We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic! Amazing! Wonderful! Classy!”
Review of Lovat Lodge Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lovat Lodge Hotel
Ranked #21 of 37 Nairn B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 1, 2011

I have just returned from a 2 week holiday at Lovat Lodge, Nairn and was stunned to read the shocking review by Slinky-Di of Edinburgh.

My family and friends have been holidaying at Lovat Lodge for many, many years and have nothing but admiration for the extremely hard-working and dedicated team of staff.
The report by Slinky-Di is clearly not the same hotel that we booked into only 2 days after her review!!!

Lovat Lodge is very much "a Hotel with a difference" as is stated in their advertising literature. The hotel caters for disabled and elderly guests in addition to the young and fit. Every member of staff is committed to ensuring that ALL guests are made to feel very special, whether mobile, immobile or elderly. The hotel offers extremely comfortable accommodation with beautifully appointed rooms.

The food at Lovat Lodge is fantastic and is of Michelin Star quality. No-one is ever hungry as there is a large variety of food on offer.

I must say that I like the smell of Dettol (although Lovat Lodge never "stinks" of it!). Surely Slinky-Di would prefer the clean smell of Dettol to that of anything nasty??????

With regards to a hoist being available - it was clearly about to be placed into a bedroom for use by a guest. As someone who has in the past, had the additional expense of having to hire a hoist, I am delighted that the hotel has now purchased this expensive piece of equipment and offers this free service to guests.

To conclude - I hope that in the future when Slinky-Di is getting on in years or worse still - becomes disabled - that there will be "NO ROOM AT THE LOVAT LODGE INN" for her or any of her associates!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: It's always best to discuss your personal needs with the very friendly and helpful management te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank June H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 31 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2011

We had booked in here for a 3 night stay at the begining of August. When we parked up at the side of the hotel we didn't like the look of its signage and the canopy at the front door (very tired looking) but we thought we'd give it the benefit of the doubt. When we walked through the door it was like we had walked into an old folks home. The place stank of dettol and had a haust lying as soon as you walked through the door. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived and we were advised to go through to the lounge to have a coffee as we walked through there was the odd old person sitting in very tired looking furniture just staring into space it was then that we decided that we could stay for the three nights and left.

Room Tip: If you are an older person looking for a quiet holiday then this would be ideal but the hotel should...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
9  Thank Slinky-Dinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

I went for a short break on my own & requested to sit with others. This was honoured & there were opportunities to meet together in the lounge & during arranged outings. This made it very enjoyable for me.
The staff were very accomodating- giving me early breakfast when I had to leave early-altogether a very enjoyable stay

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ruth_richardson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2011

Simply th best. Caring attentive helpful staff and management. Excellent food - varied plentiful and beautifully cooked. Entertainment first class and regular. Excellent hotel for disabled people with plenty bathroom aids and you can BORROW a scooter. We have been three times and will be going again. Don't know how they do it for the money.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DAVEREID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

I took my 80+ mother here. We had a good time. The clientele were mostly over 65 and female. Several had been more than once before. Two younger severely handicapped people came with carers for 5 nights. All very friendly. Three nights in the week there was musical entertainment (scottish and popular), bingo and quiz on other nights. Tea and coffee provided mid morning, afternoon and late evening served with biscuit, toast or cake. Sandwich and soup available at lunch time at reasonable price. Kettle with tea and coffee in room but they also offered morning tea with fresh milk. Papers could be ordered too. Meals were very good. Dinner menu posted in the morning offerd 4 or 5 choices for each course and there were alternatives like salads which had to be ordered during the day. Breakfast 8.30 - 9.30 and dining bewteen 6 and 7 suited us .

Staff were very helpful.

My mother can stand briefly to transfer from wheelchair to chair, bed etc. I shared with her to assist if she needed help in the night. We found the facilities sufficient for our needs. Some fire doors had strong return springs so weren't the easiest. My mother would not use wet room shower as she needs assiatnce to reach the whole of her body and didn't want to shower with me! We were able to borrow a bed lever and toilet raise which was useful. One bed in our room was adjustamatic but didn't change height. The height was fine. The other bed was higher but we couldn't get the wheelchair to far side as the space at the foot was limited. It taught me to ask about this factor as my mother can only get into bed from one side. I noted a mini fridge presumably provided for guests' medicienes.

The hotel is a block away from sea front and traffic free walk to harbour around a mile away. Mobility scooters are available. Tours were offered with the hotel's tour bus which is showing it's age but does take wheelchairs. We had wheelchair accessible car so went to places like Findhorn (heritage museum is accessible although there was one step to get close to some diplay boards. Broadwalk to top of dunes was too steep for me partly because sand made surface slippery. ) Some places like Cawdor Dower house garden at Auchindoune required a lot of physical effort to get round with the wheelchair and some bits were too steep. We saw dolphins near Fort George.

Hairdresser came to the hotel on Friday. She was popular and results were pleasing.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank H_Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2009

Great food, friendly and efficient staff,good evening entertainment all in a nice atmophere adding up to a great weeks holiday.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
5  Thank gmthom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Enrico M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairn hotels
0.3 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
925 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
342 reviews
2.7 mi away
Boath House
Boath House
#6 of 9 in Nairn
337 reviews
0.4 mi away
Braeval Hotel
Braeval Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lovat Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lovat Lodge Hotel

Address: Thurlow Road, Nairn IV12 4EZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Nairn
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Lovat Hotel Nairn
Lovat Lodge Hotel Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing