We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Weekend Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golf View Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Excellent weekend break. February 2013 . Location perfect very close to the centre of Nairn lovely part of Scotland. All staff in hotel very friendly and helpful can't praise them enough. Food very good .Room very spacious. Spa facilities excellent.
Both my husband and would highly recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairnIain, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you very much for your great review and for your recommendation to others.

We look forward to meeting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

885 - 891 of 1,255 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

Seabank Road runs from the main Inverness to Aberdeen road, the A96, down to the sea in Nairn. It is a particularly beautiful setting in a lovely part of Scotland. The road has a surprisingly large number of Residential Care Homes for the Elderly along its 1/2 mile length. The Golf View Hotel is the last property, right at the end of the road, with gardens running down to a beach path.

In Reception, once recovered from the distinct whiff of chlorine from the spa, one suspects that this might be a property locked in a 1960's time warp. So it proved to be.

Once no doubt elegant, the property is furnished just as it would have been circa 1965. Heavy, heavy furniture features everywhere, in public rooms and guest bedrooms. Dark woods and dark fabrics abound, married with dark tartans. The overall impression is, sadly, depressing .... with special mention reserved for the restaurant. This is a very large and featureless room furnished in dark green and terracotta fabrics with dark red walls and dark oak panelling. There are four ceiling speakers which were silent one night and blaring Michael Jackson for breakfast the following morning and for our second dinner.

The kitchen, disappointingly, proved itself incapable of delivering a plate on which the components were of the same temperature. One such example being a stone cold rib eye steak served with warm vine tomatoes, a cold field mushroom and burning hot oven chips ...... yes, oven chips in a Four Star hotel restaurant. Breakfast the following morning comprised two hot poached eggs served on cold, dry toast accompanied by a slice of cold black pudding. On both nights of our stay the signature "six course tasting menu" was poorly prepared and poorly presented.

For our two night stay my wife and I were, if not the youngest, then certainly amongst the youngest few residents in a fairly full hotel.

On the plus side, the staff in the hotel are lovely and appeared at all times to be doing their very best to provide the best possible product. The hotel appeared, sadly, to be considerably understaffed.

The hotel was commendably clean throughout.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Noswad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairnIain, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you for your your feedback. Our apologies for any perceived shortcoming in standards or service. I will discuss the points raised with my team. I can assure you that the hotel has both a 4 star rating and rosette standard cuisine and these assessments are made by independent bodies. Moreover our interiors have been designed by professional interior decorators and it appears that these are not to your personal taste. Due to our heritage the furnishings are in keeping with our historical context.

Thank you for feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Enjoyed two day mini break.
Excellent food and good accommodation. Also friendly and helpful staff
Beds could have been a little bit firmer.
Superb location with wonderful views over Moray Firth
Spa facilities also excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john542186487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairnIain, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for your kind feedback. We are most happy that you enjoyed your time at the Golf View Hotel and Spa and looking forward to welcoming you back.

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We returnedto the Gof view Hotel in February 2013 for a 4 night stay. this Hotel is in a stunning location and the view from our room across to the Black Isle was lovely.
Wecan't praise the Staff at this Hotel enough. From reception to Restaurant their aim is to please,and that comes highly commended. The food is superb !!!!!. as is everything about this Hotel. Leisure facilities are excellent.
We will most certainly return next year as we think that it is one of the best,if not the best within the Crerar Hotel Group.A very big thank you to all at the Golf View.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewRenfrewshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairnIain, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and delighted that you chose again the Golf View Hotel and Spa for your break.

We look forward to having you as our guests in the near future.

I have taken the liberty of sharing your comments with the team at the Golf View Hotel and Spa in our daily meeting. Everyone was very pleased.

Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I stay here regularly because it is an excellent hotel, in a stunning location over looking the beach and the Moray First and it has a warm and welcoming ambiance. I always get a good welcome, the rooms are a good size and are of good quality. The food is good and the service is good with the staff being polite and courteous.

The spa and swimming pool is very relaxing and there is free wifi which is hassle-free unlike some hotels I have stayed in.

I always leave feeling relaxed and contented and always look forward to my return stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Capt_Wobbly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairnIain, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thank you very much for your loyalty to the Golf View Hotel and Spa. Your comments are much appreciated and I will be delighted to share these with the team. We all look forward to seeing you soon back at the Golf View Hotel and Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Our nights stay at The Golf View Hotel was just what my wife and I needed after a busy few months. Booked last minute and although it was only 1 night everything was perfect and never too much. We were met on arrival by a very bubbly and enthusiastic receptionist who checked us in quickly yet efficiently, our room was amazing, beautiful view overlooking the moray firth. Staff were all very attentive and approachable and the food was above expectations. We are already planning back very very soon.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairnIain, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thank you for your fantastic review. We hope that you can comeback soon and stay a little longer as our guests. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed here on a valentines break. We arrived by train and walked down to the hotel. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful. We stayed in room 12 which was so freshly decorated you could still smell the paint! We therefore kept the window open for the duration of our stay. Room was clean and welcoming. And the bed was huge. Breakfast was good with a variety available for cooked option. The leisure facility was also good with the added touch of the outdoor hot tub. Felt the bar prices were slightly excessive. Staff run of their feet especially on Saturday afternoon.

Room Tip: A sea view room is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peewee74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairnIain, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thank you for your review and your kind comments about the Golf View Hotel and Spa. We are in the process of decorating all of our bedrooms and even after a few days the paint smell can still linger. Thank you for your understanding. We are very happy that you enjoyed all the other aspects of your stay. Again our thanks and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Golf View.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
0.3 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#2 of 9 in Nairn
938 reviews
0.2 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
386 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#6 of 9 in Nairn
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#6 of 36 in Inverness
1,872 reviews
14.8 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
11.4 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golf View Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf View Hotel & Spa

Address: 63 Seabank Road | The Seafront, Nairn IV12 4HD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Price Range: $72 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golf View Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning AA 4 star seaside hotel overlooking the Moray Firth and close to Inverness. The Golf View Hotel and Spa enjoys views over the Moray Firth to the Black Isle and has gardens leading down to the seashore which is just a few steps away. Many of the 42 bedrooms are sea-facing with traditional interiors that provide guests with an exceptionally comfortable and relaxing place in which to stay. With a variety of leisure facilities including heated indoor pool, Jacuzzi, tennis courts and a Sonas Spa and beauty salon on-site, there's plenty available to ensure all guests make the most of their visit to the Golf View Hotel and Spa, Nairn. The hotel restaurant serves up fine dining and has just been awarded AA 1 Rosette status, which is presented by passionate chefs in a selection of the finest dishes. Furthermore, the Conservatory Restaurant enjoys beautiful vistas of the golden sands and Moray Firth coastline beyond. Golf View Hotel and Spa is also perfectly located for exploration of Inverness, capital of the Highlands, and the wider Highland region with the world famous Nairn golf courses sitting on the hotel doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Golf View Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golf View Hotel Nairn
Hotel View
Golf View Hotel & Spa Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing