We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not to be missed on a visit to Nairn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Basil Harbour Cafe

Basil Harbour Cafe
Ranked #3 of 48 Restaurants in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not to be missed on a visit to Nairn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We decided to visit here on the strength of reviews on Trip Advisor and certainly weren't disappointed. Yes, the cafe is small and we were very lucky in that the people on the large table allowed us to share but this all adds to the atmosphere. We felt we had to have the Cullen skink and it was amazing -- not to be missed and one of the best we have ever had. We also went for crab sandwiches in the brown bloomer and a portion of the famous chips ( between us ) . It really was the most fantastic lunch -- and one we won't forget. Lovely staff, great service, wonderful food -- do go, even if you have to wait for a seat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    73
    11
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Good place to eat.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We visit every time we come to Nairn and recommend this place for families. Great welcome and friendly staff. Visit for lunch.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DarioSin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
94 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“dont bother”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

we went out of our way to try this place having previously tried the classroom. we thought this place must be something special. big mistake. we arrived and the tables were full . although the eightperson table only had a couple on it. we said we would wait. we were repeatedly asked to stand outside. the staff seemed oblivious to the fact it was extremely cold and the children were small. we suggested sharing the table but were told it was the couple on the tables decision. another small group turned up witb a dog and were allowed to sit there. eventually we were forced to leave by the waitress constantly muttering at us. never been made to feel so unwelcome in a cafe before. understandly they are busy but arrogant and ungrateful for custom would be my description. dont bother with this place.

Helpful?
9 Thank Katrina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Proper home made fresh food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We visited this cafe today after reading other reviews, we were not disappointed, pot of tea for one was enough for two, my ciabatta was freshly made and the chips are to die for. Please visit this lovely cafe if you are in the area.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank g4lky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Popped in for a light lunch. Quite small and fortunate to find a table with a large group occupying most of the tables. Delicious Cullen Skink, lovely creamy mushroom ciabatta and puddings great. Coffee very tasty. A busy little cafe with a vibrant feel, not quiet but very nice place to visit with great service. Certainly be going back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Teko465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basil Harbour Cafe also viewed

Nairn, Scottish Highlands
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
 
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Basil Harbour Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing