We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Golf View Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Glasgow
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed September 10, 2010

My husband and I, along with our two month old son stayed at the Golf View hotel from the Friday to the Sunday, and very much enjoyed our trip.

The room was nice, although the ceiling could have done with a touch of paint, and the tv was a bit temperamental (kept jumping out of digital signal!)! The bathroom was spotless, and the toiletries lovely. There was wifi in the room, which seemed to work fine any time we needed to use it.

We made use of the pool - lovely to see the sun going down over the coast while you're in for a swim.

The food in the restaurant was perfect - I had the venison, scallops, and the pannacotta and would recommend them all!

Breakfast was promptly served and very tasty - sadly, no beans with the full Scottish, but that's only a personal preference!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowAliJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairnMurray, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 28, 2010
Thank you for posting a review of your visit to the Golf View.We are delighted that you enjoyed your break with us.Thank you for your kind comments regarding the food at the hotel and we do hope that you will make a return visit soon.

Kind Regards
Murray McPhee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    372
    138
    76
    39
See reviews for
227
604
15
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

I travel around Scotland with my work, and am usually disappointed with some aspect or other of the hotels I stay in. I spent a wet weekend with my wife in the Golf View, and the weather was truly awful, but was more than made up for by this great hotel. We had a very nice corner room with four-poster (yes, that cost extra!), a decent view, and the heating worked just fine. The outstanding part of our stay was the food. The menu we got as part of our 'weekend break' was a very limited 'table d'hote' , but everything we had was stunningly good, featuring much local produce, both seafood and game. Certainly some of the best food I have had in Scotland in recent years. Nice leisure centre with massage/spa.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZoomAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairnMurray, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 8, 2010
Thank you for posting a review on trip advisor.We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the hotel
and felt the food was some of the best you have expierenced in Scotland.
Sorry about the weather,come again soon and we will look to get some sunshine for you.The weather is normally very good in the Nairn area, but pleased the weather didn`t spoil the enjoyment of your stay.


Kind Regards
Murray McPhee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

when booking this hotel book direct with hotel not through booking.com. room beautiful and relaxing.
Staff seemed to be inexperienced for a four star hotel and not working as a team.
first refections of a hotel is the first person you speak to or meet in staff. I found the receptionist to be cold and not really the customers interests at heart. Food average not four star standard.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurenjackmaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairnMurray, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 8, 2010
Thank you for posting a review on trip advisor.I was disappointed to hear that you found some elements of your stay not up to your expectations and please accept my apologises for this.Your feedback will be passed on to all the team and we will do some retraining in these areas to ensure a more consistent and improved performance.
We do hope that you will revisit the hotel in the future and thank you for taking the time to give detail on your stay.

Kind Regards

Murray McPhee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

This hotel does not represent value for money, we did not enjoy any aspect of our three night stay. The hotel needs significant maintenance, including a basic spring clean inside and out, and a customer-focused management team. This hotel let the rest of the beautiful, great-value properties in Scotland down. The wait staff in the breakfast room were efficient and friendly, but the cooked breakfasts were bird size.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tassietourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairnMurray, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 25, 2010
Thank you for posting a review on trip advisor.
We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy any aspect of your stay with us and felt the hotel was not up to the standard of cleaniness you expected.
We continually monitior housekeeping and cleaniness standards throughout the hotel and recieve feedback from guests daily with questionaries in all bedrooms,asking specifically about areas of services throughout the hotel.The standard of cleaniness rates very highly in this feedback and we are very surprised that you felt that the standard was low.Any points that are brought to our attention in this area will always be rectified immediately.
There is a year round maintenance programme operating for both inside and outside of the hotel,and although there are at times minor maintenance issues to address, we are unaware of any significant one which would impact on a guest having a disappointing stay with us.
We are sorry that we you did not enjoy your stay with us.We always strive to be a customer focused team,and will look to improve further on this,given your view that we did not deliver in this area.


Kind Regards
Murray McPhee
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2010

This was my 2nd stay at the golf hotel and both times were superb. Rooms are extremley clean/ quite, morning breakfast is excellent, and diner remarkable for scotland, very good for eleswhere (trying to find good restaurants in scotland is like trying to find a drink in jeddah), you just have to keep looking. A must......play the golf course, one of the best links in the world. Late april / may the grouse is in bloom, fantastic. Great value.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dpc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairnMurray, Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us here at the Golf View.
I am delighted that both of your stays with us have been enjoyable and I will pass on your comments regarding the food to our Head Chef who will be delighted to hear them. The golf courses we have in a close proximity are wonderful, a real test of golf and I would agree, a definate must!

Thank you once again for your kind words and I hope a third visit is on the cards and we can make that as enjoyable for you as your previous visits.

Kind regards
Robert McPhee
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Firstly I will start with the good stuff- lovely view and great restaurant to have lunch- fish and chips were first class.
Room wasn't ready at 1.30 and we had lunch whilst we waited- during the time we waited my son became ill and we had to take him to the local hospital. We returned and decided not to stay the night but return home leaving at 5pm.
We spoke to the receptionist to find out if there could be a refund or at least partially a credit for another visit. Whilst discussing this a call was received from a family desparate for a room and the receptionst said they may have a room and would call back. I would have been prepared to accept a refund or partial refund if they were able to sell the room that night.

I was advised that the manager would call the next day to discuss but the receptionist called and said after speaking to the manager that there was no way they could make any gesture.

I understand that every hotel needs terms and conditions but I would have thought that management could have made some sort of gesture perhaps to revist the hotel or a partner hotel at a quietier time when the hotel was not as busy which would not have cost any money.

It was disappointing that the management did not discuss this personally with me and left it to someone less senior to break the bad news.

I was recommended to visit this hotel by a friend which I understand is the life blood of good hotels- which is the reason it is important to try and get recommendations and repeat customers- although in my case this looks unlikely.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidyule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairnMurray, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2010
Thank you for posting a review on trip advisor.Please accept my apologises for being unable to speak directly with you at the time.I was away at a meeting and was not back in the hotel,until later that evening.
The hotel policy is that reservations that fail to arrive on the day,cancel after 2pm or check out early are charged for that evenings accommodation. Given the number and types of situations that arise at peak times with regard to early check out and cancellations on the day , we do strictly adhere to this policy.
I am sorry that on this ocassion, we could not offer a refund or partial credit to you.
We do sincerely hope that at some point in the future you will choose to make a return visit to the hotel.We do value your feedback, and pleased be assured that we will do our utmost to ensure any return visit by you,is made a special one.

Kind Regards
Murray McPhee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverkip
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Beautiful setting. Met by a warm welcome from Receptionist. Room was luxurious and view onto beach. Treatments by Wilma, wonderful therapist. Staff throughout our 2 night stay were so friendly. Both breakfasts and evening meals were held in restaurant and were out of this world. Compliments to Manager he has everything to a high standard and should be so proud of staff.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelInverkip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairnMurray, Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2010
Thank you very much for your review on your recent stay with us. I am delighted you enjoyed our hospitality during your stay with us and Im sure Wilma and the rest of the team will be delighted to hear your positive feedback. We do have a wonderful setting overlooking the Moray Firth and the views from our front facing rooms are wonderful!

Once again thank you and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Golf View in the future.

Kind regards
Robert McPhee
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
20.5 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
20.7 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
647 reviews
24.0 mi away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#4 of 7 in Strathpeffer
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
855 reviews
0.2 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
306 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golf View Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf View Hotel & Spa

Property: Golf View Hotel & Spa
Address: 63 Seabank Road | The Seafront, Nairn IV12 4HD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nairn
#3 Family Hotel in Nairn
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golf View Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning AA 4 star seaside hotel overlooking the Moray Firth and close to Inverness. The Golf View Hotel and Spa enjoys views over the Moray Firth to the Black Isle and has gardens leading down to the seashore which is just a few steps away. Many of the 42 bedrooms are sea-facing with traditional interiors that provide guests with an exceptionally comfortable and relaxing place in which to stay. With a variety of leisure facilities including heated indoor pool, Jacuzzi, tennis courts and a Sonas Spa and beauty salon on-site, there's plenty available to ensure all guests make the most of their visit to the Golf View Hotel and Spa, Nairn. The hotel restaurant serves up fine dining and has just been awarded AA 1 Rosette status, which is presented by passionate chefs in a selection of the finest dishes. Furthermore, the Conservatory Restaurant enjoys beautiful vistas of the golden sands and Moray Firth coastline beyond. Golf View Hotel and Spa is also perfectly located for exploration of Inverness, capital of the Highlands, and the wider Highland region with the world famous Nairn golf courses sitting on the hotel doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Golf View Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golf View Hotel Nairn
Hotel View
Golf View Hotel & Spa Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing