We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely afternoon treat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boath House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boath House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely afternoon treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Took my 6mth old baby son and his Godmother as a special birthday treat. We had a lovely afternoon tea, were well attended to and made to feel very welcome, especially baby! We enjoyed sandwiches, scones with cream + jam, gateaux and lots of tea! Beautiful surroundings and a cosy fire made for a special afternoon.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank lk60a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    44
    14
    11
    6
See reviews for
41
201
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Genoa, Nevada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We booked months in advance [rooms 3 and 4] and looked forward to our 4-night visit -- we were not disappointed! In fact, we did not want to leave. The hotel, accommodations, staff, grounds, chef/menus/ingredients, and atmosphere could not have been more pleasing. The Boath house is among the world's fine places to stay and to eat, and it has qualities that some more conventional luxury hotels/resorts do not have -- uniqueness and authenticity. [And its relatively small size lends itself to personalized attention by the staff -- many thanks to Mr. Ross et al.!]

We need to return, perhaps during the winter season [although late October - early November this year was refreshing and lovely] -- our only concern is choosing which rooms to book next time!

S. Sawyer/B. Williams, Genoa Nevada USA

Room Tip: Just check the hotel's website -- rooms are all different, and each has special things to like a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Initially slightly concerned as we were by ourselves but we had a wonderful dinner and felt we were extremely well looked after. The young lady who waited at our table was lovely. The food was excellent and totally worthy of its Michelin Star.
Our room was delightful. Only slight problem was noise from nearby main road but you cant do anything about that. Breakfast was excellent with wonderful porridge and fabulous bacon. Do try the unusual juice option served at breakfast. Lovely hotel.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TS333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

My partner booked us in here for my birthday last month and loved it.

The rooms are very elegant and possibly the most comfortable bed ive ever slept in!

Dinner was amazing, it was my first experience of a michelin starred restaurant and could not fault it at all. All of the 6 courses were stunning and varied.

Hopefully return again soon

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DelBoy3344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is an amazing hotel. Very luxurious and upmarket. They have a small number of rooms available which provides intimacy. Guests are treated like royalty. We stayed for 2 nights for my 40th birthday and on the first night we were the only guests staying so we had all the staff to ourselves. We felt like lord and lady of the manor with butler service and our very own michelin staf chef. What more can you ask for. Twin free-standing baths looking out over the gardens made it complete! The food is fine dining at its best. Someone who appreciates world class food with a very discerning palate need not look further. Organic, local and mostly freshly picked from the hotels own garden this hotel has it all. Not forgetting the intimate spa facilities which I spent hours is where you are attended to by local beauty therapists who are called in on request. Beautiful location, beautiful period building sympathetically restored with gorgeous furnishings and decor. Staff are friendly and very professional.

Room Tip: The room that we stayed in was Room 3, which was previously the original Master Bedroom for the owne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenWhib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is an outstanding small hotel which fully deserves its Michelin Star and the plaudits it gets. It's probably the most comfortable place I've ever stayed in terms of the beds, bath etc - and the food is out of this world. We stayed two nights, and enjoyed two of the best meals we have ever eaten. Each of them consisted of six (appropriately-sized!) courses, with any number of inventive ingredients and combinations. I've rarely encountered such culinary creativity in the UK. Sure, not every single element was completely perfect - but that's the consequence of pushing the boundaries. They get all of the basics right, and then add any number of surprising extras. I can't praise the food highly enough - and the staff have just the right amount of friendliness without being "in your face". It's not cheap - but in this instance, you very definitely do get what you pay for.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulMartinMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
227 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Booked a night here as a treat and a treat it most definitely was. The beautiful house is exquisitely decorated with some wonderful artwork on show.
We stayed in Meickle Cottage which sits on its own just adjacent to the hotel. It's one of the rooms where you can take dogs but that doesn't mean it's substandard, quite the opposite. The room was beautifully prepared, with a table lamp on and the place was lovely and cosy. Again, it's a lovely place where every piece of furniture and fitting is just perfect. It also boasts a spacious bathroom and adjacent shower/wet room. It also has disabled access.
It has a nice, private seating area outside among the trees and also French doors at the rear of the property which were perfect for the dogs to nip out of.
But now to the most important thing which was the food....absolute perfection on a plate! All guests are seated around 7.30pm and there is one tasting menu on offer although the staff do consult with everyone to make sure it suits everyone. My highlight, I think, was the oyster with champagne granita but it was all delicious as was the breakfast the next day.
We will definitely be back,

Room Tip: We recommend Meickle cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foxxylizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScotlandIndia, Manager at Boath House Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Guests,

The cottage is popular amongst guests staying with pets and those who are staying for multiple nights, as it offers an added degree of privacy with parking directly outside its door. I remember that we were fully booked on the night of your stay and that you enjoyed your table in the private dining room. The champagne granita and cucumber pickle on the oyster is always well received by those who choose to eat it. As you have mentioned, Charlie is always happy to provide an alternative dish to the less adventurous. I forgot to mention at breakfast that Charlie told me he did use your cheese while it was in production. We look forward to welcoming you back at some point in time.

Best regards,


Jonny Ross.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
3.3 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
13.6 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
2.8 mi away
Newton Hotel
Newton Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Cluny Bank Hotel
The Cluny Bank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Forres
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
19.4 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boath House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boath House Hotel

Property: Boath House Hotel
Address: On A96 | Auldearn, Nairn IV12 5TE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nairn
#4 Family Hotel in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Boath House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run and famous for style, quality and fine cuisine. We are on situated on the north east coast of Scotland and the Grade A listed Georgian Mansion has been restored lovingly back to it's original splendour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Boath House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boath Hotel Nairn
Boath House Hotel Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing