We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Boath House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Boath House
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is the place to stay if you are in this area of Scotland, near Inverness. We stayed in Room 3, likely their best room, with a large bedroom and sitting area, a bathroom the size of most Studio apartments in Manhattan, with two, yes two, large bath tubs, side by Side, looking out onto the beautiful landscaped grounds. The bathroom amenities were Molten Brown, with many choices. The restaurant, a Michelin star gem, served meals that were great. Don't miss this place.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
Thank MichaelReiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScotlandIndia, Manager at Boath House, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. You may not be aware that the conference you attended here at Boath House was the first of its kind. We were delighted with the feedback we have received from the delegates following their departure. Thanks for the business and for the opportunity to show a group of international executives some real Scottish hospitality. I do recall that you had certain dietary restrictions and eat around a few ingredients. It is worth noting that our Chef can offer alternative dishes or at least take those restrictions into consideration if he is given prior notice.

Best regards,


Jonny Ross.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 337 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

Proprietors Wendy and Don and their son could charm the toughest skeptics. One of the warmest welcomes you can receive comes from this lovingly and charmingly maintained country manor with beautiful grounds. It is grand enough to be lovely and small enough that the owners can pay attention to every detail - Don makes the jams himself and both he and Wendy spent time joking with our kids (who loved this place). The rooms are very clean and neat and the plumbing has been modernized but all of the old charm and decorative touches of what one would want in an old Scottish Manor have been retained brilliantly so that the sense of place rings true. This sharply contrasts, for instance, Culloden House, which was dilapidated and lacked any sense of attention to detail in decor or comfort despite being pricier than Boath House.

I suppose you could stay at Boath house without eating breakfast but that would be insane. It is so gratifying when Michelin starred hotels perform but especially when they perform at both dinner and breakfast. Contrast Prestonfield in Edinburgh which did a fine job at dinner (though it isn't nearly as good as Boath house) but fell somewhat short at breakfast. We had two breakfasts for four in each of these starred establishments. Boath house had fresh squeezed juices, a smoothie with a special vanilla infused foam on top (but it really wasn't fussy) and a lovely veggie juice (I loved the beet and cucumber, for instance). Breads are made on premise each morning with special flours and served warm so that the butter melts on contact. And the jam, oh the jam! Duck egg was perfectly poached and accompanied by chanterelles one day and other wild mushrooms another. The best porridge ever and a bowl of fresh berries which were served with a garnish of fresh herbs and a hint of elderflower cordial (do I sound like dr niles crane describing this? You might too...that's how great this place was).
Special dietary restrictions, not a problem. Can't finish your meal? They tactfully notice and express concern. In my case, I couldn't finish because, while the portion sizes were spot on, I was worried that they'd just keep feeding me!
The lovely dog in residence, pip, was a hit with our kids and doesn't seem to bark. Ditto, on both counts for the swans in their pond.
One other sure sign of how happy and comfortable they made the guest...pretty much the whole dining room began chatting with one another at the end of the meal. As a result, my kids got to see a demo of the vintage classic car being driven by some delightful guests from Switzerland. Wendy and don and their very professional staff really had created so warm an atmosphere of contentment for their guests.
Can't wait to go back and surely our favorite of the 4 hotels we've hit in Scotland. Thank you so much Wendy and Don, we feel as though we made new friends.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank EdGrapeZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I had the good fortune to spend a night at Boath House with my other half. The hotel is set back from the main road, along a lovely long driveway which leads to the stunning house. Jonny and his team gave us a fantastic welcome, and offered to park the car for us which was a nice touch. Our room was huge, most of the furniture was antique and our four poster bed was amazingly comfortable and ornate. I particularly enjoyed the vast range of Molton Brown goodies in the bathroom!

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner, which was without a doubt one of the best meals we have ever had. Breakfast was equally gratefully received.

The only regret that I had about our stay was that it was too short. I suppose that means we will need to book another stay soon!

Thank you Boath House for a wonderful trip, keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westhill1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScotlandIndia, Manager at Boath House, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your review and compliments. High praise indeed next to the other properties you have reviewed! You might be interested to know that our winter offers, which include two and three night breaks, are available from October 8th. See you soon...

Best,


Jonny Ross.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This was a perfect few days in the Highlands Arriving at Boath House is like being welcomed at a friend's country house. No officious paperwork just a warm greeting and everything is taken up to your room. Each room is different but most have vistas of the beautiful grounds. The service is first rate , the staff friendly and responsive, and the food sublime. The degustation menu is fantastic but we indulged only once. Breakfast was a delight - porridge as it should be.

Room Tip: Check out each room on the website, there are only eight of them and you can see the view and the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Atida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScotlandIndia, Manager at Boath House, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Guests,

Many thanks for your kind review. We pride ourselves for our service, and the manner in which we offer it. Following the rapid change of season we have experienced, the menus here at Boath are also changing. Juniper smoked grouse with lentils and cashew nuts is a fine example of dishes which our diners are currently enjoying. Receiving this reply almost three months to the day after posting your review is a clear indication that we have had an amazing season here at Boath. Thanks for being part of it.

Best regards,


Jonny Ross.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

This is somewhere to indulge! The grounds are stunning as are the rooms and lounges. The staff are brilliant - service was friendly, down to earth with the perfect level of attentiveness.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mexsus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScotlandIndia, Manager at Boath House, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to post a review. Keep up the good work!

Best regards,


Jonny Ross.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We loved our stay here and wished it had been longer than two nights. Everything was top-notch, from the accommodations, to the beauty of the grounds, to the staff (Johnny is wonderful!), to the amazingly delicious food prepared by Michelin-starred Chef Charlie Lockley. The location was perfect for our exploration of the Culloden battle field exhibit, Cawdor Castle, and Fort George. After every trip, we sort out the "bests" and Boath House won the top honors for accommodations, staff, and best dinners during our three-week visit to Scotland.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GYac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScotlandIndia, Manager at Boath House, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your review. How much do I owe you?

Best regards,


Jonny Ross.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on the first day of our honeymoon and stayed in room 8. This very spacious room has a bathtub in the middle of the room, wetroom with rainwater shower and conservatory (orangerie). The service from start to finish was excellent. The seven course dinner was exceptional, as was the breakfast which was served in the private orangerie. It was pricey but a nice treat for a celebration.

Room Tip: Rooms 7 & 8 are of a newer style and I'd recommend one of those over the other old-fashioned...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank szjohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScotlandIndia, Manager at Boath House, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Guests,

Thanks for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the decor of the room and took full advantage of the availability of room service in your private glazed lounge area. We hope that you are enjoying married life. Please keep us in mind for future celebrations. We are developing some of the rooms on the upper floor of the hotel, which might tempt you upstairs should you choose to stay with us again.

Best regards,


Jonny Ross.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
2.8 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#2 of 9 in Nairn
938 reviews
13.6 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
620 reviews
3 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
386 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#6 of 9 in Nairn
346 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Cluny Bank Hotel
The Cluny Bank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Forres
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boath House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boath House

Address: On A96 | Auldearn, Nairn IV12 5TE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Price Range: $395 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Boath House 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run and famous for style, quality, gardens and fine cuisine. We are situated on the north east coast of Scotland on the Moray Firth Coast and the Grade A listed Georgian Mansion has been restored lovingly back to it's original splendour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Boath House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boath Hotel Nairn
Boath House Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing