We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor quality & over-priced”
Review of Hectors Bothy

Hectors Bothy
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Poor quality & over-priced”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

My wife and I visited Hector's Bothy for lunch on our day trip to Kyle of Lochalsh from Dingwall.
We know this place from some time back as a "caff" so our first impression of the café and its makeover was very positive. The owners have really transformed this into an attractive and appealing place.
Unfortunately the superlatives have to stop there as the Veggie food offering was pretty basic.
As a Vegetarian I had a couple of choices on the menu so I went for the bog standard 'veggie-burger' that is served in a bread bun and accompanied by a side salad and chips (French fries).
My wife ordered the fish cake that was also served in a bread bun with a side salad and chips which was OK.

My veggie burger arrived and I find that these are relatively cheap factory-made 'burgers' that are then deep fried. It was placed in a bread bun accompanied by some chopped salad, lettuce, with cherry tomato and some radish. Chips were golden, well cooked but strangely tasteless ? As was the Veggie burger - tasteless. This little lot was £7.50.
Was it edible ? Well, yes...but, it wasn't that enjoyable to eat. I would not consider eating 'Veggie' here again - Hector's Bothy need to raise game here for Veggies I think.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ArcticExplorer51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    202
    81
    24
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast.”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I was in Hector's Bothy twice this weekend. The first was for breakfast and it was delicious. Really well cooked and good quality food. Second was just for a cappuccino and that was great too. It is totally transformed from the last time I was in. Really tastefully done. I have to agree with previous reviewers that mentioned staff being rushed off their feet. I went in around 1000am and by the half hour it was bursting at the seams with customers. They really needed another waiter. Most of the tables are set up for 4+ groups so a person on their own like I was had to sit at a table for 4 on my own. However someone did ask to share and I really dislike eating with strangers in cafes. It there was a wait to be seated policy it would avoid this. It would also allow waiting staff to see who was coming in. Both times I was in people left when their order wasn't taken, However my own experience was top notch and I hope as the summer season approaches they get the ladies some extra help.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gailnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hectorsbothy, Owner at Hectors Bothy, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our business. We are really pleased that you liked your breakfast and the quality ingredients, including Stornoway black pudding, which we always seek to use. We are glad too that you like our new look which has gone down really well with old and new customers. We always try and make sure we have enough staff on to make sure every customer is efficiently served and well looked after. It is clear from your comments that when you visited this has not always been achieved and we are grateful for bringing it to our attention. Staff illness over the recent Easter holidays has meant that on some occasions we did not have our full compliment of staff on duty but steps have been taken to bring the team back up to full strength. We cannot praise our staff highly enough for the excellent care they give our customers day in day out even when we are very busy and can assure you that we have taken on board your comments with regard to staffing levels. Once again many thanks for your review and we look forward to you visiting us again when you are next in the area. Best wishes. Mhairi and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very poor fish and chips”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

First visited the cafe but didn't stay long enough to order. Waitress spilt a jug of milk over dinner - put us off. Went next to there fish and chip takeaway- what a mistake. Had to be the worse fish and chips ever purchased and they were not cheep.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mavismarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fochabers, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“the bothy.”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

stopped off here in lochalsh on the way to skye for the toilet and a cuppa.
found hector's and as it looked ok we went in and had a tea & 2 coffees at a reasonable price.
enjoyed a chat and a bit of a view.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wahaejock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“delicious food good service”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Despite being very busy at lunchtime the staff were very attentive and the food came quickly. Delicious haggis and baked potato and a lot of locals which is always a good sign.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hectors Bothy also viewed

Kyle of Lochalsh, Lochalsh
 
Plockton, Ross and Cromarty
Kyle of Lochalsh, Lochalsh
 

Been to Hectors Bothy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing