We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine seafood in a pierside setting!”

Crannog Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 65 Restaurants in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $64
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Stunning loch views, freshly caught local seafood and a glass of wine in a warm and cosy atmosphere - it's the perfect recipe for relaxing after you've had an enjoyable day exploring the Highlands. If you enjoy the finer things in life, you'll love Crannog.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
208 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Fine seafood in a pierside setting!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stopped in for lunch at this pier-side restaurant. The food was fresh, well-prepared and presented nicely.
Started with the Inverlochy Salmon Parcels …. essentially cold, smoked salmon with an accompanying sauce. Finished with a tasty sole fillet.
Good local beer selection, very pleasant staff, and nice décor. Hear that this restaurant has long waits for a table at dinner, so book early.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RootBeerFloat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,785 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,063
    458
    185
    55
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
112 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very Nice and Excellent Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We decided to eat here because of the good reviews and we were not disappointed. We chose starters from the a la carte menu and main from the special lunch menu and finished with sweet and coffee. The a la carte menu was fairly expensive but about average for the quality of food however the lunch special is excellent value.
The food was cooked to perfection, we had scallops to start which were served with pickled veg and if I had one criticism it would be that this was a bit too strong for the delicate scallops. The main course were equally enjoyable and the pudding of cranochin with flapjack was delectable - especially the flapjack which was melt in the mouth.
Staff were very helpful and attentive too - I would definitely recommend eating here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sm0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home about”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

On a family trip to Scotland and the Fort William area the Crannog was recommended to us by several people. It was really just average and quite overpriced. They were out of two of the specials even though we had an early reservation and the food was, quite frankly, no better than anything else we had on the trip.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jrotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We booked a table the day before after reading reviews on TripAdvisor and we were not disappointed. The menu itself does not inspire but there are specials everyday, we had a table by the window with lovely views. It was very busy but the waitress was very effiecient, we both chose from the specials board and the food was lovely, very fresh fish and a good sized portion, reasonably priced

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 54Retired2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Servants will ask you approximately 100 times how do you find restaurant and food.
I will tell you: if you expect something special in food, you won't find it.
If you want to eat and want to be sure, that food is fresh and good and tasty crannog is the right place.

Probably a little bit overpriced and crowdy.

Book a table in advance.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ncknm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crannog Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 
Fort William, Lochaber
Fort William, Lochaber
 

Been to Crannog Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing