We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and convenient” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waverley Hotel

Waverley Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Waverley Hotel
Ranked #35 of 38 Nairn B&B and Inns
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable and convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Good central location handy for pubs and restaurants on foot. Room clean and comfortable (recent redecoration). Breakfast excellent. Staff friendly and helpful. Being in the town centre, parking close at hand could be awkward. Hotel is on first and higher floors which may be difficult for some.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    28
    8
    7
    8
See reviews for
9
27
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Had a great stay here. Cannot complain really for 28 pounds a night. Place is spotless. Breakfasts are amazing. Portion sizes are superb, if you leave the breakfast table still feeling hungry there's something far wrong. Really nice owner. Negatives are, it's really dated inside and alot of stairs if your elderly but all in all really good.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DjChrisT85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Clean, great value, but definitely a little dated. We were given a warm greeting once we had found our way to the reception (there is not much in the way of signage to help you find your way). Great news too- Nairn has no parking attendant at the moment, so we were able to park right outside. Ensuite room was clean and had everything you'd expect from the website description, if not more. Bed was very soft and comfy, and although it can't be helped, the local seagulls felt it necessary to serenade us rather noisily through the night. Breakfast was thorough and filling. I had a work appointment later that day and needed to have my shirt ironed, which was duly undertaken by our gracious host. If you need somewhere central to stay on a budget, I doubt you'd find better.

Room Tip: Room 8 was geat
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeksEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

The hotel is above shops in the centre of the town with on-street parking outside - you need to move your car by 9 o'clock as restriction start at 8 o'clock. Entry is by a flight of stairs. The décor is perhaps slightly dated but everything was clean and bedding, towels and rooms were spotless. The owner is a character and very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast is cooked to order and excellent. Will definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterhead
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Did not have any thing to moan about had to wait for breakfast but it was worth waiting for all cooked to order and was piping hot will stay again for sure Hotel owner was very nice and was most helpful Bed was very clean as was the room nicely furnished linen and towels spotless

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Basic facilities but very clean, bedding spotless, towels clean and white. Really good and plentiful breakfast. Very centrally located and parking not a problem. Great value. Owner a character and very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peggieEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairn hotels
0.3 mi away
Braeval Hotel
Braeval Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
1.0 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Carnach House
Carnach House
#17 of 38 in Nairn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nairn Classics B & B
Nairn Classics B & B
#13 of 38 in Nairn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Havelock
The Havelock
#16 of 38 in Nairn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waverley Hotel

Property: Waverley Hotel
Address: 4 High Street, Nairn IV12 4BJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waverley Hotel Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing