We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awful”
Review of The Old Bank House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kyle of Lochalsh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Bank House
Reviewed May 20, 2008

This has to be the worst B&B I have ever stayed in. Room Ok although a bit cramped. Shared bathroom across the hall, and directly across from room being used as dining room so no privacy from guests having breakfast.
Breakfast was completely inedible. Porridge with a thick skin and tasted like wallpaper paste. Poached eggs that you could bounce off the floor and fried eggs that were completely destroyed. We ended up throwing all the food out. They wouldn't accept a cheque and when told we didn't have cash we were then directed to a cash machine in the village.
£35 a head.

I would never stay here again or recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank davidinstirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallywhite, Owner at The Old Bank House, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2008

We have checked Visitors book and cannot identify David of Stirling????

There were 3 woman who stayed here 1 of which had porridge. They were called for over 20 minutes advising them their breakfast was ready.

They were asked if they would like a replacement breakfast, they stated that the breakfast including the porrage was really nice.

The ladies, whilst on their way out of the door, asked to pay by cheque instead of 'on their arrival' as stated in email which advised of this.

It was explained there was a cash machine localy and we would be happy for them to make payment in this manner as our chip and pin machine had not been delivered.

Our Guest Lounge is situated on the first floor

Lounge door can be closed.

I believe on the stay of the 3 ladies, there was only one other Guest staying, and this was his second visit and we have no bad reports from him!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 204 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mariano F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Igor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lucía O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stefan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank marie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra181989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kyle of Lochalsh
0.1 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lochalsh Hotel
Lochalsh Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
257 reviews
3.3 mi away
Balmacara Hotel
Balmacara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balmacara
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
394 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fasgath Bed and Breakfast
Fasgath Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 13 in Kyle of Lochalsh
57 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ardenlea
Ardenlea
#3 of 13 in Kyle of Lochalsh
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Bank House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bank House

Address: Old Bank House Main Street, Kyle of Lochalsh IV40 8AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochalsh > Kyle of Lochalsh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kyle of Lochalsh
Price Range: $66 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Bank House Kyle of Lochalsh friendly family run Bed and Breakfast. We are conveniently located in the HEART of Kyle village. Opposite the old slipway bus station and 3 minutes by car from Kyle Railway Station (If you are traveling by train please arrange your free pick-up. All our Guest's have a choice of ALL our optional Tours to many places on the Mainland and now including the Isle of Skye. Guest's Lounge offers an ambiance which compliments your holiday or business experience in the Highlands and Islands. OPEN ALL YEAR ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Bank House Hotel Kyle Of Lochalsh
The Old Bank House Kyle Of Lochalsh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing