We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fascinating”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cawdor Castle

Cawdor Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$63.86*
and up
Royal Dee-side and Malt Whisky Day Tour from Inverness
Ranked #2 of 18 things to do in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A romantic fairy-tale castle that has been the home of the Thanes of Cawdor since 1370, Cawdor has evolved into a charming family mansion and the most outstanding of stately homes. The dramatic medieval tower, dungeon, turrets, battlements and drawbridge, belie an enchanting interior of fine art, tapestries and furniture which create the warm and welcoming feel of a home rather than a museum. The castle, set in stunning grounds with three beautiful and varied gardens, is surrounded by the magnificent Cawdor Big Wood, one of the finest woodland areas in Europe, threaded with colour coded nature trails to explore.Visitors are invited to enjoy a delicious lunch or tea with home-baking from our mouth-watering menu in the courtyard café, then browse the exciting range of gifts and goodies in our three shops and, time permitting, have fun on the putting green and short 9-hole golf course which provides enjoyment for all standards.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stroller parking
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Absolutely fascinating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

I thought the entry fee was a little high and the discount for seniors somewhat mean but I'm still giving it a 5 star rating because my wife and I found it absolutely fascinating. It containsan eclectic mix of old and new curios and still shows signs of being lived in. The central tower is, of course, what most Scottish castles were like before the 19th C and the connection to Macbeth is in the name only. I find it very difficult to explain the attraction of this castle: go and see for yourself.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    435
    265
    76
    31
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A 'must see'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Wonderful house and gardens that are still lived in by the Dowager Countess of Cawdor. Very homely and welcoming.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank dandess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Don't go in!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

By all means visit, look at the outside of the castle, even go round the gardens, but on no account go in to the building itself.

I had been looking forward to visiting Cawdor for a couple of years, fascinated by it's connection to the Shakespeare play. It was £9.75/ adult to go in to the house, and I can only call that ridiculous fee robbery without violence. The castle is beautiful from the outside, see pic, there are none of the inside since photography is not allowed. If there were and they were posted, surely no one would want to go in. It was frankly hideous. We all tramped, rather quickly, and speeding up as we went, through a series off rooms that looked like antique shop nightmares. These included a modern, but ugly kitchen, (why,) and grim untidy rooms with old and new artifacts strewn about. Each room had a type-sheet explaining what it was supposed to be. We, and most of the other visitors we entered with, cleared the whole building in about 20 minutes, we couldn't get out fast enough. There was obvious puzzlement on the faces of the large number of foreign visitors who either thought that they were going to be going around a stately home, or some museum constructed around the Macbeth myth, neither was the case.

Attraction is a misnomer, even if this could have been visited free I would have felt overcharged, it was to be frank, pointless.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
11 Thank CityVisitor186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Don't go in!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

By all means visit, look at the outside of the castle, even go round the gardens, but on no account go in to the building itself.

I had been looking forward to visiting Cawdor for a couple of years, fascinated by it's connection to the Shakespeare play. It was £9.75/ adult to go in to the house, and I can only call that ridiculous fee robbery without violence. The castle is beautiful from the outside, see pic, there are none of the inside since photography is not allowed. If there were and they were posted, surely no one would want to go in. It was frankly hideous. We all tramped, rather quickly, and speeding up as we went, through a series off rooms that looked like antique shop nightmares. These included a modern, but ugly kitchen, (why,) and grim untidy rooms with old and new artifacts strewn about. Each room had a type-sheet explaining what it was supposed to be. We, and most of the other visitors we entered with, cleared the whole building in about 20 minutes, we couldn't get out fast enough. There was obvious puzzlement on the faces of the large number of foreign visitors who either thought that they were going to be going around a stately home, or some museum constructed around the Macbeth myth, neither was the case.

Attraction is a misnomer, even if this could have be

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CityVisitor186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fresh, interesting, well presented”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

This castle features a setting which you can still imagine as a family home once the visitors depart, yet everything is made attractive for visitors, with a racy commentary in duplicate in every room. The gardens are well kept and tempt one to stay on, and on. After a visit to Cawdor, we didn't want to make further plans for what was left of our day.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnCEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cawdor Castle also viewed

Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness
Ardersier, Inverness
 
Culloden Moor, Scottish Highlands
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Cawdor Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing