We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely outstanding service experience filled with 'magical moments'”
Review of Boath House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Boath House
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2011

I have just returned from a weekend stay at Boath House Hotel in Nairn, where I had exclusive use of the hotel with a party of 9 girlfriends in order to celebrate my 40th birthday.
The experience was outstanding and faultless, and will be a key memory that will be treasured forever by our entire party.
Mark ensured all eventualities were planned for in advance, including individual menus developed with the chef for the vegetarians and celiacs amongst us...the service we received from the team was impeccable, and the food was totally outstanding!!!
Boath House is a beautiful setting, with individually designed bedrooms, all with lovely unique features.
A truly unique and memorable experience to be treasured forever.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lydia1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (334)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 334 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2011

Boath house has a lovely setting and our 4 poster bed was excellent.

We ate in the restaurant which was claimed to have a Michelin Star. The food was good but wasn't amazing. It certainly doesn't compare with the other Michelin star restuarants in Scotland that we have eaten in and didn't really fit the £70 a head price tag. Also beware that when you are asked if you want tea and coffee that there will be a further £10 added onto your bill for 2 which I thought was over the top. At £70 for a set menu, one would expect for all the cost of a tea bag, for it to be included. Very disappointing. If we stay in the future, we'll head up to the lovely room for after dinner drinks.

We also found the dining room difficult to relax in and whispered throughout the meal. Even though there were other couples in the dining room, the atmosphere was almost oppresive at times which actually is commented on in an earlier review. Some gentle relaxing music in the background could make all the difference.

In summary, lovely accomodation but not sure of the £70 price tag for dinner and £4.95 for a cup of tea! We ate in Cafe number 1 in Inverness the night before and would definately say although it was a less complex meal, it was far more enjoyable and the atmosphere was far more relaxed.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsJolly80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScotlandIndia, Manager at Boath House, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed your room. We would like to comment on the point raised regarding after dinner tea, coffee and petit fours.

We feel that the cost of our six course dinner is justified and in line with other establishments of this quality and level of service. We do not include the cost of tea, coffee and hand-made petit fours on the assumption that each our diners may not choose to order. These items are not listed on the menu and are therefore not costed into the menu.

We are also fans of Café 1. Norman is a good friend who will say himself that we offer a completely different experience as he runs a café bar and we are a fine dining restaurant.

We do sincerely hope that you will return one day to Boath House at some point in the future.

Sincerely,

Jonny.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2010

Stayed here for one night only, wish it had been longer. The service was outstanding and hotel just what I had dreamed about, magical. Could not fault anything, dinner especially was something else, unbelievably tasty. Looking forward to our next visit already. Thank you.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScotlandIndia, Manager at Boath House, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2011

Dear Guests,

Thank so much for your comments. It was nice to meet you both when enjoying a walk in Nairn with my Wife following your departure. I look forward to your next anniversary/visit.

Best regards,

Jonny.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2010

Snow, snow and more snow, would we ever arrive. Well we did and were very glad that we made the effort. The Boath House was the grand finally to our week away traveling around the highlands.
My wife and i received a very warm welcome from the hosts and were instantly made to feel at home. Elegant reception rooms with log burning fires.We were accompanied up to our WOW factor room via a beautiful Georgian staircase, (Room 3) .This large room with bay windows overlooking the frozen lake had an equally large bathroom with twin freestanding slipper baths.
A bottle of Champs later and we were sampling the culinary delights of the six course menu with a bottle of the most reasonably priced Burgundy quality white so far.Great timing between courses and attentive service.
The fact that other guests had been snowed off played to our advantage as we had exclusivity. A delightful breakfast inc the best tasting porridge followed a wonderful nights sleep.It was a great shame that we only had the one night but we promised ourselves that we will return.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephenoakley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2010

Our thanks to all those at Boath House for a most wonderful couple of days, helping us celebrate our wedding anniversary. A truly fantastic experience last year repeated again this year. Consistently attentive service, beautiful rooms and magnificent cuisine made for a very enjoyable stay. Particular thanks to Jonny for his engaging help and knowledge of all things local. We can’t recommend Boath House highly enough.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tajvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScotlandIndia, Manager at Boath House, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2011

Dear Guests,

As with most of our returning guests, you were very easy to look after! It was great to see you both again. We really enjoyed the photos of the house taken during your stay.

Best wishes,

Jonny.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2010

We had a lovely couple of days at the Boath House and would certainly recommend it. The staff were very helpful and welcoming: they were particularly accomodating in catering to my dietary requirements. The food alone is a reason to visit the Boath House: it was imaginative, delicious, locally sourced and of a standard you would expect to find in a Michelin starred restaurant. The bedroom (No.3) itself was lovely, with a bathroom to die for. One of the nicest hotel rooms we have stayed in, full of charm and character which was reflected throughout the rest of the common areas of the house. The only possible criticism we had was that the atmosphere of the dining room was very formal, possibly too formal. Whilst we know that the intention is to create a formal dining experience, the risk is that the atmosphere can become oppressive. However, we would still certainly go back.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McIntyresSE10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2010

The Boath House came highly recommended by friends and our trip there did not disappoint. The staff were welcoming, the spa treatments were lovely, the rooms spacious and comfortable and the food was out of this world.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScotGal999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
2.8 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
912 reviews
3.0 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
607 reviews
19.5 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#5 of 36 in Inverness
659 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#6 of 9 in Nairn
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boath House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boath House

Address: On A96 | Auldearn, Nairn IV12 5TE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nairn
#4 Family Hotel in Nairn
Price Range: $385 - $476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Boath House 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run and famous for style, quality, gardens and fine cuisine. We are situated on the north east coast of Scotland on the Moray Firth Coast and the Grade A listed Georgian Mansion has been restored lovingly back to it's original splendour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Boath House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boath Hotel Nairn
Boath House Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing