We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rare jewel of hospitality”
Review of Cawdor House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cawdor House
Ranked #1 of 37 Nairn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Did a central scotland trip, and did it in a quite spontaneous way. We decided to give Findhorn a go and got a bit frantic about finding accomodation in time, and that with a bit of a budget. Found Cawdor house in a trip advisor brochure, called - and Paul managed to accomodate us in time. Extremely helpful, friendly (he helped us book ahead for further stations of our journey). The rooms: clean, cosy, warm, best shower we had during the whole trip, great breakfast (if I could I'd give him a michelin star), beautiful, peaceful solid house.

Great. We'll return!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hierzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 196 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2011

I organise our holiday with friends every year to different parts of Scotland and they all agree that I excelled myself with my choice of accommodation in Nairn.
Cawdor House was so peaceful and relaxing and our rooms were spotless and charming.
My husband and I stayed in the Garden Room while our friends had the room with the 4 poster bed.
Breakfast was out of this world my husband has not stopped raving about the black pudding.
Parking was no problen as there was plenty of room just across the road from Cawdor house and we were able to move our car outside once the workmen had left at 5.00 p.m.
Would highly recommend this B&B both for accommodation and helpfulness of owners.
Will definately be back

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathrine I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Mairi and Paul Banks, the proprietors of Cawdor House, provided the best of everything for us during our 5 day stay in Nairn. Mairi has a real passion for cooking and provided what we considered a 5 star breakfast for us every morning. My favorite was the traditional porridge and Gary's was the traditional full Scottish breakfast. Our first floor room was phenomenal-huge king sized bed with lots of space for a couch and a stunning garden view and a thoroughly modern bathroom. All of this in addition to being spotless and beautifully appointed. They were very knowledgeable about the area and very accommodating to our individual needs. Hope you are able to stay with them sometime.

Room Tip: We had room # 7 and it was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbMilfordMIUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

The house is wonderfully decorated, the bedroom we had was very spacious. The people running the place are immensely helpful and welcoming. It was our favourite B&B in Scotland!!

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
Thank flavie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Paul and Mairi managed to accommodate an entire French choir, Les Jeudistes, for several nights in May. As a base for our brief Highland concert tour Cawdor House was first rate in every way and we have not the slightest hesitation in endorsing its star rating and awarding it our own French blue riband for excellence. From the moment of our arrival, after a long journey on a wet night, the warmth of our welcome, the log fires and the wonderful locally-sourced buffet supper, convinced us that Paul and Mairi were something very special as B&B hosts. Nothing was too much trouble (they even managed to provide haggis for breakfast one morning, complete with Paul reciting Burns' 'Address to the Haggis', to satisfy French curiosity), and we were so comfortable and well looked after that we really didn't want to leave. Even the acoustic - for singing - in the dining room was generous! Merci, Paul and Mairi.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeudistes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

The rooms were comfortable, the bathroom was modern and spotlessly clean. The breakfasts were delicious and generous (even for my teenaged son). We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t0r0nt0traveller2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

With an American friend, I spent a couple of nights in Cawdor House, before heading north where we sampled another guesthouse and a well-known, and much more expensive, island hotel. While all three were excellent, and the welcome and service good, there was no doubt at all that Cawdor House offerred by far the best value, and one of the best-quality breakfasts I have ever had-well, two of them in fact, and I wish we had been staying longer. The quality of the breakfast ingredients and of their cooking is of the very finest, bar none, and I will be back for more!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobinNoble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairn hotels
0.5 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#2 of 9 in Nairn
938 reviews
0.5 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
386 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Boath House
Boath House
#7 of 9 in Nairn
337 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tali Ayer
Tali Ayer
#8 of 37 in Nairn
59 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sandown House B&B
Sandown House B&B
#4 of 37 in Nairn
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cawdor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cawdor House

Address: 7 Cawdor Street, Nairn IV12 4QD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Nairn
Price Range: $114 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cawdor House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the town center of Nairn, and within easy walking distance of the beach, Cawdor House is an elegant Victorian Manse, lovingly restored to it's former glory. It is an ideal location for exploring the Highlands, with excellent communications. Enjoy a cup of tea and home-baking by the fire when you arrive, and a fantastic highland breakfast to set you up for a day admiring the beautiful scenery and history, golf, fishing, riding- just a few activities to be found close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cawdor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cawdor House Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing