We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding B&B in the Nairn area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wetherby House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 37 Nairn B&B and Inns
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Outstanding B&B in the Nairn area”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We - my wife and I - spent three days golfing in the area of Nairn and this B&B perfectly matched the fantastic links golfcourses such as Castle Stuart and Nairn. Great location, very nice rooms, excellent breakfast and absolutely great hosts.
I would recommend this B&B to anyone staying in the Nairn/Inverness area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dieter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craig f, Owner at Wetherby House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
thank you, it was great having you guys, and i enjoyed our little chats at breakfast, im glad you enjoyed the real scottish weather, especially the day, you set off, to play The nairn golf club, hope you enjoyed the course, and would love to see you back in nairn again, happy golfing, best wishes craig.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    24
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
93
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2012

stayed 2 nights for a wedding The place was really beautiful clean and very friendly people The breakfast was as good as any 5 star especially the local smoked salmom The location was just fab right on the sea front and very close to the town centre and local restaurants right opposite the beach for some wonderful walks private parking the sunrise in the morning was a must will be back

Room Tip: seaview superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane m b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The Cleanest b and b ever stayed in, excellent hospitality, excellent service, excellent views, excellent local knowledge especially about the dolphins at the black isle which we got to see. Would definately go back, we were made to feel so welcome, we hadn't booked and just turned up. This place is in a little bit of paradise.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayneclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craig f, Owner at Wetherby House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
i am delighted you saw the dolphins, because i know how much it meant to you, im glad you enjoyed youre stay with us, your nice review has restored my faith in people, after us recieving a nasty comment from not a nice person, who wanted 2 receipts for 2 bedrooms, although he only stayed in 1, there are alot of nice people, still out there in the world, the dolphins could teach us humans alot, i hope youre experience stays with you a lifetime, and look forward to meeting you guys again, thank you, craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This was a third choice at short notice and a bit of a dissapointment.
Best point was Cleanliness. Very good.
Plenty of space and a decent view from this front facing room.
Now the rest:
The bedroom was dated as was the very strange dinning arrangements in the Hall of this large House. One Large dinning table [seats up to 8] and one table for 2 in a corner. This room [hall] is really very attractive with original wood features - apart from all the bric-a-brac everywhere that spoiled it for us.
Back to the Bedroom. Despite being very large, had a standard double bed of questionable quality. Matress was ok. The room also had a single bed. You may decide that is preferable than two being cramped in the double.
The attached en-suite was very large but poorly appointed for this price. Carpeted - in this day and age? - but still very clean. The shower was small the towels were of poor quality/size.
Breakfast was decided the evening before and was arranged rather haphazardly. Unless you ask for your egg[s] in some way or other, they come scrambeled. Not unpleasant but not what we wanted. Bacon was very good but no sausage [with the "full" Scottish] which is better than a bad sausage but still.......
We wont be returning. There is a lot better for less money in this general area. Try Trochelhill Country House near Fochabers, no beach but Cheaper and fabulous decor.

Room Tip: Sea view is essential and extreemly expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thesharksfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craig f, Owner at Wetherby House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
I have to agree with you totally, and disagree with the other 45 reviews, i think 3 stars is being way over generous, but thanks for the positive feedback,.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We've just spent three nights in Wetherby whilst staying in Nairn for a wedding. The location is ideal being close to the seafront and our room had a great view over the cricket pitch and the sea. The owners were very welcoming and even tailored the breakfasts to our own tastes. Good value for money too. Would love to return and use as a base for exploring the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMSO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Our family were once annual visitors to Nairn at the Parkdean Caravan Site, however, now we rarely visit despite our appreciation of the beauty of the town, and if so, only for day or overnight trips. This meant moving away from our previous method of booking a static caravan for a week to shopping around for a Bed & Breakfast. The Wetherby was the one we opted for as we headed up for a single night stay. With there being three of us, we booked the 'Deluxe Family Seaview Room' which had a tremendous view of the grassy area where the bandstand is, before the beach and Moray Firth in the background. At £120 for the night, it didn't initially stand out as great value, but in reflection, for the view and the fact that there was three of us in the room, along with a hearty breakfast, it was actually pretty good value.
The welcome was very warming from Craig and his mum, and the room was very clean, the light colour choices made it feel spacious and added to the cleanliness. The bathroom was spacious, though the shower cubicle is quite compact but the shower is powerful and definitely helps wake you up!
The TV was small but all that we needed with being out enjoying the glorious sunshine and only needing to get a daily fix of the Olympics for an hour at night. To be honest we could have done without one so the fact that it was small doesn't matter.
I found the bed a bit uncomfortable, but that's just me being a fussy sleeper and being a lover of my own bed and that's never going to change so it shouldn't be detracted from the overall stay.
Being a big, healthy eater, but luckily still having the ability to be thin (I think it's all the running), breakfast was sort of perfection. As vegetarians we were well catered for and the spread of food was impressive; from the cereals (Special K, Fruit and Fibre, Weetabix etc) and accompanying fruit right through to the cooked breakfast with delicious scrambled eggs, beans, mushrooms, tomato and hash brown. The offer of more toast was too polite to refuse also.
Overall, it was an enjoyable stay and I would recommend the Wetherby as Craig and his mum are knowledgeable about the local area and are warm and chatty, the view from the seafront room is great as is the location, less than five minutes from the town centre and less than two from the beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keeezaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We spent two nights in Wetherby last week. We had a great room with a fantastic view of the sea, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The breakfasts were enlivened by sitting with other guests and hearing their stories. Craig and his mum remain very relaxed and friendly whilst maintaining very high standards.

The Classroom bistro in Nairn is also fabulous and well worth a visit.

A great B+B.

Room Tip: Worth paying a little extra for a fabulous view of the sea.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TeriB886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairn hotels
0.3 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunny Brae Hotel
Sunny Brae Hotel
#5 of 9 in Nairn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Braeval Hotel
Braeval Hotel
#2 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wetherby House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wetherby House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Wetherby House Bed & Breakfast
Address: Wetherby Marine Road, Nairn IV12 4EA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wetherby House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wetherby Hotel Nairn
Wetherby Bed And Breakfast
Wetherby House Bed & Breakfast Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing