We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nessy spotting”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Loch Ness

Loch Ness
Book In Advance
More Info
$26.30*
and up
Canoeing on Loch Ness Taster Trip from Fort Augustus
Ranked #4 of 28 things to do in Loch Ness
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Many people believe that this brooding lake in Northern Scotland, 21 square miles in size at an average depth of 800 feet, could certainly hide a large dinosaur-like "monster," the lake's long-time and elusive resident.
Newport Pagnell, Bucks
Level Contributor
95 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nessy spotting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

This was the start of a brilliant road trip around Scotland. The drive between Inverness and Fort William along the banks of Loch Ness is a must do. Just a shame for the driver to miss out on the fabulous views. Don't forget to stop at Ulquhart Castle!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Katkuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    518
    279
    137
    37
    18
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lochness Visitor Centre”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

What a great disappointment this was. £7 plus to walk round a old house with some tellys telling you everything that you should have either learned at school or would be better of google searching..After driving a great distance you are welcomed by a expensive and poor visitor centre surrounded by expensive gift shops and poor cafe.I would personally spend the entrance fee on Urquart Castle a mile down the road which is breathtaking and interesting for both adults and kids..The loch is beautiful but would not single this out for a visit with so many great places to see.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bambamboothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cloudy day on this very interesting loch.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We went to the Loch Ness on a cloudy and rainy day. But don't think that spoiled our day. It's was the most amazing place ever. The mist laying over the water making it so beautiful and so original. A must see if you are in Scottland.

Helpful?
Thank KFarhad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
492 reviews
459 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Just a regular lake...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Nothing special here, just a regular lake like so many others with incredibly expensive tour to hear stories about Nessie... Really not worth the trip or the money!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Maja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Looking for Nessie”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Loch Ness is located in a beautiful part of the Highlands , with some sunshine & plenty of wind to give you a bad-hair-day. We took a tour , which we booked in Edinburgh, that drove us through some gorgeous scenery , both on our way to Loch Ness & back again. Once we arrived at the Loch, we made our way to the ticket booth to purchase our spots on the boat that would take us on an hour's journey around a small section of Loch Ness.
Since the loch is approx. 22 miles long , and the boat carries you for 30 minutes one way , from the dock, you don't really see that much of it. However , there are other way to see it . They have smaller boats , that travel faster , and carry fewer people. Or you can rent a car & drive around the shoreline.
Any way you view it , it is a spectacular vista.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wilee13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loch Ness also viewed

 
Fort Augustus, Loch Ness
 

Been to Loch Ness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing