We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, well worth a visit...”
Review of The Classroom

The Classroom
Ranked #1 of 51 Restaurants in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed April 26, 2013

The classroom is a very warm and welcoming Bistro with a great menu crammed pack full of locally sourced produce.

I had the traditional Cullen Skink which was really flavoursome and packed full of haddock, followed by the sirloin steak which apart from being cooked to perfection was a flavoursome piece on beef loaded onto a big pile of home cooked chips and vegetables. I have a big appetite and it beat me!

I am back in Nairn soon and will be going back...

Thank Danny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MemberWillielean, Manager at The Classroom, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to visit the Classroom and review us. We're delighted you enjoyed your visit while up from Middlesbrough. Sorry that the portion size defeated you but you're not the first, and probably won't be the last.......
We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit up the coast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (992)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

754 - 758 of 992 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

I had the dinner special which was venison, haggis, mashed potatoes with a whiskey gravy. the venison was cooked perfect. And was a nice cut. the haggis was a great side that balanced the meal with the potatoes. The gravy was also well balanced not over powering or taking away from the other flavours.The service was very prompt. All and all a perfect experience and would highly recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cdnpubhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MemberWillielean, Manager at The Classroom, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thanks very much for your kind words and for taking the time to review us. Our chef, in particular, is delighted you enjoyed your meal so much. He was out at dawn hunting the haggis and venison for dinner that evening..........
We hope to welcome you back to the Classroom, the next time you're on a 'flying' visit to Scotland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Me and six friends had a full three-course meal with different dishes, wines, drinks and beers. Two more friends came later, and had a main course each, while the latest friend of our party of ten came too late for an open kitchen. All the guys where very satisfied with the food, drinks and service - a good treat! As we took up most of the space, the atmosphere was perfect. General, desent, Scottish hospitality, as we are getting used to.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Max W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MemberWillielean, Manager at The Classroom, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thanks for visiting the Classroom and taking the time to review us. We remember your group very well. You did indeed create a good atmosphere and the staff had good fun serving you. We're happy you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Scotland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

After a considerable absence of about two years and the previous management, my wife and I had lunch here on Saturday last. The menu is excellent and the place was busy. Busy, but efficient, the food was served promptly and without fuss. I would recommend The Classroom - with a standard far superior than I had experienced under the previous ownership - is strongly recommended with street parking in the vicinity never a problem. Try it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rennie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MemberWillielean, Manager at The Classroom, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Welcome back to the Classroom and thanks for taking the time to review us. We look forward to welcoming you back again....and again.....and again....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The title says it all. We were in the bar with a wedding to start and the appys were great. My wife and I then decided to go to the restaurant for dinner once the party was over and we had a great meal and a lot of fun. We would recommend this restaurant and we would eat there again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chlanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MemberWillielean, Manager at The Classroom, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thanks very much for visiting the Classroom and taking the time to give us such an excellent review. It was a good night all round, our staff had an enjoyable time with your group and the kitchen had fun making the appetisers. We look forward to welcoming you back on your return to Scotland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Classroom also viewed

Nairn, Scottish Highlands
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
 
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to The Classroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing