We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Comfortable”
Review of The Old Bank House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kyle of Lochalsh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Bank House
Reviewed June 28, 2008

I stayed in the B'n'B before going on to Skye and found it very welcoming and comfortable. Breakfast was marvellous with probably the best cooked breakfast dish I have ever had - set me up for the day ahead.

A good and friendly establishment in an area of great beauty.

Stayed: June 2008
Thank touringmanEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
There are newer reviews for The Old Bank House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 203 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2008

I stayed there with my parents on the way to Isle of Skye and it was a wonderful experience. Bedrooms and service was great. Highly recommended to every one. Thanks - M I Baloch

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank imran_baloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2008

I can honestly recommend this B&B as a home from home, from the moment we arrived we were treated fantastically. Mike & Sally are a great couple and can't do enough for you, i would definately stay with them again. Breakfast was fantastic :-)
Thanks Colin.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colez40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2008

I stayed at this B&B and half board for a week in May and had an absolutely wonderful time. This was actually my 2nd stay there, on my 1st visit I had previously been staying in a hotel in the local area but moved to The Old Bank House on someone's recommendation. On both visits I found Mr & Mrs White very friendly, helpful and accommodating. The
room was very clean and the food was well prepared. I have no hesitation in recommending this place and I look forward to the next time I visit the area and stay at The Old Bank House again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tottiie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2008

This B&B has been the most welcoming place we have stayed at. My mother and I stayed there. the rooms were a good size. plenty of space. We enjoyed the food. no complants have to be made about this B&B as there is nothing to complain about. i have strongly recommend freinds to go and stay. The view's were lovely. Good place for the B&B to be. lifts were offered. tours were offered. My mother and I had an amazing time, we loved it. there would be no downfall or complaints about this B&B. Best B&B we had been to. we were made to feel very welcome and part of the family.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Linda_timmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2008

Give this B&B a good 3 out of 5.
Booked via e-mail/phone with no hassles.
Friendly to deal with and friendly welcome. Many offers of tea, biscuits and lifts to the pub if required.
Very helpful in moving cars to allow us to park our bikes in their driveway.
We found the room to be clean and tidy. Plenty space.
It was next to the dining room, but there was no noise.
The breakfast was a good standard - especially the Irish soda bread.
The B&B only misses a 4 because the rooms are not en-suite and the dining room was a bit cluttered, but this was not a major issue.
Great location - we had stayed when with the previous owners.
This B&B has had several reviews saying it was Awful - this was NOT our experience.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BikerG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2008

This place is awful, awful! It left a very bitter taste in my mouth as I felt totally ripped off. The room was ok but basic, no ensuite, the bathroom was across the hall, unfortunately the bedroom was next to the diningroom so you had to run the gauntlet to the bathroom in full view of people having breakfast. The food was the worst I have ever been served anywhere, totally inedible, the fried breakfast looked like scrapings from another plate. They would not accept a cheque, cash only and when I said I would rather pay by cheque they sent me to the cashline saying a cheque would be difficult as you would have to pay it in........they live above a bank, hence the name!!!!! An utter rip off! Stay well away.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank weebirdmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kyle of Lochalsh
0.1 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lochalsh Hotel
Lochalsh Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
249 reviews
3.3 mi away
Balmacara Hotel
Balmacara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balmacara
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
389 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fasgath Bed and Breakfast
Fasgath Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 13 in Kyle of Lochalsh
54 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ardenlea
Ardenlea
#3 of 13 in Kyle of Lochalsh
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Bank House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bank House

Address: Old Bank House Main Street, Kyle of Lochalsh IV40 8AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochalsh > Kyle of Lochalsh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kyle of Lochalsh
Price Range: $68 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Bank House Kyle of Lochalsh friendly family run Bed and Breakfast. We are conveniently located in the HEART of Kyle village. Opposite the old slipway bus station and 3 minutes by car from Kyle Railway Station (If you are traveling by train please arrange your free pick-up. All our Guest's have a choice of ALL our optional Tours to many places on the Mainland and now including the Isle of Skye. Guest's Lounge offers an ambiance which compliments your holiday or business experience in the Highlands and Islands. OPEN ALL YEAR ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Bank House Hotel Kyle Of Lochalsh
The Old Bank House Kyle Of Lochalsh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing