We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal Service Matters”
Review of Waverley Hotel

Waverley Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waverley Hotel
Ranked #34 of 37 Nairn B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Personal Service Matters”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I don't normally have any difficulty reviewing hotels, but the Waverley was a problem. I'd be happy to stay there again, but it may not be everyone's choice.
We arrived a few hours early due to re-scheduling of our flight to Inverness. Despite that, Denise sorted out our rooms with no delay.
One of our party was aged 91, and it was a bit of a surprise to find that, apart from the street access, reception and all of the rest of the hotel was one or two levels above ground floor. But this may have been my fault if I didn't check the web description. Can't remember, so I'll take the blame!!
Fortunately my mum is extremely fit for her age, and the twice-a-day ascent of Mt Everest was not too much of a problem.
The hotel has been very recently re-decorated, and the public rooms and the bedrooms are
very bright and clean.
There's no range of toiletries in the room, but we found plenty of hot water, and the room temperature was fine, even though the weather outside was cold.
Breakfast was excellent, as much as we wanted, and plenty of choice.
The overall view from our party was that the service and friendliness from the owner (Denise)
was excellent, and (apart from my mum, who wouldn't want to do the mountaineering again)we'd stay there again if we were in the area.
Location is ideal, in the town centre, and there's a pleasant walk down to the harbour along the side of the river.
Have seen other reviews moaning about cold rooms....there's no central heating but the heaters provided warmed our rooms quickly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KRNOTTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    28
    8
    7
    8
See reviews for
9
27
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2013

On arrival,the owner did'nt ask our name or told us her name.So we could have been anyone.Our room on arrival was frozen,with one heater.I asked the owner for an extra heater just to take the chill out of the room.The answere i got was no,we don't have any more,in quite an abbrutt maner.We went out for a wee bit.Came back to frozen water.Again i said to the owner,when she came to check our room,she had a face like thunder.She left our room,muttering under her breath.If the owner of this place was to drag herself out off the sixties,this wee place would have been more of a plessure.Over all i would'nt stay here again due to the owner and her attitude.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ird1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairn hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
fife
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

as i have been up and down the country in many b&bs, this one has to be the worst i have ever experienced, 1st off all i was welcomed with is your feet clean!, 2nd the room was freezing rooms have no central heating, 3rd after being out in the cold all day i needed a hot shower, the water was freezing, 4th going down for meal, the lounge was also freezing had to go back upto the room for my jersey and coat, 5th went upto the room for the night couldnt sleep for the cold,had to wear my jersey and socks in bed,got a heater next day sneaked it in and got evicted next day for trying to keep myself warm, she said she knew i had a heater because the plug on the tv was out the socket on the wall and that she felt a bit of warmth in the room when she let herself inside, if i wasnt stuck for a place to stay that week id have turned around and looked elswhere for accomodation, in my oppinion this place isnt in this century very old worn down and very cold, hope i dont see this place again, you have been warned,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jon e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We were looking for a hotel after refusing to stay at a hotel we had booked a month in advance.We saw it as we drove past and pulled in and asked if they had a room for one night. The owner very friendly, showed us to a lovely big ensuite room at the front of the house on the first floor. We thought it was great especially after seeing what the other Hotel had offered us. The room was clean the bed comfy and the ensuite spotless. I asked the owner if she could recomend any restaurants she produced a map and pointed out some restaurants and marked on the map where they were. We chose the Classroom as it was the owners favourite. Lovely stay the large house has loads of character and original features with a big garden and ample parking area. I have read some of the reviews after we had stayed there, all I can say is speak as you find and we found it clean,comfatable, easy to park and handy for the airport and very friendly lady. we would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eddiewoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2012

After reading the reviews on here, we were a bit worried about staying at the Waverley, but I have to say it was great. The owner was actually very friendly and helpful (particularly as we were a bit awkward with our arrival and departure times), but she was great about it, sorted an early breakfast and couldn't be more helpful. Some of the decor is a little old-fashioned, but it's a nice place in a good location and at a great price. For the record, our room was en-suite, beds were comfortable and the linen etc was clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jrf31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Whilst trying to find accomodation for the Scottish Open Wed 11-15th July 2012 i enquired about rooms at this hotel. I required 2 rooms a twin room for the Wed to Sat and a single room for the Sat night., I was surprised the hotel was so cheap and did consider it. I then phoned to check if rooms were ensuite and informed they werent and the owner said this would be no good for me which i agreed as i wanted en suite. I then went on to book other suitable accomodation for the duration. I then received a phonecall from my partner whilst up in Nairn. The owner of the hotel left a nasty message on my answer machine demanding where was i as i had rooms booked. I had never booked rooms as the owner well knows, Further more to my fury the owner has phoned me at home again day after Open finished and asking why i didnt turn up and being nasty on phone. I informed her i never booked rooms owing to not being ensuite and informed her she knew of this, she denied this and then went on and hung up on me. I would advise any one to stay clear of this hotel as the owner is a disgusting rude person and i would defintaley advice anyone to stay clear of it. Why the owner phoned me after i had come back from my trip puzzles me. Travelllers beware of making enquires or you will be hounded by her!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank shazashScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I have to say after been shown to our room we then had chance to look at what kind of night we may have and then we started to find the problems listed below.
1.beds and mattresses were split and probably 20 years old
2.The toilet was a shared toilet and you would expect a lock on the door.
3.The heater provided when plugged in seemed to blow a fuse probably due to it been rusty and very old.
4.The beds were the most uncomfortable beds i have ever slept on in my many nights away.
5.The bed sheets on both beds were also ripped and really needed to be in the bin not on the bed.
6.We found that the old windows had a gap in them were you could actually put your hand outside without opening the window.

All summed up i think if this place was modernised and some love and care went into it then it could be a great place to stay, but i would say to anyone who needs somewere to stay unless these improvements are made then dont make the trip here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank andy910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairn hotels
0.1 mi away
The Albert Inn
The Albert Inn
#8 of 9 in Nairn
119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Braeval Hotel
Braeval Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
394 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
855 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunny Brae Hotel
Sunny Brae Hotel
#6 of 9 in Nairn
155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#20 of 37 in Nairn
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waverley Hotel

Property: Waverley Hotel
Address: 4 High Street, Nairn IV12 4BJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waverley Hotel Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing