We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hosts”
Review of Cawdor House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cawdor House
Ranked #1 of 37 Nairn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2011

After driving to Nairn from Edinburgh through the remnants of Hurricane Katia, we were greeted warmly by Mairi and Paul. The Cawdor House proved to be an excellent location for exploring the area around the Moray Firth without actually being in a larger city. The rooms are comfortably furnished and very clean. Paul is a wealth of knowledge about the local area and by our third day, we could actually understand almost everything he told us in his fine Scottish brogue! Marie turns out some amazing breakfasts that are included in the package.

Nairn is easily walkable from the Cawdor House and there is an excellent restaurant, the Classroom, just a few steps away. Another dining recommendation would be the Sunny Brae Hotel, overlooking the sea.

We were there for three nights in September and used the Cawdor House to explore the coast, visit a distillery or two, see Cawdor Castle, and tour the Culloden battlefield. Wish we could have stayed longer!

My only negative is that I was never able to get onto the wireless Internet. But, guess what... being 'unconnected' for those three days really didn't make any difference.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smartbrowndog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 196 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2011

It would be impossible to find a more charming and hospitable B&B. My accommodation was welcoming and comfortable, not to mention that Paul and Mairi Banks are devoted to keeping Cawdor House impeccably clean. The meals were fantastic and a great way to experience local Scottish cuisine. I look forward to returning to Cawdor House one day as it will feel like I am coming home. Many thanks to Paul and Mairi for making it such a special place. Nadine Sheppard.

Room Tip: My room was on the top floor but I am positive every room is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

I have had the pleasure of staying at Cawdor House in Nairn a number of times and have never been disappointed. The bedrooms, which are spacious and quiet have always been spotless with some of the most comfortable beds I have stayed in. The breakfasts are huge with lovely fresh local produce. The owners, Mairi and Paul Banks, have created a lovely place to stay which I would recommend to anyone for business or pleasure.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Did a central scotland trip, and did it in a quite spontaneous way. We decided to give Findhorn a go and got a bit frantic about finding accomodation in time, and that with a bit of a budget. Found Cawdor house in a trip advisor brochure, called - and Paul managed to accomodate us in time. Extremely helpful, friendly (he helped us book ahead for further stations of our journey). The rooms: clean, cosy, warm, best shower we had during the whole trip, great breakfast (if I could I'd give him a michelin star), beautiful, peaceful solid house.

Great. We'll return!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hierzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

I organise our holiday with friends every year to different parts of Scotland and they all agree that I excelled myself with my choice of accommodation in Nairn.
Cawdor House was so peaceful and relaxing and our rooms were spotless and charming.
My husband and I stayed in the Garden Room while our friends had the room with the 4 poster bed.
Breakfast was out of this world my husband has not stopped raving about the black pudding.
Parking was no problen as there was plenty of room just across the road from Cawdor house and we were able to move our car outside once the workmen had left at 5.00 p.m.
Would highly recommend this B&B both for accommodation and helpfulness of owners.
Will definately be back

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathrine I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Mairi and Paul Banks, the proprietors of Cawdor House, provided the best of everything for us during our 5 day stay in Nairn. Mairi has a real passion for cooking and provided what we considered a 5 star breakfast for us every morning. My favorite was the traditional porridge and Gary's was the traditional full Scottish breakfast. Our first floor room was phenomenal-huge king sized bed with lots of space for a couch and a stunning garden view and a thoroughly modern bathroom. All of this in addition to being spotless and beautifully appointed. They were very knowledgeable about the area and very accommodating to our individual needs. Hope you are able to stay with them sometime.

Room Tip: We had room # 7 and it was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbMilfordMIUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

The house is wonderfully decorated, the bedroom we had was very spacious. The people running the place are immensely helpful and welcoming. It was our favourite B&B in Scotland!!

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
Thank flavie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairn hotels
0.5 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
925 reviews
0.5 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
384 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Boath House
Boath House
#7 of 9 in Nairn
337 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#6 of 9 in Nairn
342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tali Ayer
Tali Ayer
#8 of 37 in Nairn
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cawdor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cawdor House

Address: 7 Cawdor Street, Nairn IV12 4QD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Nairn
Price Range: $105 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cawdor House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the town center of Nairn, and within easy walking distance of the beach, Cawdor House is an elegant Victorian Manse, lovingly restored to it's former glory. It is an ideal location for exploring the Highlands, with excellent communications. Enjoy a cup of tea and home-baking by the fire when you arrive, and a fantastic highland breakfast to set you up for a day admiring the beautiful scenery and history, golf, fishing, riding- just a few activities to be found close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Cawdor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cawdor House Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing