We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely comfortable B&B”
Review of Cawdor House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cawdor House
Ranked #1 of 37 Nairn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I stayed at the B&B for two nights, and thought it was very comfortable. I was lucky to be given the Garden Room which is an annexe on the side of the house. It was a lovely big room with a spacious bathroom, and I had it all to myself! The choice for breakfast was very good, and the food was lovely. Paul was very friendly and helpful. The B&B is well situated for visiting the surrounding area. I would recommend investigating the beach at Nairn.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MairiBanks, Owner at Cawdor House, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Thank you for your kind review Karen, our garden room is one of the most popular rooms we have and many guests return and specifically ask to book this room again. You have the best of both worlds, your own front door with the added benefit of having access to the main house.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 196 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

We found this B&B very nice. The garden does have quite a rustic look but you get used to it and the flowers were very nice. The twin room we had was very large, clean and had everything you needed. Breakfast was superb - all great quality ingredients and everything served they way we had asked. The service was quick and efficient and the couple who ran the B&B were very pleasant but not over bearing or intrusive. We would recommend this B&B and would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Balfroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My weeklong stay at Cawdor House was a perfect arrangement to enjoy my Highlands holiday. The room was clean, comfortable and cheery. The breakfasts are tasty with several options to choose from. Paul is very attentive to his guests and helpful with requests. The location is conveniently located near the railway station and the shops of Nairn, and just steps away from the best restaurant in town.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidSnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I have stayed at Cawdor House on a number of occasions and have always received a warm welcome from Mairi and Paul. The rooms are very comfortable and well appointed and the breakfasts with locally sourced produce are to die for. A great base for exploring the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canisp99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MairiBanks, Owner at Cawdor House, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

5* people deserve 5* service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

What a tremendous guest house this is. This is the 3rd time my wife and I along with our 2 children have stayed at Cawdor House and it certainly wont be the last.
From the minute you walk through the door Paul and Mairi are fantastic at making you feel welcome. The bedroom we stayed in comfortably slept 4 and all the guest house facilities (ie tea,coffee,TV, kettle were there. The bedroom and bathroom were absolutely spotless.

Overall I would highly recommend Cawdor Guest House to family and friends.

Nairn is in such a beautiful location. We will be back.

Room Tip: If you get the chance, go for the Garden Room....Simply beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Myself and my 2 children had a fantastic stay at Cawdor House. From the warm welcome we recieved on arrival through to our departure the owners Paul and Mairi could not have done anymore to help make this a fatastic time for us. Our room was clean, well kept and comfy I and the kids loved it. A beutiful setting and all in all I would highly recomend staying here and we for sure wil be returning again. Sometimes its just the small things that make the difference and Cawdor house was a more than a step ahead of most places we have stayed recently.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Btmc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

what a great place to stay. A welcoming atmosphere with spacious communal lounge and dining area. The bedrooms are well proportioned and provide all necessary amenities (TV hot drinks etc). Paul and Mairi do an excellent job of hosting this lovely building. A great place to stay

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rigsby N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairn hotels
0.5 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
926 reviews
0.5 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
384 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Boath House
Boath House
#7 of 9 in Nairn
337 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#6 of 9 in Nairn
342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tali Ayer
Tali Ayer
#8 of 37 in Nairn
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cawdor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cawdor House

Address: 7 Cawdor Street, Nairn IV12 4QD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Nairn
Price Range: $106 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cawdor House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the town center of Nairn, and within easy walking distance of the beach, Cawdor House is an elegant Victorian Manse, lovingly restored to it's former glory. It is an ideal location for exploring the Highlands, with excellent communications. Enjoy a cup of tea and home-baking by the fire when you arrive, and a fantastic highland breakfast to set you up for a day admiring the beautiful scenery and history, golf, fishing, riding- just a few activities to be found close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Cawdor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cawdor House Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing