We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking beauty of nature...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loch Ness

Loch Ness
Book In Advance
More Info
$27.30*
and up
Loch Ness Sightseeing Cruise and Visit to Urquhart Castle
Ranked #4 of 28 things to do in Loch Ness
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Many people believe that this brooding lake in Northern Scotland, 21 square miles in size at an average depth of 800 feet, could certainly hide a large dinosaur-like "monster," the lake's long-time and elusive resident.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
111 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Breathtaking beauty of nature...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

it cannot be described as anything else except breathtaking. Such a beautiful place on Earth. Very peaceful, quiet and open space. Though it is quite a ride to get there, it is worth it. And you must not miss the boat cruise which will give you great angles for pictures. It is really best to go with a travel tour as they will always have someone to give you a lot of the history of the place. The company we used was Timberbush tours@timberbushtours.com and our guide was a very knowlegable and funny man (Patrick). Website : www.timberbush-tours.co.uk

You can choose a one-day tour that also includes Glen Coe, Loch Ness and the Highlands...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank sherine204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    505
    272
    132
    36
    17
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Giannitsa, Greece
1 review
“DISCOVER SCOTLAND - HIGHLANDS AND THE LOCH NESS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Thanks to Charlie, our wonderful driver and tour guide, me and my daughter Sandra had a great time, a perfect trip and beautiful moments with nice and warm people! Thank you Charlie!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank KIKI T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moloda
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Trekking Around the Loch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Loch Ness is a great place for some trekking. Especially within Glen Affric, the tracks are good for family or an easy stroll. The place offers its own enchantment. The natural reserve is equipped with car parks and toilets, so no inconvenience there. Don't forget to see the Dog Falls.

Also are the woods just nearby the Loch. We parked near Inverfarigaig and walked up to the Foyer's falls. The tracks within the woods were easily marked and we had little problems following them through. There are tracks graded to the kind of walks you intended to do, for a maximum of 2 hours.

For us walking near the Loch offered a better experience than the guided tours and ferries on the Loch.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fishziblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Least impressive lake in the region, country.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Steeped in myth and legend, Loch Ness always seems high on the to-do list when in the Highlands. I do not believe it stands out any more in terms of scenic beauty than any other lake in Scotland. Tick it off of you must, but make it worth your while by combining it with other sites on the loch. It's just not worth seeing in and of itself unless your passing by.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank christopher_brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“pleasant drive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

a very nice and comfortable loch to watch. especially on a nice day.
it is also a pleasant drive around it, but I would say there are a bit too much trees surrounding the roads, so you are driving more than appreciating the loch. it can also be quite a long drive from one end to another.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loch Ness also viewed

 
Fort Augustus, Loch Ness
 

Been to Loch Ness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing