We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel in pleasant surroundingsa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golf View Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Dunfermline
1 review
“nice hotel in pleasant surroundingsa”
Reviewed March 26, 2010

A First Class Restaurant With First Class Food .Staff Very Courteous And Friendly. However Our Room No. 6 With The Rusting Fire Escape Outside The Window And The
Incessant Noise From The Extractor Fans Means There Will Be No Quick Return For Us

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yello-babe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairnMurray, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 2, 2010
Thank you for posting a review on trip advisor.
We are pleased that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay with us.
The outlook from the room allocated to you is disappointing in relation to all others throughout the hotel ,and I apologise that we were unable to offer you a room with a better outlook when you stayed with us on this ocassion.
There should also have been very little noise from the fans in that area and we will investigate and rectify this issue immediaetly.Please also accept my apologises for the disturbance that this caused you.
We hope that with the many aspects of the stay that you did enjoy,you may choose to return at sometime in the future .Please contact me if you decide to do so and I will attend to your room allocation for you.

Kind Regards
Murray McPhee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    377
    140
    79
    41
See reviews for
229
610
15
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2010

The Golf View Hotel was a wonderful break away. All the staff were extremely helpful. The food was excellent and the views from the front rooms were spectacular.
Would have no hesitation recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K0209149H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairnMurray, Operations Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 24, 2010
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us.
I am delighted to read that you had a wonderful time when you where with us. The views from the front rooms are wonderful and Im glad you could take full advantage of this. I will of course pass on your kind comments to the chef and the front of house team who will all be most appreciative.

Thank you again for your kind words and I hope we can welcome you back to us in the future.

Kind regards
Robert McPhee
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2010

We diverted our booking to the Golf View mainly because it was nearer to our work destination but also because it looked very pleasant and in a great location. The latter is certainly true; the hotel is situated on the Moray Firth coast with an opportunity to walk and take in the great scenery (frosty and clear when we stayed), although we didn't have the time for such pleasantries.

And so to the hotel itself. It is certainly a grand building and the rooms are well proportioned. It's just that some areas are beginning to look a little tired (e.g. the pool changing rooms); nothing that a little cash can't cure. However, during our stay there were some severe problems - the central heating was non-existant, a consequence of which were the storage heaters hastily introduced belching out heat (and smell!) There was only tepid shower water on the first day and none at all on the second - only cold. This is something the Golf View needs to put right immediately and guests planning to stay in the near future need to be aware of. Also my room suffered from repeated loud mechanical whirring and clunking noises from some nearby piece of hotel machinery that kept waking me up, both nights. This is not good when I need to be alert for business purposes!

Breakfast was fine although there were very few staff on (time of year?) and it was all very rushed, things like the toast arriving before I'd even sat down to my cereal. The waiter was also manning the front desk - not good enough for this standard of hotel. We didn't eat there at night so cannot comment on the food in general, although the menu looked ok.

The bar was also ok apart from the one proper beer hand-pump being off, with no effort seemingly being put into getting another barrel on stream. Again, staff shortages were evident; we had to play hunt the barman on more than one occasion.

These seem like little individual niggles but they all add up. It shouldn't take much to put them right and perhaps if I stayed there again (a possibility for the summer) things might have improved enough for the rating to go up. Unfortunately a grand building in a good location was insufficient compensation for the issues this hotel is currently facing.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairnMurray, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2010
Thank you for posting a review of your stay on Trip advisor.
We are disappointed that you did not find all aspects of your stay satisfactory and please accept my apologies for this.Please be assured the heating and hot water issues will be rectified within the next few days and that we have reviewed our training and staff cover throughout the day to improve on the points of service you encountered during your stay.
We are currently installing new boilers for both the hotel and leisure club and this regrettably has left the hotel over the last few weeks without heating in any part of the building. Hot water also became a further issue during peak usuage times.I am pleased to say that this will be resolved within the next few days. The temporary heating will also be withdrawn at this point .
We have traced the noise you heard during the night and this is currently being repaired .We are very sorry that this caused you inconvience and completely understand why this was a problem for you.
It is also important to us that we maintain a high standard of service at all times and we will change some shift timings throughout the day to help improve service at breakfast and in the cover of the bar area.
We believe that all the issues that affected your stay have or will be resolved within the next few days and hope that your experience on this occasion will not deter you from making a return visit to the hotel in the future.Thank you again for taking the time to provide us feedback on your stay,this will help us to improve future service to all our guests.



Kind Regards
Murray McPhee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
2 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2010

My friend and I same up to Nairn for a few days to do some ski-ing in Aviemore and explore a bit more of Inverness-shire. On arrival, we were upgraded to a room with sea views which was a great size, with a couch and chair also for relaxing. Room was very clean, restaurant good and views across the sea amazing! The breakfast also had a great selection of things to choose, and staff were very friendly. It was an especially nice gesture getting toast and tea served in the lounge when we slept in for breakfast one day - something not many hotels would bother to do. Would definately go back, and now I've discovered Crerar hotels I've booked to go to Loch Fyne Hotel next week!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iheartminibreaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairnMurray, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 11, 2010
Thank you for posting a review on trip advisor.
Thank you also for the kind comments regarding your stay and we are pleased that you enjoyed your break with us.
I think you have discribed the location perfectly
amazing.The views from the front of the hotel are wonderful and we are delighted that you
may make a return visit to us in the future.
Enjoy your stay at Loch Fyne,Crerar Hotels have many hotels in other lovely locations and Loch Fyne is certainly one of these.

Best wishes

Murray McPhee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2010

Had a wonderful weekend at the Golf View Hotel. Everything from was terrific. Room was lovely with great views.
Sara at reception was friendly and cheerful, as were all the staff we spoke to.
Food delicious and well presented. Compliments to the chef and his staff.
Will be going backin the future.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CIDHMORE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairnMurray, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 11, 2010
Thank you for posting a review on trip advisor.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for your kind comments regarding Sara.She has a super personality, ideal for the front desk and in my view a great credit to the hotel and hospitality industry.
Thanks also for the kind comments on food ,staff and overall hotel in general and we look forward to welcoming back in hopefully the not to distant future

Best wishes

Murray McPhee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2010

We got an extremely good deal on this hotel so weren't expecting much, but this is one of the best hotels i have ever stayed in. Our allocated room was a family suite-despite the fact there were only 2 of us!-with a sea view (which we had requested, but were unsure if we would get), so we not only had a bed big enough to fit a football team in, but a comfortable sofa also. We had a bath in addition to a shower, and the bathroom still looked huge!
When we were booked in for DBB, we did not realise dinner would be a 5 course affair and breakfast certainly filled you up for the day, but not only was the food plentiful, the quality was exceptional and the menu would not look out out place in any top restaurant. The attention to detail was fantastic and the option of taking your tea and coffee in the lounge after your meal wasa lovely touch-made us feel quite posh!
The venue of this hotel is perfect for a 'getting away from it all' break, it looks out onto the sea and a short walk from the beautiful beaches. The beaches may not have such appeal in February but the walks along them -even in the snow -was lovely.
The gym equipment was pretty basic, but the staff were very helpful and attentive and the pool was gorgeous. The huge windows looking out over the sea really made the pool area feel relaxed and something special, not just a run of the mill pool, could have spent hours there.
Next time i would certainly drive instead of taking the train to give us more freedom to explore that side of the country as we did feel a little trapped-nairn isn't the most lively of places especially in the winter- and i am told that the surrounding area is quite spectacular.
Definately would return to this fabulous hotel, especially if we can get a great price for it again! loved every second!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairnMurray, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 2, 2010
Thank you for posting a review on trip advisor.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
We are also pleased that you enjoyed both breakfast and dinner and that you took use of the leisure facilities during the day.The views are outstanding from this area and I agree totally this is a most relaxing place to sit and enjoy the the Moray Firth coastline.
Well done also for taking a walk along the beach in February.Hope it was not to cold.
Great to see you would return and we would be very pleased to welcome you back.


Kind Regards
Murray McPhee
General Manager

Murray McPhee
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallett Cove, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
474 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 383 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2010

I've stayed at this hotel several times in the last few years as our teaching organisation uses them for weekend courses. The hotel is wonderfully positioned just a few minutes walk from the seafront and on a quiet road. The rooms are large, well equipped, quiet and clean. The food is top quality and the facilities are excellent with a great pool/health club

What really makes this hotel stand out is the genuine friendliness of all the staff - nothing is too much trouble which sadly is a rare finding with hotels in Scotland IME. Staff turnover seems to be low and this implies contentment in their jobs which is certainly reflected in the service provided - a credit to the management.

The hotel is also doggy-friendly, a rare thing these days but very appreciated.

I know I will be back to stay at this hotel again in the near future but it would always be my personal recommendation for a hotel in Nairn/suroundings. Keep up the great service Murray et al!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairnMurray, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 2, 2010
Thank you for posting a review on trip advisor.
These were very kind words about the hotel, after your recent stay and it is pleasing to here that you will be back soon.
I will pass your comments regarding the staff
on to them.We are always looking to offer a friendly,but professional service and I am delighted that you feel this was a major factor in the enjoyment of your stay with us.

Keep up the good work in recommending the hotel and the area as a place to visit

Kind Regards
Murray
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
20.5 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
24.0 mi away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#4 of 7 in Strathpeffer
571 reviews
20.8 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#2 of 9 in Nairn
865 reviews
0.2 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
320 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golf View Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf View Hotel & Spa

Property: Golf View Hotel & Spa
Address: 63 Seabank Road | The Seafront, Nairn IV12 4HD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nairn
#3 Family Hotel in Nairn
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golf View Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning AA 4 star seaside hotel overlooking the Moray Firth and close to Inverness. The Golf View Hotel and Spa enjoys views over the Moray Firth to the Black Isle and has gardens leading down to the seashore which is just a few steps away. Many of the 42 bedrooms are sea-facing with traditional interiors that provide guests with an exceptionally comfortable and relaxing place in which to stay. With a variety of leisure facilities including heated indoor pool, Jacuzzi, tennis courts and a Sonas Spa and beauty salon on-site, there's plenty available to ensure all guests make the most of their visit to the Golf View Hotel and Spa, Nairn. The hotel restaurant serves up fine dining and has just been awarded AA 1 Rosette status, which is presented by passionate chefs in a selection of the finest dishes. Furthermore, the Conservatory Restaurant enjoys beautiful vistas of the golden sands and Moray Firth coastline beyond. Golf View Hotel and Spa is also perfectly located for exploration of Inverness, capital of the Highlands, and the wider Highland region with the world famous Nairn golf courses sitting on the hotel doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Golf View Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golf View Hotel Nairn
Hotel View
Golf View Hotel & Spa Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing