We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5th Annual Bandstand Beer Festival”

Bandstand Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 50 Restaurants in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $41
Cuisines: British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Bandstand Restaurant is a charming restaurant overlooking Nairn beach. The glass fronted restaurant has stunning sea views. Dishes are freshly prepared from locally sourced produce. Lunch and dinner are served daily. Sunday Carvery lunch is very popular and booking is advised. Voted CAMRA Highland Pub of the Year 2014 and Highland Food & Drink Awards finalist 2014. The imaginative menu includes a wide choice of vegetarian and gluten free dishes. The Bandstand is famed for its excellent range of real ales (9 hand pumps) and for its whisky list which includes over 140 single malt whiskies.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The Braeval Hotel and Bandstand Restaurant has just finished (sorry everyone, but it's likely to be on again same time next year!) a fabulous Beer Festival. I was there with some people from Singapore and they and I thoroughly enjoyed it. An excellent location with over 100 british ales availble on draught. Good music, and on heading for the restaurant for a great meal, it was brilliant being able to sit theraputically watching 100 miles of coastline as we ate the great food (many special dishes incorporating some of the rarer ales! Thank you ... I'll be back next year!

Thank Hugh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHMHolding, Owner at Bandstand Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are delighted with the success of the festival. It was our most successful ever with over 130 casks of ale sold, great live music and speciality food too. We had visitors from all over the UK and abroad. Next year we are planning to move the festival to later in April - in the hope that we might get some warmer weather! So, watch out for details on our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (662)
There are newer reviews for Bandstand Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

517 - 521 of 662 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Had a lovely meal Easter weekend.
They had a new menu since our last visit and we liked the choice.
The view is great overlooking the Links and the Moray firth.
The restaurant is attractive now since they opened it up.
look forward to going back when we visit Nairn again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Yves7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHMHolding, Owner at Bandstand Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and so pleased you liked the new menu. We have had great feedback on the new dishes on offer. We are planning to enhance the menu further with even more emphasis on local produce, plus more vegetarian and gluten free options as these are being very well received. .Thank you for taking the time to write.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

have dined here many times now,the food is really good and the seaview restaurant has a nice atmosphere,the sunday carvery is a must :)-highly recommended

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank highlander4583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHMHolding, Owner at Bandstand Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you enjoy the Sunday Carvery which is proving very popular (booking recommended as we're becoming very busy!). Don't miss Sunday 7th April with live music 2 - 4pm. It should be a great fun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Just wanted to offer a compliment for the excellent beer festival currently running at the Bandstand Bar. I attended Saturday and was impressed by the array and superb condition of the many real ales on offer. Living in this part of Scotland sometimes feels like a real ale desert so it's great to find a pub that honours and celebrates in such a way.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sweeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHMHolding, Owner at Bandstand Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

We love our annual beer festival and we're glad you do to. Setting it up is a huge amount of work but this year has been better than ever. It concludes on Sunday 7th April with a Barbecue and live music from a great Scottish band - the Scone Fairies. The Sunday Carvery will also be on as normal. We've also enhanced the food offering by matching ales with food, for some delicious and unique dishes. Hope to see you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We are lucky enough to have The Bandstand as a local - daytime or sunset views over the Moray Firth are lovely, atmosphere friendly, good service and plenty of customers; recent alterations have improved restaurant space and food is very good indeed. Recent menu change has brought in some delicious vegetarian options (Veg & Gluten Free choices clearly marked); Friday is steak night (very good value) and there is now a Sunday Carvery (not tried yet). Wide range of real ales in adjoining Braeval Bar - all very much recommended for a good night out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Explore3947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHMHolding, Owner at Bandstand Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

We're so pleased to hear that you enjoy coming to the Bandstand as your local and that you have noticed the improvements to the menu descriptions. We are in the process of making further alterations which should enhance the restaurant facilities even more. We are building an extension which will provide additional toilets for the restaurant so diners do not need to go through to the Lounge Bar to use the facilities (this will also include a second disabled toilet). We hope to have this opened in May.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bandstand Restaurant also viewed

Nairn, Scottish Highlands
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
 
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Bandstand Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing