We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice setting”
Review of The Classroom

The Classroom
Ranked #1 of 49 Restaurants in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“nice setting”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The restaurant is in an old schoolhouse and is spacious and bright. Lots of polished wooden floors and lots of space at tables. Staff were lovely and service good.
The food is ok but doesn't quite live up to the surroundings. I had grilled haddock and boiled potatoes; fish was a bit overdone but ok.
Nice place tho' and really nice staff. Perhaps I had been spoilt by various recent meals in other bistro settings and was expecting something different from the menu. I wish the restau well tho'; nice setting and nice people.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kazz50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MemberWillielean, Manager at The Classroom, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thanks for visiting the Classroom and taking the time to review us. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    575
    278
    65
    19
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not as good as last time, I'm afraid”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The place has a nice bright atmosphere and a superficially interesting menu. We had pasta with a creamy sauce plus added chicken and a southern fried chicken. Our child had pasta and tomato sauce.

The food was ok but the garlic in the creamy pasta sauce was extremely strong (from a tube I'm guessing?) and the fried chicken ok but a little dry. My wife was still tasting garlic the next day.

It was all just a little stayed and the food not the best.

Service was ok, generally young staff trying, but not too hard.

I would probably return but not unless I had to.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fishyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MemberWillielean, Manager at The Classroom, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thanks for visiting the Classroom and taking the time to review your recent lunch. We confit fresh garlic with olive oil and butter in a low heat for a few hours, then peel and mash with some of the oil. I'm sorry you felt it was too strong but most of our regulars like it this way, according to the feedback we get. At no point is it from a tube.
We're delighted your child's pasta was ok.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not too bad”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Staff were a bit snooty - food okay but not as good as we would expect for the money. Not much variety on the menu and the staff didn't know much about the provenance of the food which was a bit of a shame. Overall fine though and we would recommend to others.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dellboy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MemberWillielean, Manager at The Classroom, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thanks for visiting the Classroom and taking the time to review us. Our dinner menu of approximately 8 each of starters, mains and sweets plus daily specials is produced fresh on the premises, along with a lunch menu of approximately 15 choices plus specials. These change regularly, usually about every 6 weeks, and use predominantly locally sourced produce. Our waiting staff are very well drilled about the dishes on our menus, so I'm at a loss to explain what happened during your visit. However, I do apologise and have stepped up the 'on the job' training for our newer members of staff. Hopefully you will see an improvement on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Yet another disappointment”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We went to the Classroom, for our anniversary, after reading good reviews and were very pleased at the ambiance we found on entering. Our waitress lead us to a table beside a family with two small children. On realising where she planned to seat us we objected and asked for a table as far from them as possible and were, to once and with no demur, relocated.
We are disappointed by the menu but found things we thought we would like and ordered the food and wine. The white wine came in a dirty glass and was so cold it was tasteless; although when it warmed up it was little better. Again the waitress (a different one) acted with professionalism and changed the glass without comment, other than apology.

My husband had carrot and coriander soup and I the mushrooms and three cheeses. The soup was beautifully presented but lacking good, full flavour. The mushrooms were, likewise well presented but the flavours did not work together. They were, however, perfectly cooked.

For mains we had roast beef and a medley of salmon and bream. The fish came with mashed potatoes and a saffron sauce. The salmon was very flavourful, but the whole dish was over salted and oily. The string beans near raw.
The beef was, probably, Silverside and medium rare; which any chef will tell you, equals tough as old boots. The gravy tasted like a packet mix and the veggies were, again near raw and quite unpleasant.

Having by now racked up a bill of over 50 pounds we were not about to add pudding as we had no faith it would be any better.
Was the meal bad? No, but it certainly wasn't good and very disappointing.

The Classroom's best assets are its ambiance and its waitresses.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Exilelass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MemberWillielean, Manager at The Classroom, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thanks for visiting the Classroom and taking the time to review us. Our waiting staff remember your visit and assure me you were originally seated away from the two small children. You asked to be moved, discovered the children and went back to where you were. Our 'disappointing menu' is clearly displayed on either side of the main entrance, in a position prominent enough to be easily read before entering the restaurant.
We do tend to slightly under season our soups, thus allowing our customers the opportunity to finish it to their liking. The mushrooms, as stated in an earlier review, are a dish that gets more than it's fair share of positive feedback and is one of our more popular starters on the current menu.
We're sorry you didn't enjoy the fish special that night. We sold quite a few and the feedback was again very good. The string beans were fine beans, we don't have string beans on the menu, and they are generally cooked with a bit of crunch. Our chef tells me that he would always braise silverside as it is not only tough but also very lean. For this reason it should never be used as a roasting joint, and never is in our restaurant. Our beef comes from a small farm not far from us and a lot of our Sunday business is regular customers coming for the beef. Again, we're sorry it didn't meet your expectations but everyone else was fine with it.
Once again, thanks for visiting the Classroom and taking the time to review us.
Our gravy is made from the roasting pan from the beef, red wine and a demi glace which is produced from a fresh beef stock. We use the demi glace as a base for most of our non vegetarian sauces. We use a mix of thickening agents designed to keep the base gluten free. At no point does it come from a packet.
The unfortunate thing here is that although you were checked twice during your meal, and again at the end, at no point were any of these issues mentioned. We really do encourage feedback but getting it at the time allows us to try to rectify any problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“excellent food”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

very busy and advisable to book. Good selection on the menu and the food was excellent. The service was outstanding even though the restaurant was packed

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank roselyn_mcfarlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MemberWillielean, Manager at The Classroom, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thanks for visiting the Classroom and taking the time to give us such a superb review. We're delighted you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Classroom also viewed

Nairn, Scottish Highlands
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
 
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
 
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to The Classroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing