We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid this place especially if you pay by card.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hectors Bothy

Hectors Bothy
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Avoid this place especially if you pay by card.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

This is one of these ridiculous places that has a credit card minimum, in this car it's £10. They will happily charge £10 even if you meal is substantially below. In my case they wanted to charge a £2.30 surcharge for using a card. The food was average. Service was OK till they got aggressive when I wanted to use a card for less than £10. Avoid my experience was very unpleasant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alasdairferguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorsbothy, Owner at Hectors Bothy, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
We have been waiting for your review since our encounter with you on Wednesday 24th April. As we explained to you our policy is that due to bank charges we do not take card payments for sums less than £10.00. Why? The simple reason is that as a small business the rates that we can negotiate from card machine suppliers are not the same as large chains or multimationals. As such in some cases we can be charged up to 45p per transaction and at those amounts it is simply not economic for us to take payments for under the sum of £10. If we did we would have to increase our prices for all customers , whether they paid by cash or card, to cover such costs and that is unfair. We wish we didn’t have to impose a minimum spend but the simple fact is that along with many other small businesses a balance needs to be struck between offering the service of paying by card and ensuring the burden of costs on us is not excessive.

The minimum spend, as you acknowledged yourself, is clearly stated on the first page of our menu and is displayed on the menus on our website. The menus first page also confirms that if customers do not wish to pay by card or will not be spending over £10 there are 3 cash machines all within a couple of minutes walk of our premises. For a small village such as ours to have 3 “free to use” cash machines within such close proximity is welcome indeed for those wishing to pay cash. We explained all of this to you and you said you did not have cash and were not prepared to go to the cash machines to withdraw cash. You then demanded, in an aggressive manner, to our staff that we put your card through for a £7.70 sale. We never suggested a £2.30 surcharge but simply made it clear that our policy was that all card sales need to be over £10. Both by then speaking to one of the on site directors and then speaking to another director on the phone we explained to you the reasons for the minimum spend but you refused to listen and demanded that we accept your card payment for lesser sum or else “we would hear from your on trip advisor”. We declined. You then produced cash from your wallet to pay your bill so we were left entirely bemused by why you had initially denied having any cash to pay your bill to our staff. Your manner was aggressive to our staff and was indeed commented on by other customers after you left. We are very lucky to serve day in day out some truly lovely customers but we too would confirm our experience of dealing with you was very unpleasant and would not wish you to come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    182
    74
    23
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

My wife and I went here Sunday lunchtime 21st april. Can only say great food and friendly staff, cant fault the quality or quantity for the price, will call in again when in the area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Francis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good wholesome food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Pleasant down to earth service with no expensive frills - a good range of menu - good quality food, adequate for most needs

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank boomerang_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Poor quality & over-priced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

My wife and I visited Hector's Bothy for lunch on our day trip to Kyle of Lochalsh from Dingwall.
We know this place from some time back as a "caff" so our first impression of the café and its makeover was very positive. The owners have really transformed this into an attractive and appealing place.
Unfortunately the superlatives have to stop there as the Veggie food offering was pretty basic.
As a Vegetarian I had a couple of choices on the menu so I went for the bog standard 'veggie-burger' that is served in a bread bun and accompanied by a side salad and chips (French fries).
My wife ordered the fish cake that was also served in a bread bun with a side salad and chips which was OK.

My veggie burger arrived and I find that these are relatively cheap factory-made 'burgers' that are then deep fried. It was placed in a bread bun accompanied by some chopped salad, lettuce, with cherry tomato and some radish. Chips were golden, well cooked but strangely tasteless ? As was the Veggie burger - tasteless. This little lot was £7.50.
Was it edible ? Well, yes...but, it wasn't that enjoyable to eat. I would not consider eating 'Veggie' here again - Hector's Bothy need to raise game here for Veggies I think.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ArcticExplorer51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

I was in Hector's Bothy twice this weekend. The first was for breakfast and it was delicious. Really well cooked and good quality food. Second was just for a cappuccino and that was great too. It is totally transformed from the last time I was in. Really tastefully done. I have to agree with previous reviewers that mentioned staff being rushed off their feet. I went in around 1000am and by the half hour it was bursting at the seams with customers. They really needed another waiter. Most of the tables are set up for 4+ groups so a person on their own like I was had to sit at a table for 4 on my own. However someone did ask to share and I really dislike eating with strangers in cafes. It there was a wait to be seated policy it would avoid this. It would also allow waiting staff to see who was coming in. Both times I was in people left when their order wasn't taken, However my own experience was top notch and I hope as the summer season approaches they get the ladies some extra help.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gailnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorsbothy, Owner at Hectors Bothy, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our business. We are really pleased that you liked your breakfast and the quality ingredients, including Stornoway black pudding, which we always seek to use. We are glad too that you like our new look which has gone down really well with old and new customers. We always try and make sure we have enough staff on to make sure every customer is efficiently served and well looked after. It is clear from your comments that when you visited this has not always been achieved and we are grateful for bringing it to our attention. Staff illness over the recent Easter holidays has meant that on some occasions we did not have our full compliment of staff on duty but steps have been taken to bring the team back up to full strength. We cannot praise our staff highly enough for the excellent care they give our customers day in day out even when we are very busy and can assure you that we have taken on board your comments with regard to staffing levels. Once again many thanks for your review and we look forward to you visiting us again when you are next in the area. Best wishes. Mhairi and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hectors Bothy also viewed

Kyle of Lochalsh, Lochalsh
 
Kyle of Lochalsh, Lochalsh
Kyle of Lochalsh, Lochalsh
 
Kyle of Lochalsh, Lochalsh
Plockton, Ross and Cromarty
 

Been to Hectors Bothy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing