We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food despite confusion”

Bandstand Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 48 Restaurants in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $38
Cuisines: Bar, European, British, Soups, Scottish, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Bandstand Restaurant is a charming restaurant overlooking Nairn beach. The glass fronted restaurant has stunning sea views. Dishes are freshly prepared from locally sourced produce. Lunch and dinner are served daily. Sunday Carvery lunch is very popular and booking is advised. Voted CAMRA Highland Pub of the Year 2014 and Highland Food & Drink Awards finalist 2014. The imaginative menu includes a wide choice of vegetarian and gluten free dishes. The Bandstand is famed for its excellent range of real ales (9 hand pumps) and for its whisky list which includes over 140 single malt whiskies.
Edwardsville, IL
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food despite confusion”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Despite confusion about if we belonged in the bar side of the restaurant, or the "food" side of the restaurant, once we were seated the second time, the food was good. I don't understand why it was such a big deal about where we sat, since the menu was the same in both places. Our first waitress had to go check to see if the specific items we wanted could be served on the bar side or not. This certainly makes you wonder if you should even stay since they made us move even though our order had been given to the kitchen. It made for an unsettling evening instead of an enjoyable one.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelinglefty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHMHolding, Owner at Bandstand Restaurant, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
I'm very sorry this appeared confusing and spoiled your experience. We try to make it clear to customers that we serve only the a la carte dinner menu in the evening in the Bandstand Sea View Restaurant. If customers want a bar meal, these are served in the Public Bar of the Hotel. The restaurant and the lounge bar are accessed by separate entrance doors, clearly sign posted "restaurant" or"bar". Outside each entrance, there are menu boards which explain that bar meals are served in the bar and a la carte dinner menu served in the restaurant during the evening. This is also stated on the menus and on our website. The menus are not the same. When customers book, we always explain this. So, I can only assume that you did not book and that it was only after you were seated in the restaurant that staff realised that you only wanted a bar meal. I hope this does not deter you from visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    202
    60
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bandstand restaurant for seafood and view”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Great views from the conservatory with large windowed dining room Food above average and chilli prawns exceptional. Locals seemed to be consuming bowlfuls of green lipped mussells so wish I had tried those! Friendly informal service. Recommended

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ndwarwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Food & Drinks in Nairn”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is a happening place in Nairn. The restaurant serves up great meals - we had the salmon & the meat pie - both were delicious. The bar next door is very busy - a bit loud but looks like fun!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHMHolding, Owner at Bandstand Restaurant, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to the Restaurant. It's true the Bandstand Bar is busy, particularly at weekends. It is one of the most popular bars in Nairn which makes it a great place for visitors to meet the friendly Nairn people. In 2009 and 2012, we won CAMRA Highland Pub of the Year and have just won Highland Cider Pub of the Year 2012. From 2009 to 2012, we won Pub of the Year for Inverness south area. Although, you don't need to visit the Bandstand Bar when you come to the Bandstand Restaurant, I would definately recommend it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent waiter, lovely food”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

This is a great place for lunch - lovely fresh local food and plenty of it. Very impressive selection of malt whiskies, very reasonably priced. Very pleasant helpful waiter.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank morrices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHMHolding, Owner at Bandstand Restaurant, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
I'm glad you enjoyed your visit. I will pass your comments onto our waiting staff who are always pleased to know that their efforts are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, AB Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

Having read several of the previous reviews we were excited to try this restaurant. Service was good, the atmosphere pleasant and the view beautiful. However, four of us ordered very different meals; salad, pasta, seafood and steak, and none of us were impressed by any of the four. Under seasoned, bland and somewhat pricey, we were very disappointed.
Could all four of us have ordered poorly? Or is the food just really not great?
PS... As an aside, all of the chairs in this restaurant have rounded arms... If you are above average size be prepared to be quite uncomfortable and perched in your seat. Something we noticed on several of the patrons around us...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AprilANDChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHMHolding, Owner at Bandstand Restaurant, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed in your meals. It's hard to respond to this feedback however without specific information about which dishes were chosen. Our prices are published online and outside the restaurant and, in my opinion, represent very good value for money and that seems to be the general view of most customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bandstand Restaurant also viewed

Nairn, Scottish Highlands
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
 
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Bandstand Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing