We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Skye and Eilean Donan Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Inverness
552

Book in advance
from
$88.84
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Eilean Donan Castle
from $88.84
More Info
from $83.79
More Info
from $83.79
More Info
from $411.21
More Info
Reviews (4,594)
Filter reviews
4,594 results
Traveler rating
2,925
1,205
311
94
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,925
1,205
311
94
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gift shop car park the kitchen stunning location well worth a visit isle of skye entrance fee take photos interesting history across the bridge rooms photographed cafe scotland highlander visitors interior
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
359 - 364 of 4,594 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2019

Wonderful scenery and an interesting building. Lots of wildlife including seals. The facilities are excellent and are being extended. The Kyle is interesting.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank FrequentJet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 24, 2019

This is a gorgeous property and location, not to be missed on a trip to the Highlands of Scotland. The views and scenery surrounding the Castle are breath taking. However, disabled/wheelchair access to the castle is restricted due to a number of steps from the entrance and throughout. The grounds have deep gravel/stones, but manageable with an experienced assistant, though access over the bridge to take in the splendour is easy. The visitor centre and cafe/restaurant is accessible with full disabled facilities.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 23, 2019 via mobile

Mystical and beautiful it’s Eilean Donan. The drive to Eilean Donan is beautiful. The setting is in the beautiful Scottish Highlands. Entrance fees are very reasonable and there is a little shop. This is one of those iconic places that you can sit and stare at for hours upon hours. It’s rustic beauty will enchant you. We went twice and once it was pouring rain and it only added to it’s beauty. The other time the sun peeked through the clouds and it was so picturesque. I hope to visit Eilean Donan again sometime in the near future if just to gaze upon its beauty.

Date of experience: November 2018
2  Thank bleuberry99
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 21, 2019

This castle was rebuilt, however they took the materials from the original places that the original castle was built with. They really tried to reproduce the actual feel of the original. You must understand that due to history and wars and thrives that the original was in ill repair. I give honors to the society and families who have spend time and effort to rebuilt it.
Yes the parking lots are full, aren't they now a days. It is after all the most visited castle in Scotland. So just remember attitude of expectations, yes there are going be many others there......... We did have reservations or a tour, but we found ourselves just enchanted by the castle. Even though there were lots of people you still had moments where you were alone in a courtyard, or even a staircase....... and it truly was picturesque and lovely. It was was windy and cold, but given where it is located that is to be expected. I am glad we stopped and ventured out to the castle and had moments of time where we felt we could feel the ghosts of yesterday.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Evi_02
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 19, 2019

OK, it was the height of the tourist season, but the crowds were ridiculous! Car park was full - drive around until you find a recently vacated slot - and the coach park was packed with 6 x 40 seater and 5 x 20 seater coaches from all over Europe. All on a normal Scottish day of pouring rain with a strong wind - not a pleasant experience! Once in the castle it was so crowded you literally couldn't move in certain places - as a result after 10 minutes of fighting the mob and not really seeing anything we left. As Eilean Donan is rated the most visited castle in Scotland I imagine it is always packed, so recommend some exterior photographs before moving on to a less chaotic venue!

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank A R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews