We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a disappointment!”

Crannog Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 70 Restaurants in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $70
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Stunning loch views, freshly caught local seafood and a glass of wine in a warm and cosy atmosphere - it's the perfect recipe for relaxing after you've had an enjoyable day exploring the Highlands. If you enjoy the finer things in life, you'll love Crannog.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We ate here as it had good reviews however it was a big disappointment. I don’t mind paying a little extra for nice food but thought this was overpriced. The fish itself was good, but the preparation simple and uninspired. Not recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,414 - 1,418 of 2,158 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

While the quality of the food is good, it is very expensive and the offerings are on the 'nouvelle cuisine' side for anyone with a good appetite. Living on its reputation and overpricing the food. I ate at the Steam Inn Mallaig on the following night and had an excellent meal - a whole sea bass with vegetables - for half the price at the Crannog. Overrated in my view and won't be going back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stravaiger100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrannogRest, Marketing at Crannog Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your dining experience at Crannog – we do appreciate constructive feedback, which we will pass on to our kitchen team for consideration.

We’re glad you enjoyed the good quality that we offer, although rather sorry to read that you felt the meal was on the expensive side. The produce we use is sourced as locally as possible, so we may be confident of serving quality dishes to our guests. Importantly, we aim to cater for all budgets, which is why we offer our special two course lunch menu for £12.95.

We do hope you’ll visit us again when you’re next in the area to appreciate the overall quality experience we provide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Located on water this is a lovely restaurant with an interesting menu, good wine list and great service. When we arrived we couldn't get a table by the window but by the time desert came one was available and our waitress kindly offered to move us. A nice touch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Woimble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Me and my partner have had 2 wonderful meals at crannog. This has to be the freshest, best tasting seafood I have ever tried. The mussels are sublime! And the view over the loch is beautiful. Would go every week if I didn't stay a 200 mile round trip away :-(

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrannogRest, Marketing Coordinator at Crannog Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments about your dining at our restaurant – it’s really great to read that you have enjoyed two wonderful meals at Crannog. This feedback will be passed on to the team in the kitchen.

We do hope that you’ll make the journey back to Fort William again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

My special board meal of scallops and asparagus was lovely, priced on both of the boards at one price but appearing on my bill at 4 pounds more. When I queried this the waitress said it was supposed to be the dearer price "but if you've seen in cheaper you can have it for that price".

IF? It was on both your boards at the cheaper price. How often does your till price not match the board price? I would expect grovelling apology for trying to steal my money, not this grudging IF. Very disappointed in this,

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank suzeworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrannogRest, Marketing Coordinator at Crannog Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor; we do appreciate our guests taking their time to share their experiences – both the ups and the downs.

We’re pleased you enjoyed the scallops and asparagus however, we’re sorry to see there was an error made with your bill and that the response from the waitress was not sympathetic. On this occasion our standards of customer care have been unacceptable and our restaurant manager does apologise.

We are confident that this is not our usual level of service, so we do hope that if you’re back in Lochaber you’ll come see us again and give us another chance to impress.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crannog Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Fort William, Lochaber
Fort William, Lochaber
 
Fort William, Lochaber
 

Been to Crannog Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing