We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Weekend at the Golf View Hotel & Spa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golf View Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Bonnyrigg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Weekend at the Golf View Hotel & Spa”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Booked girls weekend for myself and mum for weekend of 15th March 2013. We had a fantastic weekend from the moment we arrived. All staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a lovely spacious room with a beautiful bay window overlooking the Moray Firth. The room and huge bathroom were spotless and nicely decorated. My mum and I shared a lovely bottle of wine in the conservatory watching the sunset over the Moray Firth - wonderful. Food was really lovely. The hotel is right on the beach and we took a lovely long walk along the promenade. The leisure facilities were very good too, we loved the hot tub and felt very pampered. I would recommend this hotel for couples or families. The beach is beautiful and there is a lovely play park near the hotel.

After I had booked the hotel in December I read the trip advisor reviews and was really disappointed as they were quite poor. I read the reviews again the weekend before we headed up North and they had significantly improved so I was hopeful we would have a good weekend. I would definitely go back to this fabulous hotel.

Gillian Davis

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillDavis7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairnIain, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you Gillian for your wonderful review and comments. We are delighted that we could be part of your memorable experience and look forward to seeing you again at the Golf View Hotel and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    372
    138
    76
    39
See reviews for
227
604
15
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We are just back from a lovely 2 Night Break in Golf View,it is a comfortable friendly place, room was spacious, the view was delightful, and the separate bath and shower was great, you very seldon get that in the newer hotels.The staff we found really friendly and the food was lovely specially enjoyed the 6 course taster dinner.My only complaint would be that our room was a little tired in the furnishings, but that is to be expected as it is a very busy place. Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms the overlooking the side of the hotel have great views of the Moray Firth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mritchie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairnIain, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback and we do hope that you visit us again, soon at the Golf View Hotel and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmilns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for the weekend. The room was lovely, spacious, comfortable with fantastic sea views. The leisure facilities are great, thoroughly enjoyed the outdoor hot tub overlooking the sea.Our dinner on the first night left a lot to be desired. The food was cold. The following morning we had to wait an hour to be seated for breakfast. We were deeply dissapointed with the service and complained to Zara the receptionist. Her reaction and attitude was exemplary and she ensured that the rest of our stay was problem free. Our dinner that evening was one of the best I've had. Thanks to Zara's intervention we will be going back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrodieNewmilns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairnIain, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for your open and honest feedback and the fact that you will be coming back. I have passed on my comments to Zara who is an inspirational character. I note the points raised regarding service at breakfast. Unfortunately this day was one in which two staff reported that they were unable to attend work. Whilst we were able to get additional staff in by mid morning this had a knock effect on usual breakfast service.I am glad that Zara was able to save the day.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had a couple of nights last week at the hotel on their 'dinner first night' deal and really enjoyed the break. Hotel staff pleasant and room spacious and clean. Not a sea view but looking over the front of the hotel and light and sunny. The dinner is a taster menu which seems slightly strange but the quality was good and you could upgrade to courses from the a la carte menu at additional cost which was fairly expensive. Conservatory bar and restaurant overlooking the sea is really worth spending time in and we ate in the bar the second evening and food good. Staff worked hard and we did feel that at times they could have done with extra bodies. We did not use the leisure facilities as the weather was quite reasonable and we were out and about. Check out time of 11 was very reasonable and you could extend this with an additional payment of £10. Would go again on one of the deals.

Room Tip: Front room was sunny and spacious. It was considerably more expensive to upgrade to sea view and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairnIain, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for review and staying at the Golf View Hotel and Spa. We are just 400 metres from the Nairn Golf Course if you take a left on the sea front promenade and can get you discounted rates at most times of year if you have a passion for golf. Thank you for your feedback on the rest of your stay too as this is valued.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I have stayed at The Golf View over many years, and it has changed hands a few times. This was my first stay after about a 4 year gap and I was anxious that quality may have gone down. But it was so reassuringly the same! Excellent food, lovely big rooms and roomy bathrooms (bath and separate shower - bliss!). The views over the Moray Firth are wonderful and the walk along the waterside is so relaxing. Staff were attentive and professional. I really appreciated the good cooked breakfast, properly served at the table with tea in real tea pots and none of this breakfast buffet rubbish! This has to be my favourite Scottish hotel.

Room Tip: I didn't request a sea view, but I got one and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tchouli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairnIain, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. I will pass your kind comments onto the team here and hope that you come back and visit us very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monifieth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed on a 2 night break at this well appointed hotel.
Although we did not ask for it we had a very nice room overlooking the Morey Firth and had a massive 4-poster bed.Large choice for dinner and breakfast and although there was 5 courses for dinner we did not feel stuffed. Breakfast was a let down on our second morning as they had run out of orange juice and fruit saled. Admittedly the restaurant was busy and there should have been more staff.
The walk along the beach front into Nairn town centre was cold but very nice - around 20 minutes.. This is a good base to explore the Morey coastline.
We did not use the pool/spa but many people did.

Room Tip: Worth it to try for a sea view but all the rooms are large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albuntin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairnIain, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and overall comments. I note your points raised regarding the breakfast service. We had two staff contact us in the morning concerned advising us of their illness and this impacted on our usual service. We were able to bring in additional staff to cover from late morning. My apologies for this. We now have contingency plans in place to ensure no repetition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here a few times. The location is great right by the sea. The views of the Moray Firth are beautiful from the hotel. The staff are very friendly. The hotel is very clean. Food is good, Great choice for breakfasts. The hotel is dog friendly this is great because you can walk for miles along the beach.

Room Tip: Try get a room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanie14_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairnIain, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for your regular visits. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Golf View Hotel and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
20.5 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
20.7 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
649 reviews
24.0 mi away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#4 of 7 in Strathpeffer
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
856 reviews
0.2 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
306 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golf View Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf View Hotel & Spa

Property: Golf View Hotel & Spa
Address: 63 Seabank Road | The Seafront, Nairn IV12 4HD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nairn
#3 Family Hotel in Nairn
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golf View Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning AA 4 star seaside hotel overlooking the Moray Firth and close to Inverness. The Golf View Hotel and Spa enjoys views over the Moray Firth to the Black Isle and has gardens leading down to the seashore which is just a few steps away. Many of the 42 bedrooms are sea-facing with traditional interiors that provide guests with an exceptionally comfortable and relaxing place in which to stay. With a variety of leisure facilities including heated indoor pool, Jacuzzi, tennis courts and a Sonas Spa and beauty salon on-site, there's plenty available to ensure all guests make the most of their visit to the Golf View Hotel and Spa, Nairn. The hotel restaurant serves up fine dining and has just been awarded AA 1 Rosette status, which is presented by passionate chefs in a selection of the finest dishes. Furthermore, the Conservatory Restaurant enjoys beautiful vistas of the golden sands and Moray Firth coastline beyond. Golf View Hotel and Spa is also perfectly located for exploration of Inverness, capital of the Highlands, and the wider Highland region with the world famous Nairn golf courses sitting on the hotel doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Golf View Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golf View Hotel Nairn
Hotel View
Golf View Hotel & Spa Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing