We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"excellent" does not do it justice”
Review of Boath House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Boath House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“"excellent" does not do it justice”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We were greeted with the warmth of fires, candles, antler chandeliers, and friendly staff. Our room was soooooo amazing, cannot begin to describe the lovely feeling of having everything just working so perfectly. Hot water as soon as you turn on the taps, shutters that fold away easily and noiselessly, wonderful chest of drawers and wardrobes, thick and pristine carpets...everything finished to the highest standard.

After a delicious breakfast, the best I've EVER had, we had a fantastic time exploring the grounds on an idyllic winter morning. Robins fluttering through the falling leaves, translucent ice sheets covering the lake, a misty frost covering the lawns, very romantic setting for a morning stroll.

Staff really tied the whole experience together. Extremely knowledgeable yet affable and gregarious. We were all on first name terms by the time we left and felt like we could have stayed forever!

We were very excited about dining in the prestigious restaurant and it did not disappoint. The 6 course meal just got better and better, leaving us with warm and fuzzy feeling after.

All in all, a perfect stay in the perfect place, could not have asked for any more and thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Room 4. I was cheeky enough to ask for a sneak preview in some of the other rooms, and have to say o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ninabalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    46
    15
    12
    6
See reviews for
42
208
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Absolutely flawless experience with impeccable attention to detail. Walking in to the smell of old wood, the beautiful soft carpets, high ceilings, crackling fire and luxurious sofas, we knew we were going to be spoiled.

Our room was absolutely magnificent, expertly lit, perfectly warm, ornate furniture and stunning four poster bed with whiter than white sheets, immaculately pressed.

We enjoyed the most delicious breakfast we have ever had, delicious tea and bread, then porridge and exquisite smoked haddock. We then went around the charming grounds to walk off our full bellies. The frosty lake, apple trees and fields with hay bales, all enchanting in the clear winter morning.

The experience was made even more memorable by the professional yet friendly and extremely helpful staff; all of whom obviously take great pride in offering high end service. Mary, Sam, and Emma all made us feel so at home and acquiesced to every request with enthusiasm. We had tea brought out to us on a freezing day, we had a dvd player brought up to our room, we had extra helpings, ontop of extra helpings, of delicious toast brought to us at breakfast. We have never been treated so royally. Obviously great care is taken to ensure only the very best staff are employed here, all of whom had expert knowledge on all the food and drink on offer.

The 6 course dinner was a once in a life time experience, the cured roe deer a taste a particular delight.

Cannot recommend this place highly enough, the best few days holiday of our lives, and the perfect place to honeymoon.

Thankyou very much to all the staff and owners

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4, and it was simply divine, highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosemary61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Enjoyed a weekend break for our anniversary. Totally relaxing from the moment we arrived until we left. Lovely if slightly quirky room, staff were great, and the food was outstanding. The gardens and grounds provided a beautiful backdrop. Will definitely be back. They also have some interesting art works on display and managed to pick up a very nice painting as an anniversary present for my wife.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different but all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wyfew0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagworthingham
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Don't really know where to start. We have stayed in some excellent places and this is up with the best of them. Room,staff,house,gardens and the food!!!! Sometimes things just come together and it's right. This home has been rebuilt by the present owners from the ground up, with every attention to detail, with love and it shows. The house is not just part of their history, but yours as well. Go and enjoy it with them. Our dog loved it too. Thanks to Wendy, Don and Sam, all the staff and the girl on work experience!......sign her up!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoisFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

On arrival at Boath House we were warmly welcomed into what has been transformed into a truly lovely house allowing you to totally relax. Boath House is an ideal couples destination with roaring fires and candles lit throughout the public rooms and into the dining room, all creating a very lovely atmosphere.

Room 8, in the Orangerie, was stunning with one of the best bathrooms we've seen, complete with a huge assortment of Molton Brown toiletries and fantastic big fluffy towels. The bed was extremely comfortable with high end bedding and pillows resulting in a brilliant sleep. Delighted to find fresh milk in a flask for our tea & coffee but felt they were a tad mean only giving us one packet of (2) small biscuits.

The Dining Room offers Fine Dining, which was presented by very friendly staff. Only a couple of gripes here - it's a small dining room and all tables, except ours, were offered soda bread .... profuse apologises when we asked for some, and then after dinner when our coffee arrived there were no Petit Fours, which the couple opposite were enjoying with their coffee...we didn't dare ask as it was the same person who'd forgotten the bread!!

Boath House do ask if you have any requests regarding food and so I emailed to say that we didn't eat what we call "functioning parts of the body" and I don't eat egg so really was very disappointed when I read the breakfast menu which had egg on every suggestion. As I'm not keen on fish at breakfast I asked if it was possible to have sausage and bacon but was told there were no sausages and was offered black pudding...made from the above, I declined, and hoped Chef would surprise me with something other than what I got - several pieces of bacon formed into a pyramid in the centre of a plate.

While the bacon was excellent I do feel that when you're paying £450 for DBB that if guests make a request for something other than what's listed (especially when they've been told weeks in advance, at time of booking) they should be able to get it rather than what Chef thinks they should be eating. I love a traditional breakfast and do feel let down by what I had at Boath House. Surely if they didn't have any sausages there could have been more effort put into what I was served - such as a latke/rosti or even a round of toast under the bacon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishEyesSmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Couldn't fault this place. Although more expensive than other accommodation in the area, I thought it was worth it. The attentiveness of staff and owners was brilliant, the food was delicious, the rooms were lovely and the spa treatments a treat! Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cmacleod2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We were here in 2009. it was wonderful then - I was pregnant and Charlie and his team worked the menu round my particular requirements brilliantly.

This time we returned for my 40th birthday. We stayed in room 3 - Lake view, massive room, massive bathroom with matching slipperette baths looking out to the view. GORGEOUS!

The staff were lovely - particularly Sam, the food & wine excellent. Even the breakfast is michelin star. An amazing relaxing rest and such a lovely birthday treat.

Walked through the grounds with swans and ducks, found conkers for our wee boy, lovely old trees, beautiful lake. Back inside with the roaring fire, then an indulgent luxury bath with Molton Brown products and a glass of bubbly. Canapés and aperitifs in the lounge followed by the most exquisite meal. No silly long winded descriptions, just three words per course so still kept an air of mystery! Dinner is the (deserved) main event so dont expect to do anything else other than this.

We will definitely return again and highly, highly recommend it to our friends (in fact we found it upon a friends recommendation)

Room Tip: Look at the pics! Phone/email the hotel - very helpful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islay999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
2.8 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
306 reviews
2.8 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
856 reviews
13.6 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
325 reviews
19.5 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#5 of 34 in Inverness
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boath House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boath House Hotel

Property: Boath House Hotel
Address: On A96 | Auldearn, Nairn IV12 5TE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nairn
#4 Family Hotel in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Boath House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run and famous for style, quality and fine cuisine. We are on situated on the north east coast of Scotland and the Grade A listed Georgian Mansion has been restored lovingly back to it's original splendour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Boath House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boath Hotel Nairn
Boath House Hotel Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing