We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place and great people”
Review of Cawdor House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cawdor House
Ranked #1 of 38 Nairn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cayenne, French Guiana
1 review
“Beautiful place and great people”
Reviewed August 24, 2011

The house is wonderfully decorated, the bedroom we had was very spacious. The people running the place are immensely helpful and welcoming. It was our favourite B&B in Scotland!!

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank flavie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    17
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
47
60
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olargues, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Paul and Mairi managed to accommodate an entire French choir, Les Jeudistes, for several nights in May. As a base for our brief Highland concert tour Cawdor House was first rate in every way and we have not the slightest hesitation in endorsing its star rating and awarding it our own French blue riband for excellence. From the moment of our arrival, after a long journey on a wet night, the warmth of our welcome, the log fires and the wonderful locally-sourced buffet supper, convinced us that Paul and Mairi were something very special as B&B hosts. Nothing was too much trouble (they even managed to provide haggis for breakfast one morning, complete with Paul reciting Burns' 'Address to the Haggis', to satisfy French curiosity), and we were so comfortable and well looked after that we really didn't want to leave. Even the acoustic - for singing - in the dining room was generous! Merci, Paul and Mairi.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeudistes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2011

The rooms were comfortable, the bathroom was modern and spotlessly clean. The breakfasts were delicious and generous (even for my teenaged son). We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t0r0nt0traveller2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
None
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2011

With an American friend, I spent a couple of nights in Cawdor House, before heading north where we sampled another guesthouse and a well-known, and much more expensive, island hotel. While all three were excellent, and the welcome and service good, there was no doubt at all that Cawdor House offerred by far the best value, and one of the best-quality breakfasts I have ever had-well, two of them in fact, and I wish we had been staying longer. The quality of the breakfast ingredients and of their cooking is of the very finest, bar none, and I will be back for more!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinNoble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2011

The service here is second to none! it feels more like home than a B&B.
The owners Paul and Mairi are outstanding, helpfull, caring and all together lovely people. If i was to suggest any where to stay in scotland Cawdor house would be the place.
The rooms have all be re-done as i was kindly shown by Paul. The rooms are simply amazing and very tastefull, plenty of space and amzing bathrooms.
Cawdor house is set in an very nice part of nairn and it is quiet if your looking for a nice get away.
The best thing about Cawdor house is the friendly feeling you get greeted with and of course the food, the breakfast is the best i have ever eaten and not only do they do breakfast they now do evening meals which are to die for!

Room Tip: The best room is number 7, quiet and has a lovely bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emily s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2011

This was my family’s second visit to the Inverness area, having stayed at Cawdor House in October 2010 and we had no hesitation on rebooking what we consider to be the best B&B experience we have had. Cawdor House is situated on a residential road close to all the amenities in Nairn. At present there is an extension being built but that in no way detracted from a very enjoyable stay. The accommodation is first class, clean and very welcoming. My wife and I stayed in a large double room and my daughter had an adjoining single room. Both were spacious and contained all the facilities we needed. The proprietors are among the most welcoming, friendly and personable people we have encountered and we were immediately made to feel almost part of the family on our arrival. We were remembered from last year which was very heartening and throughout our stay felt that nothing was too much trouble.. The breakfast is simply stunning. All produce is locally sourced from organic/free range sources and each individual item has a local culinary history which the proprietors are proud to explain. I have not had a better Full Scottish Fry Up and I am from "Gods Country" myself. Cawdor House has become the best B&B experience we have encountered in our many and varied travels. It is great value for money and fully deserves its 4 star rating. We will definitely be back

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxcat334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2011

My wife and I really needed a break form our hectic lifestyle. We booked a 3 night stay, the location was fantastic the rooms palatial, breakfasts to die for.

we will be staying again thnaksPaul and Mhari for being such wonderful hosts.

Mike and Evelyn

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
0.5 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
860 reviews
0.5 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
315 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Braeval Hotel
Braeval Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
397 reviews
16.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cawdor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cawdor House

Property: Cawdor House
Address: 7 Cawdor Street, Nairn IV12 4QD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cawdor House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the town center of Nairn, and within easy walking distance of the beach, Cawdor House is an elegant Victorian Manse, lovingly restored to it's former glory. It is an ideal location for exploring the Highlands, with excellent communications. Enjoy a cup of tea and home-baking by the fire when you arrive, and a fantastic highland breakfast to set you up for a day admiring the beautiful scenery and history, golf, fishing, riding- just a few activities to be found close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cawdor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cawdor House Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing