We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super stay, stunning views wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golf View Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Cyprus
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Super stay, stunning views wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

The room we had had stunning views across the moray firth, a two aspect room with sitting area too. The only downside to the room was the lack of lighting, the bed had bedside lamps, and their was a desk light and a standard lamp but nothing else. Everything else in the room excellent.
The bar was well stocked especially with whisks.
The restaurant and staff were superb. The food was fantastic and wine list good.
The fitness area was good, pol on a Saturday full of children but one of those things. Didn't try the hot tub as visited in February but both sauna and steam room were an added extra.
Location was fantastic and extremely close to Nairn golf club which again was very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alison17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    362
    133
    76
    35
See reviews for
215
591
15
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Second visit to this lovely hotel, Absolutely gorgeous setting overlooking Moray Firth. Had family room/suite, enormous room with 2nd bedroom with 2 sets of bunks. Very clean and décor lovely, but a few bits not thought out; ie tea/coffee facilities under TV cupboard but no plug nearby so had to boil kettle on floor (not ideal in a family room) dressing table in middle of room with small vanity mirror. Limited square plugs available for all todays needs, chargers etc.
Lunch great in conservatory, but dinner in restaurant very slow. Meal on first night disappointing with only one waitress on, but 2nd nights food excellent and service much better.
Many thanks again to Wilma, beauty therapist for rearranging our treatment times and providing with Charlotte excellent service in the spa. Hot tub and pool area very relaxing.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms available for extra charge, but gorgeous views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madge78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverurie, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

My wife booked us a one night Dinner,Bed and Breakfast deal to celebrate my birthday and we were really looking forward to it. We weren't expecting the Ritz given the price and star rating, however we were left quite disappointed. The location is fantastic and the Spa facilities dated but still quite enjoyable. This is an old hotel so once you get beyond the nice reception area you will find it a little tired in places but still very clean. Sadly the whole thing was spoilt by the disinterested and in some cases unhospitable staff. The restaraunt was not particularly busy but the levels of service were simply chaotic. We can understand younger members of staff on summer jobs being a little less knowledgeable about menu and so on but I am afraid they were simply disinterested with no pride in their work. We suffered a category of issues in the resteraunt which was made worse with the rudeness of some of the staff. To our suprise and disappointment the rudeness was a theme we also encountered in the bar afterwards where we met the worlds grumpiest bar staff, so much so we simply didnt feel welcome or comfortable. Breakfast was similar in terms of staff attitude and levels of hospitality. The resteraunt menu is very appealing however to be honest the standard of food is what you might expect for the price...average.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed my 2 night stay here. Room was very clean and spacious, had a lovely view of the sea and beach. Had a nice breakfast in the room and also enjoyed the restaurant at dinner time. Also enjoyed going for a swim in the pool.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Disneyprincess27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed at the Golf View during a golf weekend in Nairn. Room was overlooking the Moray Firth and what a view to wake up to - fantastic!!! Rooms were comfortable, not too big and bed was perfect for great nights sleep!!. Bathroom great size with separate shower and bath and view again overlooking the Moray Firth. Couldn't fault the dinner which was served in the main dining room and the sangiovese went down a treat :-) Would only give the breakfast an Ok, mainly for the choice that is offered but quality was good. Service was also spot on with friendly staff both at dinner and breakfast. Used the leisure area (pool, sauna, steam room) on the Saturday morning and it was quite so great feeling like you have the place to yourself. Again the pool overlooks the Moray Firth so great floating and admiring the stunning views. Reception staff very helpful with any questions and prompt check in/out.
Overall wonderful stay and looking forward to our return visit (s) :-)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linsmathie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stirling
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

All the staff are friendly with a good local knowledge of sights,one even offered us her grand binoculars loo ars as we had forgotten ours.
Good food and spacious room.great power shower!
We were puzzled by the claim that all food was sourced locally and then found out that a butcher from Derby supplied the hotel meat!

Room Tip: Sea view is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riojohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Had a lovely 4 days in this beautiful hotel where the location and facilities are superb. It was spoiled however practically from the moment we arrived when we tried to have a bite to eat in the lounge. Having spent 10 hours driving to get there and snacking in the car all we wanted was a sandwich but sandwiches were only available on the room service menus and in fact the bar menu finished at 5:30. When I explained to the staff they were effectively sending me to my room if I just wanted a sandwich they confirmed that this was indeed correct. Negotiation eventually allowed us to order off a restricted choice from the bar menu. The menu in the dining room is looks lovely but has only one vegetarian choice, and the staff will not prepare alternatives. This left me facing eating the same dinner for 4 days.
I travel extensively and eat in a lot of hotels. Never have I found dining staff to be less helpful!
It's a great shame because in all other respects this was the perfect holiday location.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
20.5 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
20.8 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
24.0 mi away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#4 of 7 in Strathpeffer
3.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
0.2 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golf View Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf View Hotel & Spa

Property: Golf View Hotel & Spa
Address: 63 Seabank Road | The Seafront, Nairn IV12 4HD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nairn
#3 Family Hotel in Nairn
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golf View Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning AA 4 star seaside hotel overlooking the Moray Firth and close to Inverness. The Golf View Hotel and Spa enjoys views over the Moray Firth to the Black Isle and has gardens leading down to the seashore which is just a few steps away. Many of the 42 bedrooms are sea-facing with traditional interiors that provide guests with an exceptionally comfortable and relaxing place in which to stay. With a variety of leisure facilities including heated indoor pool, Jacuzzi, tennis courts and a Sonas Spa and beauty salon on-site, there's plenty available to ensure all guests make the most of their visit to the Golf View Hotel and Spa, Nairn. The hotel restaurant serves up fine dining and has just been awarded AA 1 Rosette status, which is presented by passionate chefs in a selection of the finest dishes. Furthermore, the Conservatory Restaurant enjoys beautiful vistas of the golden sands and Moray Firth coastline beyond. Golf View Hotel and Spa is also perfectly located for exploration of Inverness, capital of the Highlands, and the wider Highland region with the world famous Nairn golf courses sitting on the hotel doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golf View Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golf View Hotel Nairn
Hotel View
Golf View Hotel & Spa Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing