We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2 hour tour was great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Seaprobe Atlantis

Seaprobe Atlantis
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“2 hour tour was great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We took a day trip on an over-cast day and there was still a great views! The team were very knowledgeable and friendly. A range of underwater life to see. I did feel a little seasick while below deck as we moved from one location to another, so if you get travel sickness easily this may not be for you.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Samantha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaprobeAtlantis, Owner at Seaprobe Atlantis, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive review. I am sorry that you felt a little bit seasick while below deck. The underwater viewing gallery stabilises the boat to such an extent that, since beginning our trips in 1998, we have never had anyone actually be sick on board. It seems that we may have come close with you, however, and I am very sorry about that. I hope, however, that it won't put you off coming again, as we would all love to welcome you back on board any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    23
    17
    8
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Seaprobe Atlantis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We'd heard a lot about the semi-submersible boat trip from friends and had been told it was a definite must see for us whilst visiting the Isle of Skye for the first time. We were not disappointed! The scenery was spectacular on the upstairs part of the trip and the downstairs portion was utterly fascinating. We saw plenty of fish, crabs, even a dogfish (which made my day), and other wildlife; the kids in particular couldn't sit still they were so excited!

The staff confirmed what we'd heard about Scottish hospitality and an enjoyable trip was had by all. Money well spent and you'll be seeing us again next year! Thanks again, Bill.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaprobeAtlantis, Owner at Seaprobe Atlantis, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review. It was a pleasure to have you and your family on board, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back, whenever you choose to visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nothing to see under water”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

It was a nice boat trip but as we took it because of the glass bottom we weren't satisfied. the most of the journey you spend on the board, not many seals and birds to see, awesome countryside,however! as for the sea life, we didn't see anything except seaweed. Too expensive as you don't get what is on the offer.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Daniela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaprobeAtlantis, Owner at Seaprobe Atlantis, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for the positives in your review - that it was a nice boat trip and the scenery was awesome.

With regard to the negatives, Seaprobe Atlantis is a semi-submersible glass bottom boat, and is advertised as offering all the scenery and wildlife, above and below the waves. I am very sorry, therefore, that you did not realise in advance that not all the trip would be spent underwater.
Having said that, however, if passengers choose to do so, they may spend all the trip downstairs in the underwater viewing gallery. As this would mean missing out on the awesome scenery above the waves, seeing the seals hauled out on Seal Island, and the birds that inhabit the RSPB protected bird colony, we suggest times when it is better for passengers to be underwater, and when it is better to be above deck. But, should they choose to do so, passengers can opt to spend either the whole trip underwater, or the whole trip above deck.

With regard to your comments about being disappointed in the wildlife above and below deck, I am naturally very sorry to hear that. All I can say is that Seaprobe Atlantis does not operate in an aquarium, artificially stuffed with creatures of interest. It operates in the wild, and we have no control over the wildlife. Having said that, we have operated since 1998 and in all of that time, have never had a trip with no wildlife sightings of any kind. We do also keep a log of all wildlife sightings on every trip, but as I do not know the date and time of your visit, I am unable to consult this.

I would like to close by expressing the genuine regret felt by everyone involved in Seaprobe Atlantis that you found your trip disappointing. Although it may not be humanly possible to please all of the people, all the time, we do genuinely try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
129 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fishing on the Spirit of Adventure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Went on a fishing trip the Spirit of Adventure which is the sister boat to the Seaprobe and had a very enjoyable afternoon. Rods and tackle were provided, and it was quite easy to catch fish! The presence and behaviour of fish/seals/dolphins/otters etc is, of course, not within the control of the people running the boat. Neither of us knew one end of a rod from the other but we caught some sizeable mackerel which we took home and had for our tea - very tasty. I bought my own fishing rod later in the week and probably made a show of myself trying to fish off some rocks.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank r4m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaprobeAtlantis, Owner at Seaprobe Atlantis, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to post your very positive review.

We are all delighted that you enjoyed your experience of fishing on board Spirit of Adventure, and delighted, too, that it seems like you might have caught the fishing bug. If you are ever in the area again, we would be very happy to welcome you back on board any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Too much money for too less to see”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We payed 26 for a 1h tour. We expected to have at least 45 min under water but we had 5(!!!) minutes with a handfull of jellys and some crabs. 50 people were allowed on the boat, 25 coud see through the bottom- means rotating! Now see the price!
Actually we were cruising around and watching seals - glassbottom prohibited this time!

A great disappointment

Helpful?
Thank Sibi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaprobeAtlantis, Manager at Seaprobe Atlantis, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your trip.

From the details you have posted, we must assume you were the people who came aboard the trip reserved that day for a coach party. Trips with coach parties on board are normally blocked off to other members of the public, as was the case on the day in question - but you had stated that you were unable to come on any of the later trips, and so, in an attempt to avoid disappointing you, you were told that there was an option of joining the 1 hour coach party trip, which was leaving shortly, and would cost £12.99 for adults. It is ironic that this was offered in an attempt not to disappoint you, but you ended up disappointed anyway, and ironic, too, that the trip at 1.50pm, which you were unable to join, had 11 passengers on board, who all saw dolphins swimming underwater.

Everyone involved in Seaprobe Atlantis tries very hard to ensure that all passengers have a good experience, and so we are all genuinely very sorry indeed that you did not enjoy your time on board.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seaprobe Atlantis also viewed

Kyle of Lochalsh, Lochalsh
Kyle of Lochalsh, Lochalsh
 
Kyle of Lochalsh, Lochalsh
 

Been to Seaprobe Atlantis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing