We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great meal”
Review of Cawdor Tavern

Cawdor Tavern
Ranked #4 of 49 Restaurants in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Traditional country pub and restaurant serving modern Scottish food with flair. Situated in the beautiful conservation village of Cawdor, close to the famous Cawdor Castle, Cawdor Tavern offers a relaxed and welcoming atmosphere to enjoy a simple bowl of home made soup or full three course meal all made from fresh local ingredients.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
752 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“A great meal”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

This is a restaurant with character in a small village near Cawdor Castle. There is a varied menu plus specials every day. We were offered home made soda bread and butterr whilst we waited for our meal. Our meal of steak pie with mashed potato and vegetables came very quickly. We were also brought a jug of water as well as other drinks we had ordered. The sweet menu looked very good, but safely we had no room.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    138
    42
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfort, France
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Une bonne adresse (A good place to eat)”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

In a traditional pub (wood, stove and cosy carpet), you can enjoy a far more sophisticated and well prepared food than in a traditional pub. All is very well presented and the side order (vegetables) are original and well cooked. The service was efficient (not talking a lot with it because of our lack of spoken English!!) and we were ready to pay for what we eat.

As a bonus, you can envoy a real ale from Orkney Breweries with your meal.

Bref, une bonne adresse (we will be back)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrunoG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortrose, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I have eaten here a number of times, however was very disappointed tonight by the poor service. My friend and I sat down and only one of us was asked what we wanted to drink before the waitress disappeared. I wanted a beer, but not having had the chance to ask thought I would order it when we ordered food. However, we didn't get to order any food as the waitress never returned! There were only 3 tables occupied in the whole restaurant. The couple next to us ordered their dessert, had it served and ate it in the 15 minutes we were waiting to order. My friend went to the kitchen and asked the waitress if we could order. However she still didn't come to our table, so after a further 5 minutes we left and went home to eat!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Dog Friendy”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We were looking for a place to have an early dinner/late lunch on the way back to our hotel, on Saturday afternoon, and Googled 'dog friendly' restaurants, as we had our wee Chihuahua with us.

We weren't allowed in the lounge with him, only the bar, which was fine, we brought his bed in from the car and he just lay in it at our feet anyway.

We had our 9 year old daughter with us who had the chicken nuggets and chips, which she said was fine (didn't mind the sachets of ketchup.)

We had the soup (lovely) and the pigeon (OK) starter and we both had the scampi main. What came was a huge bowl of chips, a side salad (nice) and about 5 pieces of scampi! the scampi main was prices about £12 each which was waaaaay overpriced, should have had twice the amount of scampi for that money.

We would have stayed longer and ordered pudding, however two lads came in to play pool (which is a table right in the middle of the bar) and as their language was atrocious we made a sharp exit - honestly, I know we were in a bar, however, there weren't any other people in there and to swear like that in front of a 9 year old girl who was sitting watching them was shocking. To top it all, they put 50p in the pool table, and proceeded to 'catch the balls' so they wouldn't have to put in another 50p when finished, and could just reset the balls they had stashed and play again - OK, fair enough you may think, however, they had only ordered two glasses of tap water from the bar!!!!

Our daughter didn't get any colouring in stuff which another reviewer talked about, and to get some atmosphere, you had to put your own money in the juke box to play music...

Could have been so much better!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juliet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Enjoyed a superb lunch following the Culloden Battle Commemoration event. Great atmosphere with very attentive staff. Food was attractively presented and of high quality. Very friendly reception and a good range of essential refreshments.
Thoroughly recommended for surroundings and comfort. Not to be missed if you are in the area and even worth a detour to savour the delights of this excellent hostelry.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clansman139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cawdor Tavern also viewed

Nairn, Scottish Highlands
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
 
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Cawdor Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing