We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but well worth it, however you can't take photos inside”

Eilean Donan Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$227.91*
and up
Glenelg and Lochalsh Half Day Tour from Kyle of Lochalsh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This picturesque castle, built in 1220, holds the title of the most photographed castle in Scotland.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Small but well worth it, however you can't take photos inside”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Eilan Donan is small but well worth the money (£6.50 per adult) for the tour. If you just stop to get photos and drive by it'd be a real waste. Something to note however, you can ONLY go to the castle on the guided tour and you CAN'T TAKE PHOTOS which we didn't realise until we got to the castle gates which I wasn't too happy about as there was no mention of this when we bought the tickets (we had to buy tickets from the gift shop and we didn't notice if there was a sign telling us this).

The tour lasts about 1 hour and you really got an idea about the history of the place which was really fascinating. You get taken through some beautiful rooms and hear the history which I won't spoil here, but with the banquet rooms and kitchens as well as bedrooms you really do get an insight in to how the people who lived there (and still live there) led their lives.

We really enjoyed it and would highly recommend it, but not being able to take photos inside (which we were told was because the family still lived there) means I'm giving 4 stars instead of 5.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Willrobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,642 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,716
    710
    155
    44
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“quite and nice place”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

i pass this castle on my way from inverness to isle of skye, and i stop take pic sadly no time to go in side maybe next time.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank amosmao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
326 reviews
211 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL CASTLE IN BEAUTIFUL HIGHLANDS SURROUNDINGS”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Lovely castle and area en route to the Isle of Skye.

Amazing history to this castle regarding Jacobite uprisings and general Scottish history. There is a fee for entrance to the castle but you can admire the castle from the carpark area

Castle is very very picturesque and stunning coastline for the photograph takers

Cafe linked to the castle has now opened with a reduced menu for the winter months but lovely for a coffee and a home made carrot cake.

There is a shop as well and toilets in the cafe/shop block in the carpark.

(This castle over the years has been used in numerous Hollywood/Uk films)

While admiring the castle was able to watch a heron fishing in the shallows

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank A.MACCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cool castle with furnishing and wax figure scenes”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This castle was a fun place to visit. The castle is in excellent condition and the history is well-documented. The kitchen was set up with wax figures cooking up a storm. The castle is situated on an island in the middle of a Loch providing very scenic views. Definitely worth the time and money to visit.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Level Contributor
167 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Definitely NOT to be missed! Spectacular and Historic!”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

My husband and I visited this beautiful castle in June of 2010...the home, with about 12ft thick walls is set in a scenic area of Scotland. Our van tour took us here on our way to the Isle of Skye...
This amazing castle is a must visit and tour the inside on a trip to Scotland!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank gb7ihla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eilean Donan Castle also viewed

Applecross, Ross and Cromarty
Kyle of Lochalsh, Lochalsh
 

Been to Eilean Donan Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing