We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A homely luxurious gourmet retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Boath House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boath House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A homely luxurious gourmet retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

My wife and I have been going to Boath House for short breaks for several years now and we have never been disappointed. The owners are friendly and informal and make visitors feel like house guests, friends even. The atmosphere is one of relaxed luxury. The rooms are all beautiful and comfortable. The house manager is friendly and professional. His staff are efficient and unpretentious. The food is wonderful, well worthy of the Michelin star, maybe of two? We have stayed in top-rated hotels throughout UK and Europe and, for relaxation and cuisine, this is our favourite. We will return!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spiderman87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    44
    14
    11
    6
See reviews for
41
205
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

A mid-week break at Boath House is quite the experience. With a delightful country house feel, ample grounds (although they will be much nicer in the Summer) and a restaurant of the highest standards. My wife and I were staying along with only one other guest (first night only) so there was the chance it could have felt you were being watched by the staff but they kept a nice distance, while at the same time being close at hand for any requests. We stayed in Room 3 which is the largest hotel room I've ever been in. I felt like a kid being able to run around this massive room. This was all before I'd even seen the bathroom. With a walk in shower, twin baths looking out to the lake, chaise longue, dressing table and twin sinks - now this is a bathroom to behold.
Both evenings we ate in the restaurant, experiencing six-courses of first class cooking. We were looked after by Sam and Jonny and the friendly and informative approach they have to service is wonderful. Both were well versed in the methods that the chef had used to prepare the food and any question that they didn't know the answer to was found out immediately.
Breakfast the following morning - although still full to bursting from the previous nights indulgence - was a class of its own. Porridge along with West coast smoked salmon and scrambled eggs were divine.
While it comes at a cost if you can afford or justify the luxury this is a place well worth visiting.

Room Tip: Room 3 - A delightfully spacious room the size of which I've never experienced before. However...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelgfindlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

We've been visiting the Boathe House for quite a few years now and have, without fail, always had a terrific time. This year, however, was rather special. To celebrate my 65th birthday, my wife arranged a surprise, "Downton Abbey" style weekend party for me and took over the Boathe House, an inspired move that proved to be perfect in every respect. Of course the dining is the finest and the accommodations perfect, truly excellent, but the key for us is the staff. Owners, Don and Wendy Matheson, have surrounded themselves with people of the highest calibre and the team, led by Jonny, never fail to provide top class service.

Room Tip: If you enjoy a bath with a view, then room 3 is for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Took my 6mth old baby son and his Godmother as a special birthday treat. We had a lovely afternoon tea, were well attended to and made to feel very welcome, especially baby! We enjoyed sandwiches, scones with cream + jam, gateaux and lots of tea! Beautiful surroundings and a cosy fire made for a special afternoon.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank lk60a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Nevada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We booked months in advance [rooms 3 and 4] and looked forward to our 4-night visit -- we were not disappointed! In fact, we did not want to leave. The hotel, accommodations, staff, grounds, chef/menus/ingredients, and atmosphere could not have been more pleasing. The Boath house is among the world's fine places to stay and to eat, and it has qualities that some more conventional luxury hotels/resorts do not have -- uniqueness and authenticity. [And its relatively small size lends itself to personalized attention by the staff -- many thanks to Mr. Ross et al.!]

We need to return, perhaps during the winter season [although late October - early November this year was refreshing and lovely] -- our only concern is choosing which rooms to book next time!

S. Sawyer/B. Williams, Genoa Nevada USA

Room Tip: Just check the hotel's website -- rooms are all different, and each has special things to like a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Initially slightly concerned as we were by ourselves but we had a wonderful dinner and felt we were extremely well looked after. The young lady who waited at our table was lovely. The food was excellent and totally worthy of its Michelin Star.
Our room was delightful. Only slight problem was noise from nearby main road but you cant do anything about that. Breakfast was excellent with wonderful porridge and fabulous bacon. Do try the unusual juice option served at breakfast. Lovely hotel.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TS333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

My partner booked us in here for my birthday last month and loved it.

The rooms are very elegant and possibly the most comfortable bed ive ever slept in!

Dinner was amazing, it was my first experience of a michelin starred restaurant and could not fault it at all. All of the 6 courses were stunning and varied.

Hopefully return again soon

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DelBoy3344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
3.0 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
13.6 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Cluny Bank Hotel
The Cluny Bank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Forres
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boath House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boath House Hotel

Property: Boath House Hotel
Address: On A96 | Auldearn, Nairn IV12 5TE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nairn
#4 Family Hotel in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Boath House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run and famous for style, quality and fine cuisine. We are on situated on the north east coast of Scotland and the Grade A listed Georgian Mansion has been restored lovingly back to it's original splendour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Boath House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boath Hotel Nairn
Boath House Hotel Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing