We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENT!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hay Lodge
Ranked #7 of 38 Nairn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nelspruit, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

Excellent clean bog rooms, outstanding hosts and great location. Do recommend 100%. Great stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dangro640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    16
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
38
56
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

We travelled by public transport to Nairn and found this large traditional B&B in the center of the town very easily. We had a room with a view over the Moray Firth. The owner welcomes her guest warmly and goes that little further to help out with information and support when needed. The place is very clean and tidy and looks like new.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thorfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARION45, Owner at Hay Lodge, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Thank you so much for your positive review and experience. I hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gütersloh
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

We only stayed for 1 night. The upper room was very nice and clean, the breafast was just great. We had the choice of a continental breakfast with cheese etc. - what a change!
It was nice and informative to talk to Marion. The recommended restaurant/pub, just 200 m to go, was really good.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GuentherG_tersloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARION45, Owner at Hay Lodge, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Thank you for your positive review. I do hope that we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

The accommodation is of a high quality standard. Breakfast was excellent. The location is very central, convenient for restaurants and the seafront.

Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARION45, Owner at Hay Lodge, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Thank you for your kind review. I am glad that you had a good experience with us and I hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

Easily the nicest room we stayed in while traveling around Scotland, very comfortable and tastefully decorated. The bathroom was shared with one other room, but it was massive !

Very will situated in the centre of Nairn, a short walk from the beach and the town centre.

Breakfast was tasty, and light, which was nice for a change, and our hosts were charming.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank La_Petite_Irlandaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

Marion and Terry, the proprietors, are very friendly and helpful; giving advice and tips about things to do and attractions to visit. They also, make you feel very welcome, and it was more like visiting good friends than staying in a soulless impersonal establishment; having said that, they allowed you privacy and space – showing a skill of reading people.

My room was clean, cosy, a good size, and had plenty of storage space for my personal belongings. The views of the beach and sea were a joy. My only criticism is that as it does not really get dark at night, so some black out curtains or blinds would have been useful.

The lodge is at the heart of all the amenities, with everything within walking distance, beach, pub, restaurants, banks, taxi rank, bus station, supermarket, museum etc. It was also close to the accommodation of friends staying elsewhere and the hotel of the wedding I was attending. Breakfast is made to order, and nothing is too much trouble.

All-in-all very enjoyable, I would stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaureenJac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARION45, Owner at Hay Lodge, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Thank you so much for your review.I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Scotland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

We stayed here in June 2011 having found it via Trip Advisor. This is a real find, a beautiful big house , tasteful decor, a spacious room and huge bathroom. We were made to feel very welcome by the owners and we enjoyed a fabulous breakfast the following morning. I would certainly stay here again and would book this in preference to one of the bigger hotels.

Room Tip: All the rooms look lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeSinge77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARION45, Owner at Hay Lodge, responded to this review, June 26, 2011
Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad that you had a comfortable stay at Hay Lodge. We hope that you will return and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairn hotels
0.5 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
1.0 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Braeval Hotel
Braeval Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunny Brae Hotel
Sunny Brae Hotel
#6 of 9 in Nairn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hay Lodge

Property: Hay Lodge
Address: 8 Crescent Road, Nairn IV12 4NB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Hay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hay Lodge Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing