We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible food and dirty restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golf View Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We only visited for lunch , had we booked a room we would have cancelled. The service was awful and incredibly slow. it took over 2 hours for a two course set menu for sunday lunch. The plates were dirty and the portion size was the same for an adult as a chil - and they were a childs portion. The restaurant was still recovering from the evening before and the staff seemed to be recovering from somethign as well. We wont be going back and have written an email of complaint but have not yet had a response. We think we spotted the Manager slumped in the chair at the reception desk when we paid for our meal - he couldnt even manage a simple hello - very very poor standards when they advertise themselves as one of the better hotels in nairn

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairnIain, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you for your feedback.

Our apologies for any food delays at this our peak time and that our food was not to your liking.

You will find that I have replied separately to your complaint and I can assure you that my management team are always standing and available on the day to deal with any customer feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,217)
There are newer reviews for Golf View Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

746 - 752 of 1,217 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as part of a wedding. Our meal was horrendous. Took 90 minutes from ordering to actually get our food. The steaks we ordered medium rare. 2 were well done verging on cremated and 1 was almost blue. The lobster was frozen instead of fresh and the chips and onion rings were practically burnt. We tried to complain about the meal but the staff were impossible to find and we were so hungry we had to eat it. Our bed was broken resulting in us getting no sleep at all and again no staff could be found despite hourly trips to the reception desk to try to find someone which as part of the bridal party was less than ideal. The hotel was fullybook but a staff member had to be swapped with us for the 2nd night of our stay. There was no air conditioning in the hotel as it was leaking so we had to suffer stifling conditions. We also had to get local wedding guests to bring AND BUY fans for the rest of us to be able to sleep and even remain inside the ballroom during the evening. The hotel claimed they had purchased all the fans in the town and they were being used by guests even though there was a fan in the staff members room we had on the 2nd night and none of the wedding guests had a fan and we accounted for the majority of the guests. One receptionist was extremely rude to several guests including the bride but alternatively one receptionist was fantastic.
Overall very overpriced and not worth it. I expected alot better and better treatment and certainly better food!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairnIain, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you for your feedback.

I will be delighted to show you the feedback from the bride and groom and the parents as their experience was fantastic.

Given this we are a little perplexed. I can confirm that we did supply fans to the bridal party. The only air conditioning we have is in the restaurant and the gym both of which are in working order.

Moreover in the function room we had all windows open with a breeze blowing in from the sea.

Steak was not part of the wedding breakfast. Wedding meals with speeches can be drawn out and we take our lead from the bride and groom as to how they wish to have their day.

Our apologies the same should your experience have been different from the bridal party

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Staff very friendly and attentive. Very good food and pleasant surrundings. Conservatory and garden overlooks the Moray Firth and the Black Isle and are stunning. A very nice hotel to explore the many different attractions in the area. Also a very good base for playing golf.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatureTourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairnIain, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you very much for your kinds words regarding the staff and the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Golf View Hotel and Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

As a family we recently spent an enjoyable 4 days at this extremely friendly hotel. The staff were polite and helpful, with a vast array of local knowledge which they willingly shared with their clientele.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel overlooking the Moray Firth & Black Isles - offers oppor...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 781Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairnIain, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you very much for your excellent feedack. If you are back in Scotland please do come and visit us again.

I trust you had a safe return journey back to Australia.

Thamk you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Second time staying at the hotel - 2 night package with B&B, dinner and spa treatment - well worth the money. I agree with others that the service in the dining room can be a little lax due to very young staff (not pouring wine, just placing bottle on table etc) but we were in no hurry and the Maitre d' was very on the ball if he noticed something needing done at our table. On our first stay we had a lovely big room - on our second stay our room was much smaller - a little disappointing but all in all a nice room and absolutely spotless, met and spoke to the Hotel Housekeeper on both stays and she is lovely and very accommodating of us having our little dog along on holiday. Leisure facilities are very good and the hot tub on the lawn over looking the Morey Firth is great. Thanks for another lovely stay......will be back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NICKY48_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairnIain, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for your kind words and feedback. I will share with the team at the Golf View Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to for your 3rd visit next year.

Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The hotel is in a stunning location right overlooking the sea. The décor is lovely and the room we had was big and well furnished. The standard of the food is really very good, but that's where it all goes horribly wrong. Because the fact is you really struggle to actually GET any food. The service is not only totally shambolic but way overpriced.The bar prices are ABOVE LONDON prices which is a bit unbelievable for a small hotel in Nairn. Whilst the young girls and boys serving are very pleasant they are totally disorganised which is a managerial problem. Breakfast was painful waiting almost half an hour for two boiled eggs and the evening service was appalling - two hours to be served a meal and then we only got out because I asked for the last course to be brought out, otherwise goodness knows how long we would have been there. The food comes out in bits and pieces -sometimes you get a bread roll, sometimes you don't. Sometimes you get what you asked for sometimes you don't. Tables sat uncleared all through breakfast and also at evenings which isn't very nice eating next to tables full of dirty dishes. A lot of the time there is never a waitress to be found with people queuing up at the door waiting to be seated. Come on whoever manages this place - sort it out. We would have eaten in the hotel more but frankly would have lost the will to live whilst waiting. They're losing a lot of money due to the mismanagement of the dining facilities. Wouldn't go back again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hartadrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairnIain, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for your feedback which I will discuss with my management team. We are shortly appointing a new Food and Beverage Manager to upweight our restauarnt operation. My apologies that you felt the service was not to your satisfaction. Fortunatley we have few complaints. That said when we do receive such we take them very seriousily. Thank you for making me aware.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here for one night but would have loved to stay for longer. Amazng views across the Moray Firth from the lovely conservatory.
Our room did not have sea views but was still amazing. Huge room with enormous bed,couch etc,bathroom had large separate shower.
Taster dinner was fantastic with 6 courses,breakfast also delicious.
Leisure area is lovely . As well as early morning swim we also had spa treatment which was fantastic.
Lovely walk along the beach looking across to the Black Isle.
We will definitely be going back. We loved it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsclicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairnIain, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback. We do hope that you comeback to the Golf View Hotel & Spa to enjoy this beautiful hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
20.5 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
24.0 mi away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#6 of 7 in Strathpeffer
585 reviews
20.8 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
896 reviews
0.2 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
340 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#6 of 9 in Nairn
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golf View Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf View Hotel & Spa

Address: 63 Seabank Road | The Seafront, Nairn IV12 4HD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nairn
#3 Family Hotel in Nairn
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
Price Range: $116 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golf View Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning AA 4 star seaside hotel overlooking the Moray Firth and close to Inverness. The Golf View Hotel and Spa enjoys views over the Moray Firth to the Black Isle and has gardens leading down to the seashore which is just a few steps away. Many of the 42 bedrooms are sea-facing with traditional interiors that provide guests with an exceptionally comfortable and relaxing place in which to stay. With a variety of leisure facilities including heated indoor pool, Jacuzzi, tennis courts and a Sonas Spa and beauty salon on-site, there's plenty available to ensure all guests make the most of their visit to the Golf View Hotel and Spa, Nairn. The hotel restaurant serves up fine dining and has just been awarded AA 1 Rosette status, which is presented by passionate chefs in a selection of the finest dishes. Furthermore, the Conservatory Restaurant enjoys beautiful vistas of the golden sands and Moray Firth coastline beyond. Golf View Hotel and Spa is also perfectly located for exploration of Inverness, capital of the Highlands, and the wider Highland region with the world famous Nairn golf courses sitting on the hotel doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Golf View Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golf View Hotel Nairn
Hotel View
Golf View Hotel & Spa Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing