We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Basil Harbour Cafe

Basil Harbour Cafe
Ranked #4 of 49 Restaurants in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dufftown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Really Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

A simple cafe but with lovely food.

We called in on the off chance while enjoying a walk along the beach and round the harbour.

This is a great little place. We only had a simple lunch of soup and sandwiches but it was good. Lovely home made soup, and hearty sandwiches.

We sat outside overlooking the harbour, as we had a dog. It was a fine day so that was very pleasant.

Service was friendly and efficient.

We will definately go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pauljohnson303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    74
    11
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“'Lovely Cafe'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

While walking my dog with my grandson we stopped for an ice cream and coffee. What a lovely friendly cafe! Staff extremely courteous !

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cosy cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

An excellent little cafe with friendly service. The scones were just baked and were excellent. A lovely haven on a windy autumn day!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MontyWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cold outside, warm and friendly inside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Went for a walk with the family along a very cold Nairn beach and then popped in here on the way back, very glad we did! Excellent friendly service and great food, cooked well and tasting great. Heartily recommended, local artwork on the walls makes for a nice change from the formulaic coffee shops.

Helpful?
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic little place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

The Basil Habour Cafe in Nairn is just superb!the food is amazing!all freshly cooked to order,you can't fault it!our favorite dish was the cullen skink and the kids loved the pasta carbonara,We also went to a tapas evening which was fantastic too!we visited this wonderful place lots of times during the course of our 2 week holiday in August,we had a brilliant holiday in Nairn and Basil Habour Cafe made it all the more special,we are coming back to Nairn for another 2 weeks next August and the first place we will eat at will be the Basil Harbour Cafe!:-))

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tracy010272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basil Harbour Cafe also viewed

Nairn, Scottish Highlands
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
 
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Basil Harbour Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing