the Clubhouse offered. Our room which was located outwith the hotel was on the small side but was clean, warm, modern and very comfortable. Our only issue with the room would have been that there was a fair bit of noise from the adjoining rooms and the carpark until everyone settled down for the night. We only experienced this on the Saturday night as the hotel was busy but on the Sunday there were only three rooms occupied so it was very peaceful.
We had previously decided to eat in the hotel on the first evening and eat out on the second but the food we had in the bar was so delicious we ate both nights in the hotel. The bar is very modern and has a fabulous cocktail menu, which is very reasonably priced. The clientele in the bar on the Saturday night were a mix of young trendy locals, families in for supper and hotel residents. On the Sunday night we had the bar mostly to ourselves.
Breakfast on both mornings was superb. The hotel uses a local butcher for their black pudding/haggis etc and the quality was excellent.
All the staff we encountered throughout our stay were extremely helpful and friendly. Any questions we had relating to the hotel and its services were answered easily.
We would readily recommend The Clubhouse to anyone and will return in the future for another weekend away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScfamilyAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete R, General Manager at The Clubhouse Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your time at the Clubhouse and look forward to seeing you there again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Great bar supper with really helpful staff. The burger, scallops and steak were very god and quite reasonable. The plastic and kitsch decoration is really off putting though and ruined what was a good bar before.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank 2Spens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete R, General Manager at The Clubhouse Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
I am pleased that the guest enjoyed their stay, the food and the service they received from the staff however, I would like to respond to comments regarding the decor of the Hotel. This is the only negative comment that we have received about the decor and I have to say that I think it is unfair to publicly slate something that is at the end of the day a personal preference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairn hotels
0.1 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
858 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Braeval Hotel
Braeval Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
397 reviews
2.8 mi away
Boath House
Boath House
#6 of 9 in Nairn
322 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunny Brae Hotel
Sunny Brae Hotel
#5 of 9 in Nairn
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clubhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clubhouse Hotel

Property: The Clubhouse Hotel
Address: 45 Seabank Road, Nairn IV12 4EY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Clubhouse Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clubhouse Nairn is a newly refurbished Boutique Hotel catering to golfers, tourists and business people. Located in the west end of Nairn and only a 7 iron from the Nairn Golf club and another 30 links courses within an hours drive from the hotel. We offer an excellent bar and dining experience prepared by our highly skilled team of Chefs along with a variety of Cocktails and Wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, LateRooms, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your The Clubhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claymore Hotel Nairn
The Clubhouse Hotel Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing