We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“wonderful stay with a beautiful view”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Looking up at the lodges from the south. The living area with kitchen behind.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
94 reviews
Looking up at the lodges from the south.
The living area with kitchen behind.
The other side of the living area.
The lodges with the Moray Firth behind.
Balcony visited by red squirrels.
Double bedroom.
Twinroom.
Bunkroom.
Bathroom.
View from living room.
Hiddenglen.
Red squirrel on balcony.
Help collect the eggs?
Sleeping twins.
Mother and daughter.
Hiddenglen loch in autumn.
This guy visits the balcony.
Never closed!
Nairn beach.
Urquhart Castle and Loch Ness
Cawdor Castle Highland cow.
Nairn harbour.
Culbin beach.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Nairn, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 94 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Matthijs...
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“wonderful stay with a beautiful view”
Reviewed May 12, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The lodge was spacious with a beautiful view of the glen and a lot of lively action on our balcony with birds and squirrels attacking the peanut containers. The welcome was most friendly and we helped collecting eggs and milking the lambs. By car, we had good access to dolphins in the bay, whisky in the Speyside, and spectular scenery. In all we had a wonderful stay.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynneD411
1 review
“I didn't want to leave.”
Reviewed March 26, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

The views were breath taking and the animals and birds beautiful.
Everything I needed for my stay. Felt inspired and carried my inspiration home, along with stones from Nairn's beach which is a short journey away from the lodge. Awesome place, I loved it.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsChap
Bungay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hidden Glen is exactly right!”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 for a stay in June 2013

Review is a little late but memory clear of a lovely place to stay on holiday, hidden away in the Scottish countryside but not far from the coast or the mountains. Helpful people. Everything you need for self-catering. Beautiful walks possible from the doorstep. Very peaceful. Would stay at Hiddenglen again!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian B
Stonehouse, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very relaxing week at the Hidden Glen!”
Reviewed October 19, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from a very relaxing week at the Hidden Glen.
What a refreshing week in a beautiful location and a great base to plan our holiday. The minute we set foot in the lodge we felt very welcome it was so cosy warm and homely, the view from the widow just took my breath away.
The attention to detail and personal touches e.g flowers, eggs ect were very much appreciated. The lodge provided a well equipped kitchen which my daughter and I spent many happy hours baking, something I have a great passion for but sadly not the time with family and work commitment as many of us do.
We woke each morning to the sound of woody the woodpecker, but sadly we saw no squirrels on our visit but we did see a large deer on our walk through the forest.
We had many great walks with our 2 small dogs which got on well with the other dogs on the farm. One of the walks Peter recommended took us to a lodge hidden in the forest “it was like something from a fairy tale story”.
The boys loved collecting and sorting the eggs that much that Therese said if we return they can do it by them self the next time.
We had planned to visit several places and do so much but were at awe with our surrounding that we shall just have to come again and finish our bucket list.
If you are looking for a truly relaxing break then this has got to be the one!
Thank you, Therese, Peter , Jo, Sam, Marita, And, Iona and Aila x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Seeing that wonderful view across the valley every day
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James T
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing stay in quiet location close to good beaches, walks and cycle tracks for ther kids.”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Just back from visit ending 12 October 13 staying in a lodge with 2 kids 10 and 12. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Kids loved getting involved collecting and grading the eggs and feeding the chickens.

We used the location as our base and explored the local coastline which I thoroughly recommend. Good beaches cycle tracks and walks abundant here and plenty of information on these is included in the accommodation.

Contrary to earlier posting there is a games room in the basement of one of the lodges.

Lodges well equipped, comfortable and well maintained. Friendly welcome on arrival and during our stay including a dozen fresh free range, organic eggs. Yummy!

No issues with electric fences which are only on when livestock are present. Kids saw this as a challenge but for younger kids you may need to keep supervised.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: South facing balcony and the regular visits from the woodpecker
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness...
inverness
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice but not quite as expected”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We booked a holiday at Hiddenglen for our family - 4 adults, 1 8 year old boy and 2 small dogs. It was difficult to walk around with our dogs - there were 2 of the owners dogs running free and the fields en route to the woods had either chickens or cattle in them so we couldn't wander. The children's play area is a trampoline and a slide - a games room was shown on the map but it's no longer there. There were also quite a lot of electric fences around the site including one on the "treasure hunt" route. This combined with the loose running dogs meant we couldn't let my 8 year old nephew off the leash too much at all. The lodge was comfortable and very well insulated with a lovely view across the lochan and we had a lovely holiday but it wasn't quite as we had expected.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The lack of access to surrounding areas
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 16, 2013
We are sorry to read of your concerns and disappointed that you did not speak to us while you were here – we live only a few metres away. However we are pleased to note that overall you had a “lovely holiday” in a “comfortable and very well insulated lodge”. If we had known at the time we could have done the following:-
• Kept our dogs shut in more if we know guests are nervous of them. Most guests enjoy them and they have made friends with many visiting dogs over the years.
• Advised that many guests with dogs walk through the hen paddock. You were right to keep away from the cattle.
• Directed you to the Forestry Commission woodland, accessed directly from our track, that has miles of good paths.
• Directed you to the games room with table football and a pool table under the next door lodge.
• Switched off the electric single wire fence while you did the Treasure Hunt. It is there only part of the year to control the cattle.
For the benefit of all guests, please come and speak to us if you have a problem. We will do our best to sort it out.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosalind...
Chatham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“nice quiet holiday”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

stayed here for one week in treetop lodge.if you are looking for a quiet holiday in the highlands,this is the one to book.
you need a car though.about 10 mins drive to nearest shop,but its worth it. we had red
squirrels on the balcony.no noise at night,apart from owls.
highly recommend staying here!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the quietness
Liked least: nothing,was faultless
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing