We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Find!”
Review of Hay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hay Lodge
Ranked #5 of 37 Nairn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed at Hay Lodge in Nairn for four nights. What an excellent find! We had the large double room with king sized bed and our daughters shared the twin. Our room was light, bright and even had a sofa.

One of the best parts of the stay were the fantastic breakfasts that set you up for the day. You had a very comprehensive choice of either continental (including croissants!) or a full English with cereal and fresh fruit to start! The table was positively heaving with all the lovely selection to chose from. Maureen and her husband were excellent hosts, not hovering over us too much but at the same time ensuring we had sufficient of everything as and when we needed topping up with tea or toast.

There was plenty of hot water too for scorching showers in the large shower and they also kindly lent us umbrellas to cope with the rain. Hair dryer and iron were also on hand when asked.

Location was good for both the High Street, beach or bus station. Would definitely stay here again if we return.

All in all a great stay and made to feel very welcome - which sadly was not the case for some of our other family members who stayed elsewhere in Nairn so choose carefully as not all B&B's are so good but can definitely recommend this one!

Room Tip: The double room was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyKiwi62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARION45, Owner at Hay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We were so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hay Lodge and also what Nairn can offer, i.e. beach, restaurants, shops, sports club, museum. We hope that you will return to Nairn again and we look forward to seeing you all.

Best wishes
Marion & Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 162 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

Marion and Terry made us feel so welcome, we stayed in the self catering and couldn't fault it, it was spotless clean everything you needed,and more.
We arranged for breakfast with marion in the b and b next door, and it was perfect.
Thankyou for having us really enjoyed our stay.will be back and will recommend x

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharon626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARION45, Owner at Hay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I am missing our chats in the morning at breakfast. We look forward to seeing you again.
Best wishes Marion & Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Marion and Terry gave us a great welcome. Lovely bedroom with adjoining bathroom. All spotlessly clean. They told us where we would get a great meal right across the road from Hay Lodge in the local pub Havelock House. Next morning Marion served us a delicious breakfast which set us up for the day. We'd love to return next time we visit Nairn! I would highly recommend Hay Lodge

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARION45, Owner at Hay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you for your positive review. We are glad that you had a comfortable stay at Hay Lodge and welcome you back the next time you visit Nairn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Excellent place to stay. We had a twin room which was very comfortable. Very nice people, excellent breakfast. Exactly what you expect from a good B&B. We chose this place as it is close to the Nairn golf course we played that day. Perfect location, easy to find.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lamber40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARION45, Owner at Hay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad that you had a comfortable stay. If you decide to come and play golf again in Nairn we hope that you will come and stay with us at Hay Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed for 4 days in the self-catering accommodation and it was all that we could wish for. Well equipped and with large rooms, there is plenty of pace in the vast wardrobes for all your stuff and a large bathroom with a great shower. The dining table is a little bit squashed in but it is easy to move one of the 2-seater sofas if you need to. A guaranteed parking space is a boon and you have you own little outdoor area with a table and 2 chairs - if only the weather had been more seasonal ! Very easy access, either into town, to the beach or golf course and main access routes. If there are more than 2 of you, you will be offered a special rate in the B and B - although on just first B terms - so your friends can also eat with you in the self catering apartment. Thoroughly recommended if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderingIslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARION45, Owner at Hay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you for your positive review. We are so glad that you had a comfortable stay in our self catering accommodation and we look forward to you staying again when you are in Nairn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This has to be one of the best B&B's that I've stayed in. The owners are exceptional at making you feel at home. My room was big, comfortable and immaculate-just like the rest of the house. Breakfast was delicious with many choices. The Hay Lodge is close to the beach and convenient to town. I look foward to staying there again!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mil238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARION45, Owner at Hay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We do hope to see you and your family next time you come to Nairn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The owners are really nice and the place is beautiful and clean. Breakfast delicious and great location. I went to meet friends that were already there and had no reservation, but that wasn't a problem, they had a twin room available and game a special rate. I really recomend this place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarianaQC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARION45, Owner at Hay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. We do hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairn hotels
0.6 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#2 of 9 in Nairn
938 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wetherby House Bed & Breakfast
0 mi away
The Havelock
The Havelock
#15 of 37 in Nairn
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tali Ayer
Tali Ayer
#8 of 37 in Nairn
59 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sandown House B&B
Sandown House B&B
#4 of 37 in Nairn
155 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nairn Classics B & B
Nairn Classics B & B
#11 of 37 in Nairn
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hay Lodge

Address: 8 Crescent Road, Nairn IV12 4NB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Nairn
Price Range: $112 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hay Lodge Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing