We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Piper's Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kyle of Lochalsh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Piper's Lodge
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“What a great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We have recently spent 4 nights at the Piper's Lodge. I completely agree with everything that has been said about this lovely b&b. Cara and family were away for the 1st 2 nights so we were looked after by Mavis and Iain, Cara's parents, who did them proud. Such a welcoming family and place. Beautiful room - the one shown on their website - marvellous full scottish breakfast, including haggis, and a very generous dram and glass of wine on arrival. We spent some time in the very large lounge, a veritable home from home.It's a short walk to the small town that is Kyle of Lochalsh and the restaurants etc there. Ideal for touring the area, especially Skye. Thank you again for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margaretclincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
30
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johnstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

I visited the Pipers Lodge on business, staying for 6 nights.

A very warm welcome was received by Cara, along with the offer of a beer before being taken to my room which was very well equipped (Freeview TV with built in DVD/iPod dock) with the usual tea/coffee making facilities and most importantly a reasonably firm and very comfortable bed. The guest lounge has internet access and Cara even arranged for the router to be moved to the other side of the building so I could recieve WiFi in the room, outstanding! The room was spotless (credit to Sally) and towels were changed as and when required.

During my stay Cara & her husband Niall left the fort to her parents Ian & Mavis who also offered fantastic customer service. Again the offer of a beer was never far away and nothing was too much hassle for them.

Would certainly visit again.

Room Tip: Room 5 is the family room (single and double bed)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KonkyWonky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had a fabulous 2-night stay with a family of four. Very friendly couple, nice comfortable rooms. Good recommendations for restaurants and local activities. Breakfast was tasty. Enjoyed hearing some piping! Probably the nicest B&B we stayed at on this trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kzh43323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

an exellant stay at the pipers lodge, our young hosts cara and stewart real nice couple nothing is two much trouble.accomodation is spotless comfy bed,nice scottish breakfast, off road parking and out of sight parking round the back for motorbikes who are made very welcome. really enjoyed our stay here would not hesitate to reccomend the pipers lodge.top of our list of places to stay when next in the area.
thanks again for a lovely stay
veronica and chris
south yorkshire.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank veronicaandchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouthshire
Level Contributor
194 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Our annual Munro bagging trip brought us to Kyle this year and Cara and Niall were the unlucky hosts we chose to stay with. They were great from the moment we arrived with wet clothes to the morning we left with our request fro an early breakfast (on a Sunday) so we could walk up one more mountain. Spacious and comfortable house, large lounge, internet access and good breakfasts.

Room Tip: Eateries in town are variable but we recommend the Waverly.. Booking a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daloughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

This stay was one of the best B&B we have stayed in, Cara and Niall looked after every need and could not do enough for us.

The welcome was very warm and that did not stop over our stay, the room was lovely, comfortable and warm, breakfast was very nice and set us up for the day.

We stayed two nights at the end of May 2013

If our travels take us that way again we definitily be calling for a room.

We would like to thank them very much for our stay.

Brian & julie

Room Tip: No advice needed for the piper as the premises are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I just come back from spending two nights at the Piper's Lodge and have to say it was just fantastic! The B&B is very cosy, with a lovely lounge, very accommodating rooms, and perfectly equipped and very, very clean bathrooms, and the breakfast really leaves nothing to be desired. The house is ideally located in Kyle, very close to the restaurants and stores, but not too close to the busy streets, so you will have a quiet night.

What makes this B&B really special, though, is the hospitality of its owners, Cara and Niall. They made me feel welcome and special from the very first contact by email to the minute I left. Upon arrival, I was not only greeted with a big smile and the true feeling of being welcome, but also with a lovely nightcap. Cara and Niall were helpful with all the small and big things that occurred during my stay, they were extremely attentive, and I could turn to them with every question I might have. So it really felt like staying with old friends, and it was just a perfect stay that I would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serendipitously
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kyle of Lochalsh
0.2 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lochalsh Hotel
Lochalsh Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
3.2 mi away
Balmacara Hotel
Balmacara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balmacara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fasgath Bed and Breakfast
Fasgath Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 13 in Kyle of Lochalsh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Piper's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Piper's Lodge

Property: The Piper's Lodge
Address: Pipers Lodge Main Street, Kyle of Lochalsh IV40 8BY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochalsh > Kyle of Lochalsh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kyle of Lochalsh
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Piper's Lodge Kyle Of Lochalsh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing