We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golf View Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stay at the Golf View 2 or 3 times a year because we love it. The staff are lovely, and we are able to take our dog with us. But unfortunately this time was marred on our second night by the chef seemingly deciding to put one thing on the menu and serve something totally different and disgusting( which we had to wait an hour for)first time my husband has ever had bones in a ribeye steak, and blanched brusselsprouts and carrots described as roasted seasonal veg.Upon complaint all we got was an oh sorry from the restaurant manager, This will not put us off returning but a more watchful eye will be kept in the dining room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SylviaW321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairnIain, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Thank you for your review. Our apologies that your meal on one night of your stay was not to your satisfaction. I will discuss with our Head Chef.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,217)
There are newer reviews for Golf View Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

690 - 696 of 1,217 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

We booked this in advance and got an excellent deal, so much so that I feared that there would be issues with the place, food or service. My fears were unfounded - we had an excellent time and will likely return next year.

The reception staff couldn't be more helpful - we rang at lunch time to say we were running late due to the A9 being closed (weather); they gave us an alternative route and said that no matter what time we arrived there would be hot food to greet us. When we finally arrived check-in was smooth.

Room was warm and welcoming, great size and views over the front of the hotel. Bathroom was good sized, shower was hot and plenty of water. Bed seemed on the soft side initially but no issues with sleep.

Bar/ conservatory area was comfortable and big enough to accommodate all visitors. Bar well-stocked with single malts.

Dining rooms were good sized, staff were polite and prompt, food was good although a couple of items I had over the course of the 4 days were not as good as I had hoped (pheasant was a little tough).

Gym was small but adequate, as was the pool. There are times set aside for adults only. Towels are provided and views straight across the Moray Firth. Didn't try any spa treatments.

Bottom line - would I recommend and would I return? Most definitely yes.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tellingd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairnIain, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Thank you sir for your great review and recommendation. We hope to see you again and hope you have a much faster journey up the A9 without the joys of snow. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Went to this hotel for Christmas. Was very impressed with it. The food was amazing and as for the gym and swimming pool they were a great facilities to have for my family. The rooms were really big and the bed were lovely. The staff at the hotel were very welcoming to my family. There is beach a couple of metres from the hotel and it is great for walking the dog. The atmosphere was very good as all the staff really liked children. It is only a short drive into Inverness and the town of Nairn it's self is a lovely place to be. There was great internet facilities and the Christmas dinner was divine. Would give this hotel 10 out of 10.
A brilliant hotel with lots to offer. If you want a relaxing weekend away this is the hotel for you.
I thank all the staff at the Golf View Hotel for making our stay a one to remember.
Hope to see you all next year
By Rory Cargill aged 13

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rorytheclimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairnIain, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Thank you Rory for your wonderful review. I will share your excellent feedback with the team. We look forward to seeing you again later in the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We haven't been to the Golf View hotel for a few years,

The view from the conservatory where you eat is exceptional.

We had the festive Sunday lunch which is dearer than the one through out the rest

Of the year. We enjoyed it @ everything was very tasty.

My sea bass fillet was quite small however. There was a good supply of vegetables although

The Brussels were a bit al dente for us.

The service is about right as who wants to be rushed. It was served nicely

All in all it was good

Room Tip: We were not staying there , just went for Sunday lunch
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yves7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairnIain, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Thank you for kind feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your Sunday lunch and hope to see you back at the Golf View Hotel & Spa soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights at the golf view just before Christmas. We had a sea view room which was very comfortable.
We ate at the hotel both nights, first night we ate off the fixed menu included in our deal, which was excellent and a good deal at £32 per head if not included in your deal. The second night we ate off the al a carte menu which was also great. The restaurant was very comfortable and the waiting staff were all very friendly.
The best part of the pool area is definitely the outdoor hot tub...not to be missed!
Overall, cracking location, nice friendly staff, lovely hotel. I would certainly recommend and return here. And brilliant that they take dogs too.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank batman071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairnIain, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Thank you for excellent review. Its is great that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We were on the top floor and the views were amazing and the suite we were in was spacious and comfortable. We were on an autumn gold break and this included a taster menu. I would say that the portions are small, but given that there are 6 courses it would be impossible to take that many courses from the main menu. Ideal size to allow you to sample a greater variety of food and it was delicious, well presented and well seasoned. The staff were all very attentive and very professional.

Room Tip: Wonderful views from the seaview rooms
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairnIain, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Great news - thank you.

I am delighted that your room was to your requirements and that our food surpassed expectation.

Thank you for lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on a DB&B package, paying the additional £60 fee to upgrade to a top floor sea view room and were not disappointed. The bed was huge and very comfortable and we woke up to fantastic views over the Moray Firth. The 6 course 'taster menu' (different on both nights) was absolutely first class and the staff were friendly, helpful and efficient throughout. This was our second stay at the Golf View and we will definitely return again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotfree53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairnIain, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Thank you very much for your excellent review.

I will share your comments with the team at the Golf View Hotel & Spa.

We look forward to seeing you again at your next visit.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
20.5 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
24.0 mi away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#6 of 7 in Strathpeffer
585 reviews
20.8 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
896 reviews
0.2 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
340 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#6 of 9 in Nairn
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golf View Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf View Hotel & Spa

Address: 63 Seabank Road | The Seafront, Nairn IV12 4HD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nairn
#3 Family Hotel in Nairn
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
Price Range: $115 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golf View Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning AA 4 star seaside hotel overlooking the Moray Firth and close to Inverness. The Golf View Hotel and Spa enjoys views over the Moray Firth to the Black Isle and has gardens leading down to the seashore which is just a few steps away. Many of the 42 bedrooms are sea-facing with traditional interiors that provide guests with an exceptionally comfortable and relaxing place in which to stay. With a variety of leisure facilities including heated indoor pool, Jacuzzi, tennis courts and a Sonas Spa and beauty salon on-site, there's plenty available to ensure all guests make the most of their visit to the Golf View Hotel and Spa, Nairn. The hotel restaurant serves up fine dining and has just been awarded AA 1 Rosette status, which is presented by passionate chefs in a selection of the finest dishes. Furthermore, the Conservatory Restaurant enjoys beautiful vistas of the golden sands and Moray Firth coastline beyond. Golf View Hotel and Spa is also perfectly located for exploration of Inverness, capital of the Highlands, and the wider Highland region with the world famous Nairn golf courses sitting on the hotel doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Golf View Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golf View Hotel Nairn
Hotel View
Golf View Hotel & Spa Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing