We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very special”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Looking up at the lodges from the south. The living area with kitchen behind.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
97 reviews
Looking up at the lodges from the south.
The living area with kitchen behind.
The other side of the living area.
The lodges with the Moray Firth behind.
Balcony visited by red squirrels.
Double bedroom.
Twinroom.
Bunkroom.
Bathroom.
View from living room.
Hiddenglen.
Red squirrel on balcony.
Help collect the eggs?
Sleeping twins.
Mother and daughter.
Hiddenglen loch in autumn.
This guy visits the balcony.
Never closed!
Nairn beach.
Urquhart Castle and Loch Ness
Cawdor Castle Highland cow.
Nairn harbour.
Culbin beach.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Nairn, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 97 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
dakota377
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very special”
Reviewed July 28, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed in the caravan and had a peaceful and happy week. It is such a beautiful place to rest and relax or to wander and explore the beauty of nature , especially with it being an organic farm. There is so much to enjoy without even getting in the car. We discovered many interesting flowers , plants , insects and birds and really appreciated the kindness of the owners in inviting the children to help collect eggs and feed the lambs as well as providing a sandpit, trampoline , slide and even a boat !! We also enjoyed visiting nearby coastal and woodland walks and appreciated the thoughtful selection of books and games provided.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isa A
Burghead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hidden heaven of Nairn”
Reviewed July 27, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Excellent view, calm, tranquil, fresh air and beautiful green nature. Nice private drive from the main road. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JECMac197...
Isle of Tiree, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, accurately described but pricey”
Reviewed July 9, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

For several years we have holidayed in various locations across the UK, staying in static caravans. As our children are growing older (11 and 12) we decided to go for something a bit more spacious and the description of this chalet suggested that it would meet our needs. We paid £573*, approximately £150 more than we have paid for immaculate, up-to-date caravans in the past, and expected an equivalent upgrade in terms of the accommodation. While the description of the chalet is accurate, we were rather disappointed in regard to the interior. It was immaculately clean but very dated and, when we first arrived felt cold and slightly damp. The weather was cold and damp which obviously didn't help and the gas fire and electric heaters did warm the place up quickly. The beds were comfortable and very cosy with electric blanket, hot water bottles and extra blankets provided. There was a very good selection of books, games, jigsaws and DVDs for our entertainment during the evenings and plenty of information available about the surrounding area. The grounds were beautifully maintained and the two lodges available for rent looked lovely. The dozen free range eggs left for us on arrival was very much appreciated and we were made to feel welcome by the owners. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay but did feel that the chalet was somewhat overpriced. *We chose to pay £20 for bed linen and towels to be provided; this is optional.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Surrounding area
Liked least: Condition of exterior of building
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme C
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Scotland at its best if your looking for peace & quiet”
Reviewed March 27, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I've just got back from a weeks stay in the lodge and can't say enough good things about this place. I was originally looking for caravan break but managed to get a lodge at the last minute. When I go back I will have the option of chalet or caravan as well as the lodge as I would be happy with any. I liked the box of eggs touch that greets you when you arrive & the views are just awesome. Everyone there were friendly hosts & makes you feel most welcome. Nairn is just a short distance away for food or a carry out. If you are going to hidden glens by car & travelling from the south I would recommend going through the mountains. In the lodge there was a selection of books(not for me lol) & DVD's & if you have kids there is a washing machine & tumble dryer so you don't need to worry if they get dirty. Even though I'm 50 I will need to try the slide that's there the next time I go & would highly recommend weather your a family,couple or on your own. Thanks again Peter & Therese.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace & quiet
Liked least: Nothing......even the weather was nice
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne W
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Peaceful wildlife paradise”
Reviewed March 27, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We loved our week in Kestrel Lodge and would definitely recommend it to others. The lodge is in beautiful surroundings and we saw lots of wildlife including small birds, woodpeckers, herons and deer.

The lodge is well equipped with a comfortable lounge area, TV and DVDs, wifi, dining area and excellent kitchen (gas hob and oven, microwave, kettle, lots of crockery and cooking equipment).

The owners are friendly and everything was well explained when we arrived. They also gave us a box of free range eggs from their chickens as a welcome gift.

There was also a games room underneath our lodge with darts board, full-size pool table and table football.

There is lots of local information in the lodge to help you plan your outings and the lodge is well situated for exploring the local area. During our week's stay we visited:

• Nairn
• Findhorn
• Chanonry Point (good for dolphin-spotting)
• Fort George
• Culloden Battlefield
• Inverness (inc botanical gardens)
• Loch Ness and the superb Urquart Castle
• Aviemore (inc Strathspey steam railway and Cairngorm mountain funicular)

Good points

• Superb location with great views
• Lots of wildlife
• Well-equipped and comfortable lodge
• Lots to explore in local area
• Good value for money

Bad points

• Limited indoor options nearby if the weather is bad

Summary

A great, reasonably-priced lodge in a very picturesque location. Would definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glampam40
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fab Fab Fab - already talking about return visit”
Reviewed October 25, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stumbled across this complete gem of a place whilst looking for a last minute holiday break. All we were hoping for was a 3 bed property to accommodate our family of 5 at a reasonable budget - but this holiday completely surpassed our expectations. If you are looking for 5 star urban luxury then it's not for you. If however, you want a lovely home from home with fabulous views, enough to keep 3 kids away voluntarily from screen time and wonderful hosts then absolutely this is great. We have an 11 yo, 9 yo and a 4 yo and all of them gave this top marks. On site there were the chickens to feed and help grade their eggs ready for sale, a trampoline, an amazing slide, wonderful woodlands, a boat on its own lake and a pool table room right underneath our lodge. Peter, Therese and their other helpers were fantastic hosts -nothing was too much for them - even an interview for our oldest son's project at school! The lodge itself was very well equipped and very spacious - with washing machine and tumble dryer (helpful in the Scottish climate!) and lots of books, games, CDs DVDs to entertain for wet weather. It's also only about 10 minutes from Nairn for shopping, parks/playgrounds/swimming pool - and not to mention dolphin spotting! I cannot praise this highly enough - it's so restful and peaceful - a great place to escape the hustle and bustle of every day life. A lovely wee touch was the pack of eggs on arrival - fresh from just along the track! We will definitely be back!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 26, 2015
Thanks Pam, delighted you were so happy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin C
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday - a home from home.”
Reviewed October 18, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Fantastic service, fantastic location, breath-taking views. From start to finish Therese and Peter made our stay as warm and accommodating as possible. When we walked into our stunning lodge, a lovely welcome card and a dozen of wonderful free range eggs from their farm were waiting for us. Therese personally ensured we knew where everything was and provided us information on local walks. Our kids were invited to collect eggs from the farm hens which they loved. I would have no hesitation in recommending this location to others or returning for another holiday. Many thanks.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing