We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay and the best scrambled egg in the country!”
Review of Berkeley House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Berkeley House
Ranked #45 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shropshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay and the best scrambled egg in the country!”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

I stayed here during easter for a last minute snowboarding trip. I normally visit Fort William for the Mountain Bike World Cup in June and usually camp, however camping in Scotland in winter wasn't viable (my boyfriend flatly refused). Having been quoted £280 for 3 nights stay in the Premier Inn, Berkley House was the next place we tried. They didn't have a room available for all the nights we wanted (and the bathroom looked tiny) but they had an annexe flat which they normally rent out long term and offered it to us. We had a large lounge, double bed and small bathroom. There wasn't any traffic noise and the facilites were clean an just what we needed. Including a very handy closet for our snowboards! In the house itself there was a comfortable lounge for guests and a dining room that served the best breakfasts. I'm vegetarian and they catered to this without any problem and I had the best scrambled egg I have ever eaten. The owners are very friendly and helpful especially Norrie. I would highly recommend Berkley House.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucieShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    37
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
44
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

I stayed with my sister brother and mum this october at Berkeley House, and was very happy with the service received, the down stairs room was ideal for my mum who can't manage stairs.
we were advised on near by attractions and car hire details. The breakfast service was bountiful, with fresh cooked good quality food catered to individuals.

Great location to town as we arrived by train, nice clean and adequately furnished rooms.
With lovely personable hosts.

Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Service was great. The room was fresh and comfortable.
The breakfast was so lovely.
Would not consider staying anywhere else if I come back to Fort William. Fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stornoway
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed here in July on our way back to the Isle of Lewis after having a family holiday in Wales and England.
The owners were extremely helpful, even to the point of telephoning a local garage for us to see if they sold LPG so that we could fill our car with fuel before heading off to the Isle of Skye for our ferry home. We had two rooms, one for us and one for our two grandchildren and we were kindly given adjoining rooms. The location is great and it is only a short walk to the town and there are plenty of places to get an evening meal. We really liked the town and would definitely stay at Berkeley House again. We had a good breakfast before leaving and give 5 stars to the owners of this establishment. Well done, can't wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilovewestlife506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We finished our West Highland way 96-mile trek at Fort William--and what a let-down this whole town is! There's barely one teeny little sign to commemorate the tourist attraction that breathes life into towns from Milngavie to Fort William. This B&B is on a busy street that you can't even cross. The rooms and baths are TINY. Hosts not particularly friendly or helpful. There must be some place better than this...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dstclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2011

We came here for 2 nights and the main purpose of the trip was to walk up ben nevis. We originally had booked an expensive hotel but decided to cancel and at late notice berkeley accepted us. From the moment we got there we were welcomed and the room was very clean and spacious. Breakfast was delicious and and the staff very polite and courtious. Location excellent, but Fort Williams itself was a bit of a disappointment from an image point of view in the main street. However, overall, restaurants/ pubs etc were great. This B+B is one of the best we have visited and I highty recommend it. Made our weekend staying here!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathydoyle79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

We chose this B&B because it was near the end of the West Highland Way. We arrived in the pouring rain and the warmth of the welcome and our room was much appreciated. Norrie & May were very helpful drying out jackets for us and even surfing the net to check out bus times for us for the following day. The attic room was comfortable and very clean and the shower lovely and hot with good pressure. The breakfast was excellent with lots of choice. A big thank you to Norrie & May for posting me my walking pole which I left behind, it has great sentimental value and I'm very grateful to them for their kindness. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elliec98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.2 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
1,011 reviews
0.3 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 21 in Fort William
721 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
478 reviews
0.1 mi away
MacLean Guest House
MacLean Guest House
#13 of 111 in Fort William
199 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glenlochy Nevis Bridge Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley House

Property: Berkeley House
Address: Berkeley House Belford Road | Inverness-Shire, Fort William PH33 6BT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Berkeley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley House Hotel Fort William
Berkeley House Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing