We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”
Review of Hay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hay Lodge
Ranked #5 of 37 Nairn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed at the Hay Lodge with my sons who were running in the Inverness 10k. Unfortunately only for one night. Very friendly and helpful and the room was large enough for three adults [ Difficult to find ] Superb choice for breakfast although we didn't do it justice. We would definitely stay again and would recommend to anyone visiting the Highlands.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARION45, Owner at Hay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 162 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

Spent just one night at the Hay Lodge before the Scotland Coast to Coast race for which it was a perfect location. While many other B&Bs in Nairn were not interested in our one night booking, Marion and Terry went out of their way to accomodate as many racers as possible. Lovely rooms, very clean and a superb breakfast. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RunningBadger_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARION45, Owner at Hay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We, my girlfriend and I, are from Germany and stayed one night at Hay Lodge. A woman we met recommended it. And now we can also really recommend it. The room was very nice and clean. The breakfast was great and the owners were super friendly. Next time, we will definitely stay there again.

Thank you very much for everything!!!

Cindy and Christian from Germany

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CR_Stuttgart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARION45, Owner at Hay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and enjoying your perfect stay. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Hay Lodge the night before the coast to coast race and it was just superb. Situated 2 mins from both registration and the start line at the beach. The owners could not have been more accommodating, giving us a parking space during the race and getting up at 5.30 to serve breakfast (although I imagine they won't want to do that every weekend!) The rooms were great and we were given a key for the front door. Thanks for a great start!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CambridgeAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARION45, Owner at Hay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Thank you taking the time to write a review. We look forward to seeing you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We, my Girlfriend, her Mother and I spend 6 nights at this lovely place. Nairn is the perfect place, if you wish to explore the eastern Highlands, Loch Ness and the Cairngorn National Park. And for the Whisky-Lovers, the Speyside Area is right around the Corner :-)

We can highly recommend the Haylodge, every time when we came back from a hiking-tour or a castle exploration or something like that we felt like home. Marion is a great Host, the Room we had was very clean, the huge bathroom too. And for me it was fantastic to get every morning a great british breakfast :-)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARION45, Owner at Hay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Thank you for your great review. This Home sweet home is awaiting your return!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Booked this B&B for a couple nights, staying as a family, on the back of it's reviews on tripadvisor. Delighted to say that we weren't disappointed. Very clean, large bedroom, huge bathroom and beautiful pieces of traditional furniture & room features like coving & fireplaces. Loved the little touches, the beautiful teacups & saucers etc. Very friendly and Marion went out of the way on our final morning. Our little boy wanted Coco Pops, there wasn't any and so Marion asked her sister who was down at the shops to get them and surprised him with them. Absolutely lovely! A very kind gesture. Breakfasts were delicious and Marion was very attentive.
Although free WIFI, because the signal was weak, it was difficult to input the long access key.
A minor point to a very enjoyable stay. We plan to come back again next year.

Room Tip: Double room is very large with access to a very big & well equipped shared bathroom. Beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJW1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARION45, Owner at Hay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad that you had a comfortable stay with your family and we look forward to seeing you all again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I have been at Hay Lodge for two nights - separate nights... The first welcome was warm - i enjoyed it to be there. Had a good advice for finding some dinner in the evening and a wonderful breakfast in the morning. Then i left for some days - not knowing if i can come back at the end of the week while returning to this area of Scotland.
I came back - and had a warm and wonderful welcome - as i am a part of the family. It was so great. I did not feel as a stranger... i felt like a very special guest. And thats why i will come back to visit this place - and the lovely people... with the lovely dog... when i will come back to Scotland sometime.
Thanks a lot for hosting me!
Hope to see you soon again
Petra

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARION45, Owner at Hay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and felt that you were part of the family. We enjoyed your company very much and we do hope to see you again in the near future.
Best wishes
Marion,Terry & Glen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairn hotels
0.6 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#2 of 9 in Nairn
938 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wetherby House Bed & Breakfast
0 mi away
The Havelock
The Havelock
#15 of 37 in Nairn
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tali Ayer
Tali Ayer
#8 of 37 in Nairn
59 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sandown House B&B
Sandown House B&B
#4 of 37 in Nairn
155 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nairn Classics B & B
Nairn Classics B & B
#11 of 37 in Nairn
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hay Lodge

Address: 8 Crescent Road, Nairn IV12 4NB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Nairn
Price Range: $112 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hay Lodge Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing